New Release D3D9Client Development

80mileshigh

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
307
Reaction score
62
Points
28
Location
Melbourne
Website
eightymileshigh.wordpress.com
I'm having some issues when landed on outer planet moons, when using R4.6 with Orbiter 2016. On most of the Jovian and Saturnian moons I see bad flickering and jumping of textures.

These scenarios capture the problem for me:

Ganymede:

Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Ganymede surface graphics glitch.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 52024.8592697715
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship GL-01S
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET GL-01S
  MODE Extern
  POS 16.337456 -128.901679 -7.734930
  TRACKMODE TargetRelative
  FOV 41.81
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Surface
  SPDMODE 1
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE Launch
  NAV 0
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
GL-01S:DG-S
  STATUS Landed Ganymede
  POS 14.0000000 -131.9000000
  HEADING 178.06
  ALT 2.554
  AROT 102.464 46.953 -71.434
  RCSMODE 2
  AFCMODE 7
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000000 1:1.000000 2:1.000000
  NAVFREQ 434 94 84 114
  XPDR 0
  RCOVER 1.0000 0.0000
  HOVERHOLD 0 1 0.0000e+000 0.0000e+000
  GEAR 1.0000 0.0000
  AAP 0:0 0:0 0:0
  PSNGR 2 3 4
  PANELCOL 4
  TANKCONFIG 1
END
END_SHIPS
Tethys:

Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Tethys surface graphics glitch.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 52036.3996687836
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship GL-01S
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET GL-01S
  MODE Extern
  POS 6.399219 -107.636825 -7.465196
  TRACKMODE AbsoluteDirection
  FOV 41.81
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Surface
  SPDMODE 1
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE Launch
  NAV 0
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
GL-01S:DG-S
  STATUS Landed Tethys
  POS 14.0000000 -131.9000000
  HEADING 178.06
  ALT 2.568
  AROT 102.433 46.892 -71.456
  RCSMODE 2
  AFCMODE 7
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000000 1:1.000000 2:1.000000
  NAVFREQ 434 94 84 114
  XPDR 0
  RCOVER 1.0000 0.0000
  HOVERHOLD 0 1 0.0000e+000 0.0000e+000
  GEAR 1.0000 0.0000
  AAP 0:0 0:0 0:0
  PSNGR 2 3 4
  PANELCOL 4
  TANKCONFIG 1
END
END_SHIPS
The moons of Uranus and Neptune appear stable but the DG doesn't cast a shadow.

A couple of Saturn's moons show no problem at all; Mimas, Enceladus.

Hope this is helpful.
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
I'm having some issues when landed on outer planet moons, when using R4.6 with Orbiter 2016. On most of the Jovian and Saturnian moons I see bad flickering and jumping of textures.

The moons of Uranus and Neptune appear stable but the DG doesn't cast a shadow.

There is a new build uploaded for Orbiter 2016. Could you check if the texture flickering issue is fixed. There is currently no vessel shadow support for planets/moons using the old tile format. Only the new tile format is fully supported.


Broken clouds of Jupiter/Venus should be fixed.
 

80mileshigh

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
307
Reaction score
62
Points
28
Location
Melbourne
Website
eightymileshigh.wordpress.com
There is a new build uploaded for Orbiter 2016. Could you check if the texture flickering issue is fixed. There is currently no vessel shadow support for planets/moons using the old tile format. Only the new tile format is fully supported.


Broken clouds of Jupiter/Venus should be fixed.
Yes, fixed - that was fast! :) Thanks.

I do still get the effect, in some places, of the vessel separated from its ground shadow by some small altitude. I gather that's an unavoidable consequence of the way surface elevation is calculated now?
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
I do still get the effect, in some places, of the vessel separated from its ground shadow by some small altitude. I gather that's an unavoidable consequence of the way surface elevation is calculated now?

Not really, you can avoid it in most cases by increasing "MaxPatchResolution" from planet/moon config file. "10" should be good enough. It shouldn't have any negative side effects.
 

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
363
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Just started to think is there a way to make water less transparent? Looking from KSC - away from the sun (so no reflections) water seems dirty greenish, etc... it is depicted in tiles this way...
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
Just started to think is there a way to make water less transparent? Looking from KSC - away from the sun (so no reflections) water seems dirty greenish, etc... it is depicted in tiles this way...

Probably, but if the water is less transparent then it would need to have a color (and that's not a constant). Right now the color comes from the background texture like you said. Are you saying that water color in the tiles is incorrect ? I suppose it would should be possible to shift it a bit towards a cleaner blue but is that correct ?

EDIT: Hmmm.. Maybe the problem is how much light the texture receives through the water.

 
Last edited:

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
Just started to think is there a way to make water less transparent? Looking from KSC - away from the sun (so no reflections) water seems dirty greenish, etc... it is depicted in tiles this way...
I played around with water setting. It's possible to tune it so that the dirt looks like floating but it's probably not any better. The dirty greenish color is real as far as I can tell so I leave it be as it is at-least for now.
 

jacquesmomo

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
375
Reaction score
19
Points
18
Location
FRANCE
Website
francophone.dansteph.com
Hello

So I have a problem ...(with my add-on Kourou-CSG)

Since the latest version of D3D9 (D3D9ClientR4.7-forOrbiter2016 (r1335)
my Kourou track is in the air: (bottom image)

With the previous version (D3D9ClientR4.4-forOrbiter2016 (r1306)
everything was fine (top image)

 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,487
Reaction score
19
Points
38
That should not happen.

Can you try selecting "linear interpolation" vs. "cubic interpolation" in the Visual effects tab? This might help.

Visual effects.png

I know this is not a solution, but maybe a work-around
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
2,958
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
May I ask for this https://www.orbiter-forum.com/threads/area-flattening-experiment-success.37074/post-570818 to be incorporated into the official D3D9 ?

Local terrain flattening defined by configs is well suited for addons covering small areas.
Editing the entire terrain tree is overkill when you just want a few meters of flat terrain to land or to place a landed mesh.

I don't see any undesired side effects, or any compatibility problems. It would only work on the client, but we already have some client only features (ex: microtextures) so I don't think that's a problem.
 

llarian

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
448
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Location
Ottawa
Just to add my two cents worth ... I agree on 4throck on this one. I believe it needs to be added. It is a very useful tool.
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
There is a new build 4.8 uploaded with this feature (for Orbiter 2016). I guess that the code hack wouldn't work with beta. I haven't done any extensive testing but it did create a flat circle on the moon, so, I guess it's working.

- There is on/off toggle in the setup/config dialog.
 

Face

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,111
Reaction score
44
Points
73
Location
Vienna
Thanks for putting it in. I remember that the hooking failed in beta Orbiter versions, but if there is a specific version that most people use, I can try to check the numbers for that as well. I don't think that the code changed significantly at that position, only the absolute addresses might be off.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
2,958
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
There is a new build 4.8 uploaded with this feature (for Orbiter 2016). I guess that the code hack wouldn't work with beta. I haven't done any extensive testing but it did create a flat circle on the moon, so, I guess it's working.

- There is on/off toggle in the setup/config dialog.
Thank you ! I'll try to put together a some test scenarios so that we are all looking at the same place ;)
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,740
Reaction score
58
Points
123
Location
Dallas, TX
So got a question about reflections. I have the reflector of the shuttle set to reflect. But it seems it reflects the back side. If you have the reflectors shut in the shuttle. It really should reflect the inside. But it reflects the outside
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
31
Points
123
So got a question about reflections. I have the reflector of the shuttle set to reflect. But it seems it reflects the back side. If you have the reflectors shut in the shuttle. It really should reflect the inside. But it reflects the outside
Are you talking about the radiator panels? If so, in order for them to reflect the interior properly, you need to have the following in config file named whatever the class name of your vessel is with the suffix _ecam in the Config/GC subfolder:
Code:
BEGIN_CAMERA 0
LPOS 0.0 0.0 0.0
DO_NOT_OMIT_FOCUS
END_CAMERA
So, since the class name for SSU is SpaceShuttleUltra, the name for the config file is "SpaceShuttleUltra_ecam.cfg". But then you get this since D3D9Client only uses one source for the reflections: https://www.orbiter-forum.com/threads/d3d9client-development.16787/post-262882
 
Last edited:

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
2,958
Reaction score
76
Points
48
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Here's a test scenario for terrain flattening.

It requires VesselBuilder for the landed mesh of Mars Pathfinder and surrounding area.
The lander displays as expected centered on the flattened area (if used with moderation flattening can be is seamless).

I added a DG to test driving around and the logical terrain drops of quite fast, not following the visual display.
Yet at the center the DG does climb into the flat area.

Clipboard01.jpg

Other than that is seems to work!
The pathfinder mesh is free to use for more tests or to include on the D3D9 package as an example.
 

Face

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,111
Reaction score
44
Points
73
Location
Vienna
I added a DG to test driving around and the logical terrain drops of quite fast, not following the visual display.
Yet at the center the DG does climb into the flat area.

Other than that is seems to work!
It would be interesting to see how it is without the flattening. Would the DG then stay level with the visual terrain? What happens if you change the falloff percentage towards zero?

I noticed that the implementation changed to use float instead of integer for the visual part. Perhaps this is affecting the visual vs. logical relation.
 
Top