Hardware Sytem shuts down on 'launch'

donfierro

Reaction score
:(
I a newbie here and I hope to learn to enjoy Orbiter.

The download, install, tutorial all went without a hitch then...when I executed the [Launch Orbiter button] the program aborted, screen went black, then two blue screens with random pieces of code flashed on and off and finally the system was restarted automatically.

I'am at a loss to explain this occurrence and I'm not about to give up on Orbiter, I'm intrigued by its concept and its challenges.

Any ideas/suggestions, I'm fairly adept around PC's and I learned long time ago that if you are not sure don't tinker, ask someone that knows more than you do, so here I am.

Please and thank,you

Orbinaut Pete

ISSU Project Manager
News Reporter
Reaction score
Hmm...
All I can say is: That ain't right:p

If your PC shuts down, that sounds like a problem with your PC, not a problem with Orbiter itself. I never heard of this before.

Go to the Orbiter base folder, and find a text document called "orbiter". That is your log file - paste the contents of it here.

Thanks.

Linguofreak

Reaction score
A few questions:

What is your OS and what are your computer specs?

What options does it give you for "3D device" under the video tab on the Orbiter Launchpad? Is the "Always enumerate devices" box checked?

Have you tried updating your graphics drivers?

When we got this computer Orbiter bluescreened under T&L graphics modes and ran glitchy under HAL because the graphics drivers weren't updated. I'm not sure if that's your problem, but it's my best guess.

donfierro

Reaction score
PC shuts down on launch

:)

Thank you for the feedback; I've a Pavillion a1640n running Winxp Service pack 3; 2Gb of memory; 250Gb of storage; dual Intel processors; 1.8Ghz; Bios for G965 with a GMA3000 graphics built-in adapter.

I've been seriously thinking of doing the following upgrade:

1) power supply from 300w to 400w