New Release D3D9Client Development

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
I would if I could. Orbiter inserts that after running.

why don't you just take out the quotes "

Code:
TextureDir = D:\Games\Orbiter 2016\Textures
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Hey there:
  1. The path in orbiter_ng.cfg does not need to be enclosed in quotes (")
    So: TextureDir = D:\Games\Orbiter 2016\Textures\ is O.K.
  2. More embarrassing is, that the D3D9Client currently only processes up to 32 characters of the path. That might be the reason. Sorry for that stupid bug.
I'll commit a fix and build a new release, please stand by...this might fix the issue.

I've committed a fix and build a new release...this might fix the issue.

--- Edit 2018-12-19 ---
Attachment deleted in favor of next release, to be found three posts down.
 
Last edited:

Thymo

I like breaking things
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
120
Reaction score
148
Points
58
Website
nassp.space
Yeah, removing the quotes worked.
I assumed it would need to be surrounded by them if the path had spaces in it like on Linux.

Also this example is listed on the orbiter site that is a bit confusing. It has a closing quote suggesting you need to surround the path.
Code:
TextureDir = <path-to-Orbiter2016>\Textures\"

It would be really useful for either Orbiter or D3D9Client to log the path they're actually getting the textures from. Currently there is zero indication that orbiter even fails to find those files.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Yeah, removing the quotes worked.
I assumed it would need to be surrounded by them if the path had spaces in it like on Linux.
Usually you're right. I would have also (intuitively) tried to enclose a path that contains spaces in double-quotes.

Also this example is listed on the orbiter site that is a bit confusing. It has a closing quote suggesting you need to surround the path.
Code:
TextureDir = <path-to-Orbiter2016>\Textures\"
It might be needed for the inline client (I doubt), but it isn't needed for D3D9Client.

It would be really useful for either Orbiter or D3D9Client to log the path they're actually getting the textures from. Currently there is zero indication that orbiter even fails to find those files.
For the D3D9Client, this can surely be added. For the inline client you have to ask Martin.

But as this issue was primary a D3D9Client issue I think implementing this in the external client code might be enough.

---------- Post added at 16:33 ---------- Previous post was at 15:34 ----------

How about this:
Code:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Sep  5 2018 [v.180905]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-07 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 180905, API 180811]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 180905, API 180811]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 180905, API 180811]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: BaseDir    : C:\Program Files (x86)\Orbiter\D3D9ClientDev_180905 (BETA r84)\
000000.000: ConfigDir  : C:\Program Files (x86)\Orbiter\D3D9ClientDev_180905 (BETA r84)\Config\
000000.000: MeshDir    : C:\Program Files (x86)\Orbiter\D3D9ClientDev_180905 (BETA r84)\Meshes\
000000.000: TextureDir : C:\Program Files (x86)\Orbiter\D3D9ClientDev_180905 (BETA r84)\XRSound.log\ [[DIR NOT FOUND!]]
000000.000: HightexDir : C:\Program Files (x86)\Orbiter\D3D9ClientDev_180905 (BETA r84)\Textures2\
000000.000: ScenarioDir: C:\Program Files (x86)\Orbiter\D3D9ClientDev_180905 (BETA r84)\Scenarios\
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 181217, API 180811]
000000.000: Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 180905, API 180811]
000000.000: Module LolaMFD.dll ........... [Build 170826, API 161124]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: >>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: oapiRegisterMFDMode
000000.000: At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
000000.000: Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
000000.000: future versions of Orbiter.
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: ...
Note that I've deliberately added a stupid configuration for TextureDir (being a file, not a path), which adds a "[[DIR NOT FOUND!]]" entry!
 
Last edited:

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
And here's the new build
 

Attachments

  • D3D9ClientBeta28.2-forBETA r84(r1028).zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 12

Thymo

I like breaking things
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 26, 2016
Messages
120
Reaction score
148
Points
58
Website
nassp.space
That looks just like I imagined it kuddel. Thanks!
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Is it available for Orbiter 2016?
You're right. I forgot to merge the fix -if needed- to that branch.
The logging feature I'll merge anyways.

Please be patient; I am currently a bit in "pre-X-mas" business ;)
I'll come back as soon as I find some time for this...
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
And here's the new build for Orbiter 2016
Including both
- the path-length fix and
- the configuration paths logging feature.
 

Attachments

  • D3D9ClientR3.3-for2016(r1030).zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 30

Abdullah Radwan

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
314
Reaction score
284
Points
78
Location
Cairo
Always having CTDs when opening some scenarios, such as Quickstart and XR-2 scenarios.
 

Attachments

  • Log files.zip
    4.8 KB · Views: 3

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
I see you're using a lot of add-ons.
The general procedure to hunt down issues is:
Disable all (Modules), then enable one by one (in order of necessity) and see when it crashes.

From the logs you've provided (good habit by the way :thumbup:) I can not see anything really obvious.
But as said the "minimize number of Modules" approach is always the first order when this happens.
You might want to backup your Orbiter_NG.cfg before you disable all the Modules, so you can later compare what was in there in the first place.

BTW: "Quickstart" is exactly what Scenario...? ;)
 

Abdullah Radwan

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
314
Reaction score
284
Points
78
Location
Cairo
Thanks for your help.

I discovered the problem and can't believe myself: LuaInterpreter.dll

After removing it, I can load scenarios without any problems.

This DLL causes a crash in any scenario contains DeltaGlider. I can load the scenario now, but the log is full of:
Code:
============================ ERROR: ===========================
Failed loading module .\LuaInline.dll (code 126)
[Orbiter::LoadModule | .\Orbiter.cpp | 600]
===============================================================

I've tried to extract it from Orbiter2016 zip file, but it always crashes.

Can somebody help?
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
@Abdullah Radwan:

LuaInline.dll & LuaInterpreter.dll are not "normal" Modules / add-ons.
The two DLLs are located together with lua5.1.dll in the root folder of Orbiter and are definitely packed inside of Orbiter2016(.ZIP)[1].

Maybe you've accidentally removed them (or mixed them with different versions)


[1] and Orbiter BETA and even Orbiter 2010, but they are NOT compatible or interchangeable!
 
Last edited:

jarmonik

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,651
Reaction score
785
Points
128
a Fresh Build

Here are the latest builds of the D3D9Client and DockingCamera. Also a small teaser of an upcoming project OrbiterGUI is uploaded. I probably should launch a new thread for that project later on. I am on a little tight schedule right now. :lol: I have never tested the GUI on an other machine but if it's working, a window dock bars should appear from left and right edges of the screen. etc..

Happy Orbiting...

edit: The GUI probably doesn't work very well on 4k, I need to develop better artwork and scaling for it.
 

Attachments

  • DockingCamera-for2016.zip
    258.4 KB · Views: 33
  • DockingCamera-forBeta.zip
    75 KB · Views: 6
  • D3D9ClientBeta28.3-forBETA r84(r1038).zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 17
  • D3D9ClientR3.4-forOrbiter2016(r1038M).zip
    1.7 MB · Views: 95
  • OrbiterGUI-Teaser-forBeta.zip
    136.8 KB · Views: 20
Last edited:

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,904
Reaction score
196
Points
138
Location
Cape
Generic camera views are now saved, even after changing vessels. :hail:



Is there a GUI teaser for non-beta ?
 

Attachments

  • Camviews remembered.jpg
    Camviews remembered.jpg
    218.3 KB · Views: 60

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
3,133
Reaction score
407
Points
123
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
I won't be able to upload the latest releases to Tuttovola.org for the next days, so grab your D3D9 from Jarmonik's post above.
 

jarmonik

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,651
Reaction score
785
Points
128
Is there a GUI teaser for non-beta ?

Unfortunately no. It depends on a features of OrbiterBeta so no GUI for 2016. Unless we find a solid way to implement mouse and keyboard hooks. My previous attempts has caused some weird mouse behavior.

Are the cross-hairs working ? I forgot to place a texture in a camera package but the texture also comes with the client itself.
.
 

Attachments

  • GUI.jpg
    GUI.jpg
    131.5 KB · Views: 48

Sbb1413

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
948
Reaction score
373
Points
78
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
I won't be able to upload the latest releases to Tuttovola.org for the next days, so grab your D3D9 from Jarmonik's post above.

Hmm...interesting!
d3dx9.PNG
 

Sbb1413

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
948
Reaction score
373
Points
78
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
But this thing can't fix this problem! Same problem...
 
Last edited:
Top