Orbiter beta texture issues

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
Since the new texture format, including high-resolution coverage and elevation support, is a major segment of the 2015 beta, it may be a good idea to have a dedicated thread to discuss planet-texture related problems.

I've spruced up the download page at http://mirror.orbiter-radio.co.uk/orbiter/assets/orbiter_texturepacks.html a bit. Let me know if anything is unclear or could be designed better.
 
Last edited:

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
356
Reaction score
0
Points
16
South America has been processed :)
I hope to see Northern Europe in high res... (Finland, Estonia, Latvia). It's just a couple of tiles.
Every other heavily populated areas are included, but not Scandinavia or Baltic states...
Beginning to realize how far to the north I live.
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk

mariostivala

New member
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Ok for Earth Hi res textures dimensions

I downloaded again Earth.7z.003; it has the same dimensions of others files. Only Earth.7z.006 is 1,2 Gb, as declared. Thanks to all! A good new year!!:)
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,080
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Milan
Just downloaded Earth.7z.001 (file shows 4GB) but I cannot unzip the file. I am using 7Zip as recommended and I get an "uknown error" messege...
I re-downloaded it but experiencing the same problem...
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,749
Reaction score
13
Points
113
Just downloaded Earth.7z.001 (file shows 4GB) but I cannot unzip the file. I am using 7Zip as recommended and I get an "uknown error" messege...
I re-downloaded it but experiencing the same problem...
You need the other parts. It's a split multi-part archive.
 

jroly

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
403
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Earth is about 20+GB to download, lucky I am still using the textures from the previous Beta from April + the recent overwrite so I didn't have to download a lot again.
 

fort

New member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,006
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Earth is about 20+GB to download, lucky I am still using the textures from the previous Beta from April + the recent overwrite so I didn't have to download a lot again.

But : the April and the December textures - all of those of the altea site - thus also including actually areas already present in April are different.

Those of April was accompanied by a LoEarth.zip a file ( 140 mb) - of April - which contain levels from 1 to 9, the high resolution textures of April contain levels from 10 and 13 ( and the Canaveral of April - 10_08 - levels from 10 to 18 ) for its area .

Those of December comes with a LoEarth.zip a file ( 500 MB ) containing levels from 1 to 10, high resolution textures of December - including areas already present in April - containing levels from 11 to 13 ( and Canaveral of December levels from 11 to 19).

The textures added in December , mainly the South America, contain levels 11 to 13 for the area they cover.
 
Last edited:

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
537
Reaction score
7
Points
18
These textures are SOMETHING ELSE!
The "water feature" really makes a big difference to the feel of the area...:cool::camera:
Didn't realise how "wet" it is before.. (Cape)

THANK YOU Doctor !! Keep up your beautiful work please.
 

Abloheet

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
168
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Kolkata,West Bengal
Well, how to start making my own high res tiles and elevations?
Where can I download their data from?
First, I would like to incorporate the highres surface tiles for other bases on Earth into the highres textures. I would like to know, how do I go about doing it?
 

jroly

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
403
Reaction score
0
Points
0
HI Abloheet,

I have been trying to work that out as well. I used tileedit.exe located in 'orbiter_beta\Utils' and you will need Matlab MCR http://au.mathworks.com/products/compiler/mcr/ ver R2012a (7.17) 64bit installed for it to run.

I am wondering how you open/edit .elv files and how do you locate which part you want to edit from the files in the elev directory (which I assume you copy over into the elev_mod directory when you decide to edit). tileedit.exe is a tile viewer as it does not have any editing functions in it, but that is ok as long I can work out how to edit these files manually.

I would love to start making new bases in the new orbiter beta.
 
Top