Idea Shuttle Fleet recompile for Orbiter 2016

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
356
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I went as far as to make "cyberfaces" for EVA, because texture contains a face. Looks not so bad... D. Griggs, J. van Hoften, etc. all are surprisingly easily recognizable...
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
I went as far as to make "cyberfaces" for EVA, because texture contains a face. Looks not so bad... D. Griggs, J. van Hoften, etc. all are surprisingly easily recognizable...
So how are you doing eva?

I will update the dll for eva version and non eva version. The non eva just has the default guy in mmu.

While the eva version has the fully bendable guys. But not sure about all the functions they can do,..........

Going to update the inner side of the hatch
 

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
356
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I am doing nothing special, using pylon MFD, I detach vehicle "EVA-Akers" (for example), and just float out... of middeck, quite primitive (using vessel translational "thrust").
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
Much more controllable when he's tethered.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
yes tether is easier to move
new interior airlock

yes with bendable guy and tether you can move a lot.


Thoughts on using the bendable guy and not using the mmu guy. So you get 4 bendable guys

But not sure how to detach from the tether and mount the pfr, mfr,.. and retether?
using the code for hstex
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
Great. What are you using the eva? Tether? I think the guys need to detach from tether and mount the mfr,... and then re-tether.

So can the guys in this this add on do those things:
[ame="https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7233"]Just a moment...[/ame]

I guess we need to make scn for sts125
 
Last edited:

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
They are first version of the EVA guy. It didn't do much, but it had tether made by BrianJ. They were attached to the foot restraints. Had to use a lot of Attachment Manager, that didn't work well with SSU sometimes.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
Oh. It looks like the HST_Ex just had an attachment in the right hand. But the eva guy have a belt, right hand, left hand, feet. So I guess it is possible to move close to the mfr and detach tether and attach to mfr,.....

Then show attachment point and then get close and attach?

Maybe a beacon to show where the point is?

---------- Post added 11-09-19 at 06:45 AM ---------- Previous post was 11-08-19 at 11:16 AM ----------

So making the tether guys is not an issue. What is an issue with out attachment manger and maybe it needs to be that way. Is un-tethering. The parent attachment for tether is the shuttle. So with out attachment manager you can't detach from the tether from the view point of the eva guy. Sure I can add a detach/attach in the shuttle.

Any thoughts?

---------- Post added at 06:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:45 AM ----------

So using attachment manager you can attach the eva guy to the different devices. And then reattach to the the tether.



---------- Post added 11-10-19 at 08:38 AM ---------- Previous post was 11-09-19 at 06:25 PM ----------

I am having an issue with the rms. MAybe operator error though
So I get close to HSt attachment

and press grapple
and it graps the other point:


Tried to get the mfr also

and it graps the OBSS
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
Maybe need to ID the attachments.
 

pappy2

Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
377
Reaction score
2
Points
18
"Gattispilot" your mailbox is full !!!! :hmm:

So to answer your question:


OK I found.
In your HST scenario is not in the right position with the keys "N" and "M" it must be turned.
Then if you capture it with the SRMS it is released, if you release the SRMS then it is recaptured by the shuttle.
everything is OK for me, below the scenario.

Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Orbiter saved state at T = 19719
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 54919.5705786502
  Help CurrentState_img
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship STS-125
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET STS-125
  MODE Extern
  POS 1.411663 -27.957282 -131.987062
  TRACKMODE GlobalFrame
  FOV 18.56
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Orbit
  REF AUTO
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Map
  REF Earth
  POS 0.00 0.00
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE Orbit
  PROJ Ship
  FRAME Equator
  ALT
  REF Earth
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
STS-125:Shuttle2016B
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 1716098.777 -3196411.023 -5660797.576
  RVEL 6364.2199 -2643.6734 3421.7933
  AROT 132.307 0.536 155.251
  PRPLEVEL 0:0.869344
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  CONFIGURATION 3
  GEAR 0 0.0000
  HATCH 0 0.0000
  EXTTANKHATCH 0 0.0000
  Armtilt 1 1.0000 1 1.0000
  OV 104 
  RMSARM  
  OBSS  
  ARM_STATUS 0.5809 0.4162 0.3670 0.5035 0.6178 0.6637
  PL1_OFS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
  PL1_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL1_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL2_OFS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
  PL2_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL2_ROT 1.0000 0.0000 0.0000
  PL3_OFS -1.8500 1.8000 11.7500
  PL3_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL3_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL4_OFS -2.2000 1.8000 -6.2500
  PL4_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL4_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL5_OFS 2.2000 1.8000 -6.2500
  PL5_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL5_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL6_OFS 1.8500 1.8000 11.7500
  PL6_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL6_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL7_OFS 0.0000 6.2200 -7.7950
  PL7_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL7_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL8_OFS 0.0000 6.2200 -7.7950
  PL8_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL8_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  PL9_OFS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
  PL9_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  PL9_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  pl01_OFS 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
  pl01_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000
  pl01_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  KEEL_CAM 0.1452 -1.5000 -1.3560
  FLOOD1 1 
  FLOOD2 1 
  FLOOD3 1 
  FLOOD4 1 
  FLOOD5 1 
  FLOOD6 1 
  DOCK_LIGHT 1 
  AFT_LIGHT 1 
  RMSLIGHT 1 
  CARGODOOR 1 1.0000
  KUBAND 1 1.0000
END
HST:HST_EX/hst_ex
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 1716102.298 -3196407.832 -5660790.223
  RVEL 6364.2199 -2643.6734 3421.7933
  AROT 42.554 -24.748 179.724
  ATTACHED 1:0,STSPAYLOAD
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  SNSH 0 0.0000
  SP1P 0 0 2 0.0000 0.0000 0.5000
  SP1S 0 0 2 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000
  SAC 0 0 0
  HGAD 0 0.0000
  HGAR 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
  FG2 0 0.0000 0 0.0000
  FG1 0 0.0000 0 0.0000
  STR 0 0.0000 0 0.0000
  PV2 0 0.0000 0 0.0000
  NV2 0 0.0000 0 0.0000
  INM GHRS FOS FOC HSP
  TGN Moon
  AUTP 1 0
  MSHS 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
  MMSH 0 0 0
  RADC 0.000000 0.000000 0 0 0 0 0 0
END
STSPAYLOAD:125payload
  IRN 0 0.4991
  ORN 2 1.0000
  CLAMP 0 0.0000
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 1716098.777 -3196411.023 -5660797.576
  RVEL 6364.2199 -2643.6734 3421.7933
  AROT 132.307 0.536 155.251
  ATTACHED 0:0,STS-125
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 0
END
scm:spacecraft\spacecraft3
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 1716099.794 -3196411.590 -5660794.149
  RVEL 6364.2199 -2643.6734 3421.7933
  AROT -137.446 24.748 -179.724
  ATTACHED 0:1,STSPAYLOAD
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  RCS 1
  CTRL_SURFACE 1
  CONFIGURATION 1
  CURRENT_PAYLOAD 0
END
END_SHIPS

BEGIN_ExtMFD
END
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks.
So how to fix this:

mfr attached but at the wrong angle
but exit and then reload and it is correct


I had to reduce the grapping distance

---------- Post added at 05:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:20 PM ----------

I reduce the grapping distance. Aligned to the left point and when I grapple I get attached to the right one. Noticed the alignment is wrong.

exited and restarted and now it is right.

near left attachment point

then pressed grapple.


Code:
grap1_attach = CreateAttachment (true, _V(-1.034, -1.4124, 0.99), _V(0,-1,0), _V(0,0,-1), "GS");
    grap2_attach = CreateAttachment (true, _V( 1.034, -1.4124, 0.99), _V(0,-1,0), _V(0,0,-1), "GS");


---------- Post added at 05:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:06 PM ----------

Fixed the grappling the closest point. But why are they aligned only after reload. A Orbiter issue? is there a hack?
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
Orbiter issue !!!
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
Orbiter issue !!!
I thought so. I wonder if there is a hack to get around it?



So I am working on a new dll which will be the base one. It will have eva using the bendable guy, and Camera id.



I think going to add Camera switch to pop up window.



As far as Sts125 I have updated the attachments and added the payload items. But not sure if will work on HST_ex?
 

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
356
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Maybe to change orbiter's 2 OMS exhausts to particles as well?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
Maybe to change orbiter's 2 OMS exhausts to particles as well?
No sure what you mean do you have an example of the settings for them

---------- Post added at 06:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:45 AM ----------

Code:
void Atlantis::CreateOMS()
{
	th_oms[0] = CreateThruster (THRUSTREF_OMSL, THRUSTDIR_OMSL, ORBITER_OMS_THRUST, ph_oms, ORBITER_OMS_ISP0, ORBITER_OMS_ISP1);
	th_oms[1] = CreateThruster (THRUSTREF_OMSR, THRUSTDIR_OMSR, ORBITER_OMS_THRUST, ph_oms, ORBITER_OMS_ISP0, ORBITER_OMS_ISP1);
	// we don't yet define a thruster group for the OMS engines
	// They will be assigned to the MAIN group as soon as the ET is jettisoned
	for (int i = 0; i < 2; i++)
		AddExhaust (th_oms[i], 4.0, 0.5);
}
NOW 4 EVA BENDABLE GUYS.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
No more than 2 EVA were used at a time, in the real STS-125. But heck, you could always do a 'what if ' mission.
 

Kyle

Armchair Astronaut
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
3,670
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
orbithangar.com
No more than 2 EVA were used at a time, in the real STS-125. But heck, you could always do a 'what if ' mission.
Had STS-114 rescued STS-107 we'd have seen a 4 person EVA. Two astronauts from Atlantis and two astronauts transferring at a time from Columbia.
 

Gargantua2024

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
183
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
Had STS-114 rescued STS-107 we'd have seen a 4 person EVA. Two astronauts from Atlantis and two astronauts transferring at a time from Columbia.
Speaking of this scenario, it is available as an Orbiter 2010 addon called [ame=https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=5826]STS-300 - Columbia Rescue Mission[/ame]
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,691
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Dallas, TX
Redoing the mfr, and pfr with dialogue boxes. The big advantage is you can be focused on one vessel and control the controls. Also since they are dll based they can be added in scn editor easier. I can make them so it should work in 2010 also?


 
Last edited:
Top