Orbiter beta texture issues

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,661
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Location
Hildesheim, Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de
Anyway, both of you haven't answered my question. See my previous thread above about microtexture issues.
Because I don't know the answer to this question.

And I'm not sad. I only meant that the information you posted wasn't an exciting thing to read. Compare it for example with posts of Keithth G.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,957
Reaction score
183
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
...Now have one question. How should I unpack the Hires Microtexture files downloaded from Dr.Martin's "New Orbiter Beta r.55 Released" thread?
Since you are asking for help, can you at least provide us with a precise link to the post with these microtextures you are interested in?
 
Last edited:

Nicholas Kang

Spaceflight News Reporter
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
516
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Penang
Sorry, I ain't into mentoring. And I choose my apprentices myself. ;)



Noticed that the coverage is only small spots? The MRO does only operate in a snapshot mode, it photographs a small 6 km x 36 km strip of land in a very high resolution (0.3 m) in three spectral channels (until its 3.5 GB RAM is full) and then compresses the data and transmits the data back to Earth.

An image of MRO is made of multiple greyscale image channels, the red channel is 20,000 x 126,000 pixels large, the two other channels 4,000 x 126,000. MRO does not produce true color images like a digital camera (Blue and green are for example one channel for the MRO and only represent a 1.2 km wide sector of the photographed target)

The best mission to produce a full coverage of Mars in true colour so far is Mars Express - but AFAIR it still hasn't completed this yet, in 2012 it had mapped 61.5% of Mars at 10 m resolution.

Ok. Thanks Urwumpe, who chooses to be a diligent apprentice rather than a mentor.

Nicholas.

---------- Post added at 11:48 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:46 AM ----------

Because I don't know the answer to this question.

And I'm not sad. I only meant that the information you posted wasn't an exciting thing to read. Compare it for example with posts of Keithth G.

No problem, Mr. Ripley is out there to help me. Your link to KeiththG's post fails. Please check again. I cannot link to KeiththG's post by clicking your link.

Yours sincerely,

Nicholas.

---------- Post added at 11:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:48 AM ----------

Since you are asking for help, can you at least provide us with a precise link to the post with these microtextures you are interested in?

No problem, I thought I had mentioned it. It is the microtexture posted by Orbiter's founder, Dr. Martin in his Orbiter Beta r.55 thread.

Here: http://www.orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=36637

See the first post by Dr.Martin. There is only one link there. That is the link I am asking about. I already downloaded the Hi-res texture and also the mixrotexture files by clicking the link in that post. But I am not very sure how to unpack it. Should I just unzip into the Orbiter Hi-res texture files or should I download additional files. Dr. Martin did mention that it is an UPDATE. I am afraid I might overlook some important files.

Please help me Mr. Ripley.

Regards,

Nicholas.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,957
Reaction score
183
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
...See the first post by Dr.Martin. There is only one link there. That is the link I am asking about. I already downloaded the Hi-res texture and also the mixrotexture files by clicking the link in that post. But I am not very sure how to unpack it. Should I just unzip into the Orbiter Hi-res texture files or should I download additional files...
Quoting Martin directly. Emphasys mine:
...This should be unpacked in the Orbiter directory ("extract here") and allowed to overwrite existing tiles. Note that this requires the high-resolution Earth textures already installed (either the full texture set, or the 10/08 tile from the map picker in the beta texture repository)...
I cannot be clearer than him.
Keep in mind though that the Low resolution (Earth in this case) textures are mandatory.

So, install in order:
  1. LoRes Textures
  2. HiRes Textures
  3. Updated microtextures
 

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,661
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Location
Hildesheim, Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de

Notebook

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 20, 2007
Messages
11,285
Reaction score
263
Points
158
I'm Spartacus.
 

Nicholas Kang

Spaceflight News Reporter
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Apr 3, 2016
Messages
516
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Penang
No problem Ripley. I have successfully unpacked the files. Thanks. Sorry for interruption.

I apologize. You know, I am an idiot. Teenagers have to learn in a humble fashion from great masters like Ripley, Urwumpe, and Enjo and finally one more, that is Notebook.

Thanks for all your kind help.

My question ends here.

Yours sincerely,

Nicholas.
 

GregD

Donator
Donator
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
High Rez unzip problem

After down loading all the files the first file unzipped fine. But none of the others would unzip. The typical error was:
1 C:\ortiter_beta\Textures\Mars\Mars.7z.002
Can not open file as archive

This is the first time I have used 7-zip.
 

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Hello,

The problem with night lights, for me at least, with some procedures I use, it is the clear stretches even really clear which represent on maps of cropland ( cultures ) or quarries (of chalk for example) or more, sand (deserts in the first place). I have not found a comprehensive solution to this problem. Overall: I mean, for all the nightlights in the whole Orbiter. Without this problem it would not be easy but possible ( nevertheless with a machine of a bigger power ) that mine.

Locally, it is possible even if that remains artificial and with artifacts. I turned around the issue, with some ideas and just experiment with this, that shows the city ( it is a random choice but by reference to the sandy environment I was looking to put away )... city of Ahvah in Iran (around one million persons). I made it quickly enough ( after maybe two or more years on that question ..). In Orbiter it's a level 15.

I also made some tests near KSC from Canaveral to the west coast, particulary on Orlando, at level 16, and it's, well, good. Sometimes i lost some parts of roads ( as it was the case on Ahvah here ) but i can reinstall them at the end.

I'll clean up my notes and see how i can continue.

I'll try to find time to explain here how i proceed ( i dont speak english well and it will be a pain but ).

For the moment, if someone want tou try to work with that bmp et install it in Orbiter to test ( reducing the height of the bmp with the cos of the lat... 31° 17′ Nord 48° 43′ Est), i'll create a link. It's really perfectible.

http://ge.tt/2ydN5jd2
 

Attachments

  • day.jpg
    day.jpg
    469.9 KB · Views: 34
  • night.jpg
    night.jpg
    251.9 KB · Views: 38
Last edited:

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,580
Reaction score
101
Points
63
After down loading all the files the first file unzipped fine. But none of the others would unzip. The typical error was:
1 C:\ortiter_beta\Textures\Mars\Mars.7z.002
Can not open file as archive

This is the first time I have used 7-zip.
You have done everything right!
The (7)ZIP files are split and only the first is to be "opened" and "extracted". The others are sub-parts, which contents will be extracted by opening / extracting the first.
So everything should be fine for you if you just extract the first one.
 

Weirdo Earthtorch

New member
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
165
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Earth Cloud Texture Mods

Thought I'd stick this here as it's texture 'issues'. Back in the earlier versions of the latest beta, I noticed several glitches in the cloud texture, which for me, could jar the otherwise superb view in LEO (where I seem to spend most of my simulated flight time).

I checked the original file (ISTR Dr Schweiger referencing the source in the forum somewhere, can't find the link right now), and sure enough, the glitches were present there. So I set about working out the locations and affected .dds files, and making some (very) amateur adjustments in Gimp (mainly blur/smudge, some healing along linear glitches).

I think the results look better, a couple of 'before & afters' below. The question is, does anybody else care about these? I found about 25 different areas but there may well be more. Note this is not a correction of the baked-in cloud on surface textures (e.g. S. America), nor is it a complete work - there are almost certainly other areas that I haven't noticed.

I have successfully run texpack, to properly insert the mods into the tree archive format, but that runs to about 300Mb which seems slightly impractical to upload, particularly as there are only about 200 modifications (@ c.256kb ea.). If anyone's interested, I could upload them in the original format, to be re-packed on the end-user's machine. (On that note, can anybody assist in how to zip using relative paths?)
 

Attachments

  • Clouds (2).jpg
    Clouds (2).jpg
    128.3 KB · Views: 48
  • Clouds (2) Fix.jpg
    Clouds (2) Fix.jpg
    118.4 KB · Views: 40
  • Clouds 20.jpg
    Clouds 20.jpg
    144.3 KB · Views: 45
  • Clouds (20) Fix.jpg
    Clouds (20) Fix.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 47

innovine

New member
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
What is the licensing for the texture packs? I didn't see any mention of this on the download site. Are we free to use them in other projects?
 

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
What is the licensing for the texture packs? I didn't see any mention of this on the download site. Are we free to use them in other projects?


Hello,

Read, maybe, the complete presentation of the work of Martin on Landsat ( at least ), and precisely, the last two lines, where it's question of copyright.

Don't know if it gives an answer to you.

good day.
 
Last edited:

Face

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,202
Reaction score
139
Points
88
Location
Vienna
Martin, I've got a question regarding texture blending of water mask.

I'm currently in the process of implementing an automatic texture blending into treeman's old-style base conversion feature. In principle it goes like this:

  • Each old-style base tile will be converted to the DXT1 format tree tile.
  • Base tiles that had the transparency bit set in the base config list will be alpha blended over an already present tile from the tree.
  • If no tile on the same position is present, the next tile in the quadtree in upwards direction is used, split and blown up accordingly.
I thought this to give a better automated merging result than just copying such transparency tiles as is, and indeed it does (Vandenberg addon):
Before:



After:



However, I get the impression that the water masking might not be applied over higher resolution tiles if no equivalent high resolution masking tile is present. Could that be? Do we have to also provide high resolution masking tiles if we want at least coast lines to have smooth edges?

---------- Post added at 16:32 ---------- Previous post was at 15:05 ----------

Answered my own question: yes, it is so.

I've added a small extension, and now treeman also spits out appropriate Mask layer tiles. Result:
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,349
Reaction score
17
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
Yes, a non-existing mask tile simply signals "no transparency". So the mask tile always has to be paired with a texture tile. Orbiter doesn't search the ancestor chain for the mask tiles independently of the texture chain.
 

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
erreur

---------- Post added 09-03-16 at 02:59 PM ---------- Previous post was 09-02-16 at 08:47 PM ----------

Two sets of images, as waypoints, about the exercises I lead again on night lights. They are still incomplete from different point of views.

Obtained with different processes, one more extensible than the other to all the views in Orbiter. I spent part of my summer

to this but I return to work Monday and will put betweeen brackets that work.

Here it's Level 16, approximately 3.5 km in altitude, and it is Titusville near KSC and further Orlando. Yet many artifacts

but there are not too expensive -i hope - ways to reduce them; many improvements to bring.

essai1



essai1_1



essai1_2



essai2



essai2_2

 
Last edited:

innovine

New member
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hello,

Read, maybe, the complete presentation of the work of Martin on Landsat ( at least ), and precisely, the last two lines, where it's question of copyright.

Don't know if it gives an answer to you.

good day.

And where is that?
I have not found any info related to copyright, which is why I asked.
 
Top