New Release D3D9Client Development

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Looks like it's coming from r.1204 change in Tilemgr2_imp.hpp
Code:
{
  globtile[i] = new TileType(this, i - 3, 0, 0);
  globtile[i]->Load();
}

Load() been added but why ? ... Looks like it's coming from Orbiter Beta but the Beta implementation is slightly different.
[...]
I don't know the reason behind the change.

Those were added when the "new Label" stuff was introduced.
One example would be "void SurfTile::Load ()" that loads and creates (beside others) the new surface labels (BETA feature!).
 

jarmonik

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,666
Reaction score
795
Points
128
I have fixed the MeshRes related CTD as well as the MFD/Mipmaps related CTD from the current head revision and the version is bumped to 4.2 but unfortunately building a release went bad.. really bad... So, the 4.2 that shows up in the project page won't work.

I'll try to build a release package manually and clean the website later today or tomorrow.

I did upgrade my computer and Formatted C: a few months ago and this is the first attempt to publish a build after that. Also new clean installation of Orbiter to keep two local working copies.

Publishing a Beta build also fails. No problems compiling or accessing SVN repository.

Code:
TortoiseSVN 1.13.1, Build 28686 - 64 Bit , 2019/10/31 18:49:38
ipv6 enabled
Subversion 1.13.0, -release
apr 1.7.0
apr-util 1.6.1
serf 1.3.9
OpenSSL 1.1.1d  10 Sep 2019
zlib 1.2.11
SQLite 3.29.0


Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Project DefaultTargets="Build" xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/developer/msbuild/2003">
  <ImportGroup Label="PropertySheets">
  </ImportGroup>
    <!-- The following macro defines the Orbiter installation directory.
         If the Orbiter property pages are used are used outside the default
         Orbitersdk directory location, the OrbiterDir macro must be set
         to the correct absolute Orbiter root directory path.
         
         Example: <OrbiterDir>C:\Orbiter2016</OrbiterDir>
    -->
  <PropertyGroup Label="UserMacros">
    <OrbiterDir>C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean</OrbiterDir>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <PropertyGroup>
    <_ProjectFileVersion>14.0.25431.1</_ProjectFileVersion>
  </PropertyGroup>
  <ItemDefinitionGroup />
  <ItemGroup>
    <BuildMacro Include="OrbiterDir">
      <Value>$(OrbiterDir)</Value>
      <EnvironmentVariable>true</EnvironmentVariable>
    </BuildMacro>
  </ItemGroup>
</Project>




Code:
========================================================================
  Getting Version information
========================================================================
  ...
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svnversion' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
========================================================================
  Building D3D9Client
========================================================================
Microsoft (R) Build Engine version 14.0.25420.1
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Building the projects in this solution one at a time. To enable parallel build, please add the "/m" switch.
Build started 18.4.2020 8.41.56.
Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\D3D9ClientVS2015.s
ln" on node 1 (build target(s)).
ValidateSolutionConfiguration:
  Building solution configuration "Release|Win32".
Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\D3D9ClientVS2015.s
ln" (1) is building "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\D3D9Cl
ientVS2015.vcxproj" (2) on node 1 (default targets).
InitializeBuildStatus:
  Creating "Release\D3D9Client.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild" because "AlwaysCreate" w
  as specified.
PreBuildEvent:
  if not exist "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\\Modules\Plugin" mkdir "C:\Softwa
  re\Orbiter2016-Clean\\Modules\Plugin"
  if not exist "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\nvapi.h" (
    echo // ==============================================================
    echo // nvapi.h
    echo // Dummy header to be able to build the D3D9Client without
    echo // the NVIDIA NvAPI interface installed.
    echo // ==============================================================
  )>"C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\nvapi.h"
  :VCEnd
ClCompile:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
ResourceCompile:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
Link:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
  D3D9ClientVS2015.vcxproj -> C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\\Modules\Plugin\D3D
  9Client.dll
FinalizeBuildStatus:
  Deleting file "Release\D3D9Client.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild".
  Touching "Release\D3D9Client.tlog\D3D9Client.lastbuildstate".
Done Building Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\D3D9
ClientVS2015.vcxproj" (default targets).

Done Building Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\D3D9Client\D3D9
ClientVS2015.sln" (build target(s)).


Build succeeded.
    0 Warning(s)
    0 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:00.31
========================================================================
  Building GenericCamera MFD
========================================================================
Microsoft (R) Build Engine version 14.0.25420.1
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Building the projects in this solution one at a time. To enable parallel build, please add the "/m" switch.
Build started 18.4.2020 8.41.56.
Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\GenericCamera\Generic
Camera.sln" on node 1 (build target(s)).
ValidateSolutionConfiguration:
  Building solution configuration "Release|Win32".
Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\GenericCamera\Generic
Camera.sln" (1) is building "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\G
enericCamera\GenericCamera.vcxproj" (2) on node 1 (default targets).
InitializeBuildStatus:
  Creating "Release\GenericCamera.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild" because "AlwaysCreate
  " was specified.
PreBuildEvent:
  if "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\"=="ORBITERDIR_UNDEFINED" (
  echo .
  echo ==========================================
  echo !  OrbiterDir has not been defined.
  echo !  Please edit Orbitersdk\resources\orbiterroot.props
  echo ==========================================
  echo .
  exit 1 )

  :VCEnd
ClCompile:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
ResourceCompile:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
Link:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
  GenericCamera.vcxproj -> C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\\Modules\Plugin\Generi
  cCamera.dll
FinalizeBuildStatus:
  Deleting file "Release\GenericCamera.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild".
  Touching "Release\GenericCamera.tlog\GenericCamera.lastbuildstate".
Done Building Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\Generic
Camera\GenericCamera.vcxproj" (default targets).

Done Building Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\Generic
Camera\GenericCamera.sln" (build target(s)).


Build succeeded.
    0 Warning(s)
    0 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:00.25
========================================================================
  Building DX9ExtMFD
========================================================================
Microsoft (R) Build Engine version 14.0.25420.1
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Building the projects in this solution one at a time. To enable parallel build, please add the "/m" switch.
Build started 18.4.2020 8.41.56.
Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\DX9ExtMFD\DX9ExtMFD.s
ln" on node 1 (build target(s)).
ValidateSolutionConfiguration:
  Building solution configuration "Release|Win32".
Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\DX9ExtMFD\DX9ExtMFD.s
ln" (1) is building "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\DX9ExtMFD
\ExtMFD.vcxproj" (2) on node 1 (default targets).
InitializeBuildStatus:
  Creating "Release\DX9ExtMFD.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild" because "AlwaysCreate" wa
  s specified.
PreBuildEvent:
  if "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\"=="ORBITERDIR_UNDEFINED" (
  echo .
  echo ==========================================
  echo !  OrbiterDir has not been defined.
  echo !  Please edit Orbitersdk\resources\orbiterroot.props
  echo ==========================================
  echo .
  exit 1 )

  :VCEnd
ClCompile:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
ResourceCompile:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
Link:
  All outputs are up-to-date.
  ExtMFD.vcxproj -> C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\\Modules\Plugin\DX9ExtMFD.dll
FinalizeBuildStatus:
  Deleting file "Release\DX9ExtMFD.tlog\unsuccessfulbuild".
  Touching "Release\DX9ExtMFD.tlog\DX9ExtMFD.lastbuildstate".
Done Building Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\DX9ExtM
FD\ExtMFD.vcxproj" (default targets).

Done Building Project "C:\Software\Orbiter2016-Clean\Orbitersdk\samples\DX9ExtM
FD\DX9ExtMFD.sln" (build target(s)).


Build succeeded.
    0 Warning(s)
    0 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:00.26
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
'svn' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
The system cannot find the path specified.

7-Zip 19.00 (x64) : Copyright (c) 1999-2018 Igor Pavlov : 2019-02-21

Scanning the drive:
4 folders, 4 files, 1286870 bytes (1257 KiB)

Creating archive: ..\D3D9ClientR4.2-for(r)+src.zip

Add new data to archive: 4 folders, 4 files, 1286870 bytes (1257 KiB)


Files read from disk: 4
Archive size: 629975 bytes (616 KiB)
Everything is Ok
The system cannot find the file specified.
The system cannot find the file specified.

7-Zip 19.00 (x64) : Copyright (c) 1999-2018 Igor Pavlov : 2019-02-21

Scanning the drive:
4 folders, 4 files, 1286870 bytes (1257 KiB)

Creating archive: ..\D3D9ClientR4.2-for(r).zip

Add new data to archive: 4 folders, 4 files, 1286870 bytes (1257 KiB)


Files read from disk: 4
Archive size: 629975 bytes (616 KiB)
Everything is Ok
--------------------------
Publish a Build [Y/N] ?


---------- Post added at 12:15 ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 ----------

Looks like I had forgotten to install some "optional" components during TortoiseSVN install. 4.2 build is now available
 
Last edited:

dgatsoulis

ele2png user
Donator
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
1,924
Reaction score
340
Points
98
Location
Sparta
Something that I've noticed in version 4.2 is that vessel shadows are not shown when above a certain altitude.

Olympus Mons (Alt: 21 km, vessel status: landed)

J4Io6MiI.png
(image tags don't seem to be working anymore on the forum, here is a picture link).
https://pasteboard.co/J4Io6MiI.png

I starting going through the D3D9 versions that I had on my PC and shadows at that altitude work on version 3.1 (r980)

J4Iqp6y.png

https://pasteboard.co/J4Iqp6y.png

but they don't work in 3.11(r1174), 4.1(r1264) & 4.2(1281)

The cutoff altitude for Mars seems to be at around 10 km.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
Thanks for the detailed analysis :thumbup:
That should make it quite easy to find (and fix).
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
@Jarmo: I could make the shadow re-appear by removing the initial falsification of bStencilShadow in Scene::RenderMainScene().

attachment.php


But it seems a bit odd...is this really the reason for not rendering shadows at higher altitudes?
Could you please double-check (Scenario included)

I'll hold back that commit until we're convinced ;)
 

Attachments

  • ShadowFix.png
    ShadowFix.png
    26 KB · Views: 205
  • Shadow on Olympus Mons.scn
    900 bytes · Views: 1

yitianetie

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
18
Points
23
Location
Brittany
Hi,

Sorry to come back but I have found, by looking some planets, a new bug related to cloud layer above Titan while using D3D9 client.

Normally, with high-res textures in default dxd7 orbiter client, you have this appearance (with cloud layer and cloud shadows enabled) :
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KaRVrcTEs36nFVnF6-s1kHjnfiBNDHF5

But if you use D3D9 client (last stable version, but same problem with previous stable r1224), I have this view :
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1T5d0cn8PcSBUs1R9vnT45L0xWPuxICYS

The color becomes like fade beige and we don't see any relief. It seems that the cloud layer is badly interpreted by the D3D9 client.

The log says nothing more :
Code:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
BaseDir    : D:\Orbiter\Orbiter2016\
ConfigDir  : D:\Orbiter\Orbiter2016\Config\
MeshDir    : D:\Orbiter\Orbiter2016\Meshes\
TextureDir : D:\Orbiter\Orbiter2016\Textures\
HightexDir : D:\Orbiter\Orbiter2016\Textures2\
ScenarioDir: D:\Orbiter\Orbiter2016\Scenarios\
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
D3D9 DLLs  : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d9.dll [v 10.0.18362.387]
           : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3dx9_43.dll [v 9.29.952.3111]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 200418, API 160828]
000000.000: 
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: D3D9: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
D3D9: 3D-Adapter.............. : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M
D3D9: MaxTextureWidth......... : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureHeight........ : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureRepeat........ : 8192
D3D9: VolTexAddressCaps....... : 0x3F
D3D9: NumSimultaneousRTs...... : 4
D3D9: VertexDeclCaps.......... : 0x30F
D3D9: MiscCaps................ : 0x2FCEF2
D3D9: XNA Math Support........ : Yes
D3D9: Vertex Texture.......... : Yes
D3D9: Separate AlphaBlend..... : Yes
D3D9: Shadow Mapping.......... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A32B32G32R32F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_D32F_LOCKABLE.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A2R10G10B10...... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_L8............... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_DEC3N......... : No
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_2..... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_4..... : Yes
D3D9: Runs under WINE......... : No
D3D9: D3D9Build Date.......... : 200418
D3D9: Available Texture Memory : 4088 MB
000000.000: D3D9: [3DDevice Initialized]
000000.000: D3D9: [Loading Constellations]
000000.000: D3D9: [D3D9Client Initialized]
000000.000: Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
000000.000: Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
000000.000: Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
000000.000: Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
000000.000: Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
000000.000: Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
000000.000: Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
000000.000: Module Io.dll ................ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
000000.000: Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
000000.000: Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
000000.000: Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
000000.000: Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
000000.000: Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
000000.000: Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
000000.000: Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
000000.000: Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
000000.000: Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
000000.000: Finished initialising world
000000.000: Module DeltaGlider.dll ....... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module LuaInline.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module ShuttleA.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Finished initialising status
000000.000: Finished initialising camera
000000.000: Finished setting up render state
000000.000: D3D9: [Scene Initialized]
000000.000: Finished initialising panels
000008.050: D3D9: [Session Closed. Scene deleted.]
000008.050: D3D9: [Destroy Render Window Called]
000008.050: **** Closing simulation session

So how can I solve that issue ? Or maybe it is not an issue and that is the real rendering with atmospheric/cloud layer. But I have the same kind of difference with Venus. Venus atmosphere seems very heavy with D3D9 client, and rather light with default D3D7 (But I had read that this one is actually a radar picture).
Venus in Orbiter (D3D7) : https://drive.google.com/open?id=1VTRWdj254l-FJpOWkVOK0LSy_jVGsnNh
Venus in OrbiterNG (D3D9) : https://drive.google.com/open?id=164uWvcaYQhGqLysew0QEAOuHa-IvrmIY

I think I need some explanations because I am maybe wrong :).


Kind regards,
Etienne

---------- Post added at 11:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:39 PM ----------

I have disabled cloud shadows but kept cloud layer enabled and the result seems better. Do you usually use cloud shadows in Orbiter ?
 
Last edited:

jarmonik

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,666
Reaction score
795
Points
128
@Jarmo: I could make the shadow re-appear by removing the initial falsification of bStencilShadow in Scene::RenderMainScene().


No, that's not really the issue. We have two different kind of ground shadows and Stencil shadows is just one of them (the backup) if the first one fails for reason.


Fix commited to 2016 branch.

---------- Post added at 04:53 ---------- Previous post was at 04:27 ----------

Hi,
Sorry to come back but I have found, by looking some planets, a new bug related to cloud layer above Titan while using D3D9 client.

I have disabled cloud shadows but kept cloud layer enabled and the result seems better. Do you usually use cloud shadows in Orbiter ?


Yes I have cloud shadows enabled. But I haven't been on a Titan for a while, it's usually the Earth and Mars that's being used for testing. Titan looks better in O2016 but it's broken in Beta, also it would appear that the atmospheric configuration controls are not responding at all on Titan. So, something is wrong. Also Venus is missing configuration files completely.


Will look into it.. Hopefully soon.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
While looking at other things I noticed something odd:

Shouldn't the crater slopes be lit (shadowed) the other way around?
Edit: It likely is the Texture that has those slopes "shaded", so possibly not much we can do.
 

Attachments

  • CurrentState.jpg
    CurrentState.jpg
    96.8 KB · Views: 36
Last edited:

yitianetie

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2020
Messages
50
Reaction score
18
Points
23
Location
Brittany
Hi again,

I have 2 thoughts and questions about some graphic options :

1. Do should I use cubic or linear interpolation for the elevation ? Several addons that feature surface activities (like GeneralVehicle, AMSO and maybe oMMU) seems to work much better with linear interpolation. But in the past, some users said that linear interpolation would be more instable than cubic, by reading this post : https://www.orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=36637&page=10. But it seems to be more related to Orbiter beta than the official one.


2. Finally, it seems that set mesh resolution for terrain on 64 does not shows real differences than set on 32, especially on Moon or Mars while using High resolutions textures and elevations provided by Martin. The only thing I have noticed is the fact that shadows are less blurry but more pixelated when setting mesh resolution on 64, especially with linear interpolation. Do shoud we see real improvements instead ?

Best regards,
Etienne
 
Last edited:

jarmonik

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,666
Reaction score
795
Points
128
While looking at other things I noticed something odd:


That's a know issue. The surface texture is just a photograph and the light is often coming from a different direction when the photo have been taken than the current light direction in the Orbiter. In theory it should be possible to reverse-engineer the lighting. But even to attempt that we would need to have information about the light direction when each of those individual photos were taken and we don't have that for a surface textures. I believe the database that's containing all those surface photos would have the information available.

---------- Post added at 11:50 ---------- Previous post was at 11:40 ----------

Hi again,

I have 2 thoughts and questions about some graphic options :

1. Do should I use cubic or linear interpolation for the elevation ? Several addons that feature surface activities (like GeneralVehicle, AMSO and maybe oMMU) seems to work much better with linear interpolation. But in the past, some users said that linear interpolation would be more instable than cubic, by reading this post : https://www.orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=36637&page=10. But it seems to be more related to Orbiter beta than the official one.

2. Finally, it seems that set mesh resolution for terrain on 64 does not shows real differences than set on 32, especially on Moon or Mars while using High resolutions textures and elevations provided by Martin. The only thing I have noticed is the fact that shadows are less blurry but more pixelated when setting mesh resolution on 64, especially with linear interpolation. Do shoud we see real improvements instead ?


Right now the "cubic" gives a better terrain quality but it fails on terrain collisions, so, objects those are landed may be floating above the terrain or sink into it. The "linear" mode should have very accurate terrain collisions but the quality is little less.


Terrain mesh resolution 32/64 setting should have very little effect in anything except memory consumption. I don't know why shadows are effected by the setting, they shouldn't be I haven't looked into that yet. I'll always keep it at 32.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,434
Reaction score
688
Points
203
Is there any way that the water layer specular reflections could be disabled for the cloud layer? Also how hard would it be to implement a bump or normal map for the cloud layer? This would give the clouds some depth.
 

Attachments

  • Clouds_not_excepted_from_water_specular_reflections.jpg
    Clouds_not_excepted_from_water_specular_reflections.jpg
    160.1 KB · Views: 40
  • Clouds-Sun-reflection-ISS.JPG
    Clouds-Sun-reflection-ISS.JPG
    96 KB · Views: 38

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,913
Reaction score
2,907
Points
188
Website
github.com
When I move the mouse to the left or right edges of the window, gray menu-like boxes slide into view, but nothing is in them... new stuff?
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
507
Points
113
And by the way, in case it confuses you, you can of course disable it:


attachment.php
 

Attachments

  • gcGUI-option.png
    gcGUI-option.png
    22 KB · Views: 367

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,913
Reaction score
2,907
Points
188
Website
github.com
And by the way, in case it confuses you, you can of course disable it:


attachment.php

As it was showing empty, I thought I messed something due to recent changes on my end.
Thanks again!
 

snckrz

New member
Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi!
I have a weird problem with this addon: Shadows are rendered opaque, as you can see in the attached screenshot.
They work fine if I run the normal version of orbiter with "Try stencil buffer" enabled, tho.
 

Attachments

  • CurrentState.jpg
    CurrentState.jpg
    111.5 KB · Views: 22
Top