Software Orbiter not working on laptop

carlosthepineapple

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Colorado
So I recently tried downloading Orbiter 2016 on my laptop. It's not really meant from flight simulators though and I'm starting to think it's probably a hardware issue at this point. But just in case here are the issues:

When I open orbiter_ng.exe I don't get an option to check D3D9, even though I have downloaded DirectX (June 2010).
1691945718115.png

When I open up orbiter.exe, I try to launch any scenario and the splash screen just loads for about 5 seconds before the orbiter crashes and closes. Sometimes the screen goes white before crashing. I also don't have the option to select D3D9 under modules here either.
1691946247601.png

Also here's something from Orbiter.log that clearly doesn't look right.
1691946337216.png

Otherwise when I run orbiter_ng.exe I get the following, which seems to be working, just there no D3D9 so no graphics (I think..?).
1691946451100.png

I'm current on a Surface Laptop 5 (which I know isn't ideal), and have an i5 Intel (R) Iris (R) Xe Graphics card. But let me know if y'all need any other information that I haven't provided.
 

Attachments

  • 1691946451199.png
    1691946451199.png
    234.8 KB · Views: 3

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
6,094
Reaction score
3,174
Points
188
Website
github.com
Hi there!

When I open orbiter_ng.exe I don't get an option to check D3D9, even though I have downloaded DirectX (June 2010).
Maybe this is a silly question, but did you download and install D3D9?
If you have it, can you post the (full) log of when you run orbiter_ng.exe? Also, use the dependency walker (google it) in orbiter.exe and D3D9.dll to check for missing files.
 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,712
Reaction score
1,407
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Here's a link if you need it.

 
  • Like
Reactions: GLS

carlosthepineapple

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Colorado
I've downloaded DirectX and ran the SETUP.exe and I guess I assumed D3D9 came with that package but I guess not. But I definitely do have the D3D9.dll file located at C:\Windows\system32. I've attached the dependency walker results. I think I read somewhere that I should be using Profile mode for a more detailed diagnosis, but start profiling is greyed out and not available. Sorry for being clueless on this I haven't really used dependency walker before.
image_2023-08-14_115504542.png

I've attached the start up for orbiter_ng.exe:
1692039412810.png

And the complete log should be attached to this post.
 

Attachments

  • Orbiter.log
    4.5 KB · Views: 2

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,512
Reaction score
760
Points
203
The D3D9Client is supposed to be installed like a normal Orbiter add-on, so it all goes into your Orbiter folder, not your Windows folder.
 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,712
Reaction score
1,407
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Yes, you need DirectX 9 and D3D9 client installed.
 

carlosthepineapple

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Colorado
The D3D9Client is supposed to be installed like a normal Orbiter add-on, so it all goes into your Orbiter folder, not your Windows folder.
Yes, you need DirectX 9 and D3D9 client installed.
Cool, thanks everyone! Is a link for downloading the D3D9 client? Everytime I search for it I only find links for DirectX.
 

carlosthepineapple

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Colorado
Thanks. that worked. I think there's just one more issue.

When I check D3D9 under modules, the check box disappears and my page starts to load indefinitely and stop responding. I found this similar thread but I don't think my laptop has a MUX switch. And I've set my graphics preference for orbiter_ng.exe to high performance in my settings so I'm not sure if there's anything more I can do.
 

Attachments

  • image_2023-08-14_185948464.png
    image_2023-08-14_185948464.png
    125.9 KB · Views: 6
  • Screenshot 2023-08-14 185203.png
    Screenshot 2023-08-14 185203.png
    71.9 KB · Views: 6
  • Screenshot 2023-08-14 185139.png
    Screenshot 2023-08-14 185139.png
    91 KB · Views: 6

misha.physics

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
563
Reaction score
737
Points
108
Location
Lviv
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
And I've set my graphics preference for orbiter_ng.exe to high performance in my settings so I'm not sure if there's anything more I can do.
Set the high performance for the /Modules/Server/orbiter.exe, not for orbiter_ng.exe.
 

misha.physics

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
563
Reaction score
737
Points
108
Location
Lviv
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
When/if you're installing DirectX 9 do you see the progress like this?:

DirectX-9-1.png
 

misha.physics

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
563
Reaction score
737
Points
108
Location
Lviv
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Try to install this (attached) DirectX 9.
Also, maybe you need some of the Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable.
And you can try to install MSI installation of Orbiter 2016, not ZIP (if you use that).
 

Attachments

  • directx_Jun2010_redist.zip
    95.6 MB · Views: 4

carlosthepineapple

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Colorado
Try to install this (attached) DirectX 9.
Also, maybe you need some of the Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable.
And you can try to install MSI installation of Orbiter 2016, not ZIP (if you use that).

I just downloaded the latest supported C++ redistributable for Visual Studio 2022, reinstalled directX using the attached document, and used the MSI installer instead but the problem still occurs where the check box disappears after clicking it and the screen freezes.

Could it be a GPU or hardware issue? I think I have enough RAM to at least run something (16 GB) and a 12th gen i5 core with an Intel Iris Xe Graphics card. I've seen on some threads that there's usually issues with Intel graphics but I'm not sure.
 

misha.physics

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2021
Messages
563
Reaction score
737
Points
108
Location
Lviv
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
I just had the same problem:
where the check box disappears after clicking it and the screen freezes
but in was on Linux. Then I switched to Windows, and now I'm using a discrete graphics card on my laptop, and that problem dissappeared. Maybe it's due to your Intel graphics, sadly I don't know...
 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,712
Reaction score
1,407
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
I just downloaded the latest supported C++ redistributable for Visual Studio 2022, reinstalled directX using the attached document, and used the MSI installer instead but the problem still occurs where the check box disappears after clicking it and the screen freezes.

Could it be a GPU or hardware issue? I think I have enough RAM to at least run something (16 GB) and a 12th gen i5 core with an Intel Iris Xe Graphics card. I've seen on some threads that there's usually issues with Intel graphics but I'm not sure.
I know this has been an issue for users of newer laptops that use integrated graphics and a dedicated GPU in tandem.

Have you tried changing the performance settings specifically for Orbiter.

Do you have any BIOS options to force the dedicated GPU to run.

Anything under "Display settings" for GPU selection?
 

jarmonik

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,670
Reaction score
800
Points
128
I have been running Orbiter on my Intel HD Graphics 4000 laptop with 60fps, so Iris graphics should be fine. Has there been other reports D3D9Client crashing right after clicking the checkbox ? It was a known issue with DX7Client.

Could you click the box and post the Orbiter.log after the crash ? In you previous log there was no D3D9Client installed.
 

carlosthepineapple

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2023
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Colorado
Do you have any BIOS options to force the dedicated GPU to run.

Anything under "Display settings" for GPU selection?
There is a display graphics setting and I can try and explore the BIOS options.

I have been running Orbiter on my Intel HD Graphics 4000 laptop with 60fps, so Iris graphics should be fine. Has there been other reports D3D9Client crashing right after clicking the checkbox ? It was a known issue with DX7Client.

Could you click the box and post the Orbiter.log after the crash ? In you previous log there was no D3D9Client installed.
Also, here's my orbiter.log as well (attached) after the app stops responding. There doesn't appear to be any errors or warnings.
 

Attachments

  • image_2023-08-15_193137711.png
    image_2023-08-15_193137711.png
    89.1 KB · Views: 7
  • image_2023-08-15_193507749.png
    image_2023-08-15_193507749.png
    231.7 KB · Views: 8
Top