Project VesselBuilder for Orbiter

Buck Rogers

Major Spacecadet
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
268
Reaction score
211
Points
43
Latest CamTarget.dll fully functional with inline gfx & winxp :)

TP set2 changeover ani not saving: I rewrote my .cfg changing the gear from ani 0 to 1 and it saves fine; so the problem is with the linkage to ani 0 for some reason.
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
TP set2 changeover ani not saving: I rewrote my .cfg changing the gear from ani 0 to 1 and it saves fine; so the problem is with the linkage to ani 0 for some reason.

you got it right!

in my code:
Code:
if (changeoveranim > 0) {

it shall be >=0!!! thanks, it will be corrected immediately and available next round of release!
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,899
Reaction score
169
Points
138
Location
Cape
I set up an event that jettisons 4 fairings, with one key press "J". It works fine, but they move away very slowly. When set to one fairing, that one moves like normal.

Code:
EVENT_0_ID = 0
EVENT_0_NAME = fairing1
EVENT_0_TYPE = 2
EVENT_0_TRIGGERTYPE = 2
EVENT_0_REPEAT = -1
EVENT_0_KEY = 36
EVENT_0_KEYMOD = 0
EVENT_0_JETTNEXT = FALSE
EVENT_0_JETTIDX = 0
 
EVENT_1_ID = 1
EVENT_1_NAME = fairing2
EVENT_1_TYPE = 2
EVENT_1_TRIGGERTYPE = 2
EVENT_1_REPEAT = -1
EVENT_1_KEY = 36
EVENT_1_KEYMOD = 0
EVENT_1_JETTNEXT = FALSE
EVENT_1_JETTIDX = 1
 
EVENT_2_ID = 2
EVENT_2_NAME = fairing3
EVENT_2_TYPE = 2
EVENT_2_TRIGGERTYPE = 2
EVENT_2_REPEAT = -1
EVENT_2_KEY = 36
EVENT_2_KEYMOD = 0
EVENT_2_JETTNEXT = FALSE
EVENT_2_JETTIDX = 2
 
EVENT_3_ID = 3
EVENT_3_NAME = fairing4
EVENT_3_TYPE = 2
EVENT_3_TRIGGERTYPE = 2
EVENT_3_REPEAT = -1
EVENT_3_KEY = 36
EVENT_3_KEYMOD = 0
EVENT_3_JETTNEXT = FALSE
EVENT_3_JETTIDX = 3
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
I have a problem with animations.

I defined animation components and tested them.
All was OK so I saved the scenario.
When I reloaded the vessel, the animation components are there, but have lost their names, and all data is set to zero....

This happened on the last animation. The others are OK.
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
I set up an event that jettisons 4 fairings, with one key press "J". It works fine, but they move away very slowly. When set to one fairing, that one moves like normal.

Can I have the docking section as well? I don't know if this is an issue due to orbiter itself handling multiple undockings or something within VB. I will investigate it, it's a bit easier if I have the docking section together with events

I have a problem with animations.

I defined animation components and tested them.
All was OK so I saved the scenario.
When I reloaded the vessel, the animation components are there, but have lost their names, and all data is set to zero....

This happened on the last animation. The others are OK.

Seems like the safety check is applying so instead of crashing it resets the values... I am working to avoid this issues but sometimes they still happen, I hope to null them out asap. If you need to recover your work you should have it in the backup text file. Can I have the animation section or at least the last one to see if I can get a clue of the issue?
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,899
Reaction score
169
Points
138
Location
Cape
Can I have the docking section as well? I don't know if this is an issue due to orbiter itself handling multiple undockings or something within VB. I will investigate it, it's a bit easier if I have the docking section together with events




Here is the docking info.


Code:
DOCK_0_ID = 0
DOCK_0_NAME = SMfairing1
DOCK_0_POS = 0 0 -2.725
DOCK_0_DIR = 1 0 0
DOCK_0_ROT = 0 0 1
DOCK_0_JETT = TRUE
DOCK_0_SOFTDOCK = FALSE
 
DOCK_1_ID = 1
DOCK_1_NAME = SMfairing2
DOCK_1_POS = 0 0 -2.725
DOCK_1_DIR = 0 1 0
DOCK_1_ROT = 0 0 1
DOCK_1_JETT = TRUE
DOCK_1_SOFTDOCK = FALSE
 
DOCK_2_ID = 2
DOCK_2_NAME = SMfairing3
DOCK_2_POS = 0 0 -2.725
DOCK_2_DIR = -1 0 0
DOCK_2_ROT = 0 0 1
DOCK_2_JETT = TRUE
DOCK_2_SOFTDOCK = FALSE
 
DOCK_3_ID = 3
DOCK_3_NAME = SMfairing4
DOCK_3_POS = 0 0 -2.725
DOCK_3_DIR = 0 -1 0
DOCK_3_ROT = 0 0 1
DOCK_3_JETT = TRUE
DOCK_3_SOFTDOCK = FALSE
 
DOCK_4_ID = 4
DOCK_4_NAME = to trunk
DOCK_4_POS = 0 0 1.55
DOCK_4_DIR = 0 0 1
DOCK_4_ROT = 0 1 0
DOCK_4_JETT = FALSE
DOCK_4_SOFTDOCK = FALSE


---------- Post added at 05:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:33 PM ----------

Does anyone have any configuration examples to look at ?
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
If you need to recover your work you should have it in the backup text file. Can I have the animation section or at least the last one to see if I can get a clue of the issue?


Here's the animation section:
Code:
;<-------------------------ANIMATIONS DEFINITIONS------------------------->
 
ANIM_0_ID = 0
ANIM_0_NAME = Elevators
ANIM_0_DEFSTATE = 0.5
ANIM_0_DURATION = 10
ANIM_0_KEY = 0
ANIM_0_CYCLE = 4
 
ANIM_1_ID = 1
ANIM_1_NAME = Rudders
ANIM_1_DEFSTATE = 0.5
ANIM_1_DURATION = 10
ANIM_1_KEY = 0
ANIM_1_CYCLE = 4
 
ANIM_2_ID = 2
ANIM_2_NAME = ElevatorTrim
ANIM_2_DEFSTATE = 0.5
ANIM_2_DURATION = 10
ANIM_2_KEY = 0
ANIM_2_CYCLE = 4
 
ANIM_3_ID = 3
ANIM_3_NAME = LeftAileron
ANIM_3_DEFSTATE = 0.5
ANIM_3_DURATION = 10
ANIM_3_KEY = 0
ANIM_3_CYCLE = 4
 
ANIM_4_ID = 4
ANIM_4_NAME = RightAileron
ANIM_4_DEFSTATE = 0.5
ANIM_4_DURATION = 10
ANIM_4_KEY = 0
ANIM_4_CYCLE = 4
 
ANIM_5_ID = 5
ANIM_5_NAME = Gear
ANIM_5_DEFSTATE = 1
ANIM_5_DURATION = 10
ANIM_5_KEY = 34
ANIM_5_CYCLE = 0
 
ANIMCOMP_0_ID = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_SEQ = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_NAME = ElevComp
ANIMCOMP_0_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_0_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_0_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_0_REF = 0 -0.4 -6
ANIMCOMP_0_AXIS = 1 0 0
ANIMCOMP_0_ANGLE = 40
ANIMCOMP_0_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_0_GRPS = 6, 7
ANIMCOMP_0_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_1_ID = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_SEQ = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_NAME = RightRudder
ANIMCOMP_1_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_1_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_1_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_1_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_REF = 4.36544 2.54306 -6.03
ANIMCOMP_1_AXIS = 0.143 0.975 -0.172
ANIMCOMP_1_ANGLE = -60
ANIMCOMP_1_NGRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_GRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_2_ID = 2
ANIMCOMP_2_SEQ = 1
ANIMCOMP_2_NAME = LeftRudder
ANIMCOMP_2_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_2_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_2_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_2_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_2_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_2_REF = -4.36544 2.54306 -6.03
ANIMCOMP_2_AXIS = -0.143 0.975 -0.172
ANIMCOMP_2_ANGLE = -60
ANIMCOMP_2_NGRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_2_GRPS = 0
ANIMCOMP_2_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_3_ID = 3
ANIMCOMP_3_SEQ = 2
ANIMCOMP_3_NAME = ElevTrimComp
ANIMCOMP_3_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_3_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_3_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_3_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_3_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_3_REF = 0 -0.4 -6
ANIMCOMP_3_AXIS = 1 0 0
ANIMCOMP_3_ANGLE = 10
ANIMCOMP_3_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_3_GRPS = 6, 7
ANIMCOMP_3_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_4_ID = 4
ANIMCOMP_4_SEQ = 3
ANIMCOMP_4_NAME = LeftAileronComp
ANIMCOMP_4_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_4_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_4_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_4_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_4_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_4_REF = -2.57594 1.49037 -6.03
ANIMCOMP_4_AXIS = 1 0 0
ANIMCOMP_4_ANGLE = -20
ANIMCOMP_4_NGRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_4_GRPS = 6
ANIMCOMP_4_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_5_ID = 5
ANIMCOMP_5_SEQ = 4
ANIMCOMP_5_NAME = RightAileronComp
ANIMCOMP_5_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_5_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_5_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_5_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_5_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_5_REF = -2.57594 1.49037 -6.03
ANIMCOMP_5_AXIS = 1 0 0
ANIMCOMP_5_ANGLE = 20
ANIMCOMP_5_NGRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_5_GRPS = 7
ANIMCOMP_5_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_6_ID = 6
ANIMCOMP_6_SEQ = 5
ANIMCOMP_6_NAME = front door
ANIMCOMP_6_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_6_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_6_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_6_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_6_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_6_REF = -0.33 1.46268 4.76167
ANIMCOMP_6_AXIS = -0.0503767 0.0503767 0.997459
ANIMCOMP_6_ANGLE = 90
ANIMCOMP_6_NGRPS = 3
ANIMCOMP_6_GRPS = 92, 96, 18
ANIMCOMP_6_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_7_ID = 7
ANIMCOMP_7_SEQ = 5
ANIMCOMP_7_NAME = AnimComp_21
ANIMCOMP_7_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_7_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_7_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_7_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_7_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_7_REF = 0 0 0
ANIMCOMP_7_AXIS = 0 0 1
ANIMCOMP_7_ANGLE = 90
ANIMCOMP_7_NGRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_7_GRPS = 16
ANIMCOMP_7_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_8_ID = 8
ANIMCOMP_8_SEQ = 5
ANIMCOMP_8_NAME = AnimComp_22
ANIMCOMP_8_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_8_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_8_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_8_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_8_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_8_REF = 0 0 0
ANIMCOMP_8_AXIS = 0 0 1
ANIMCOMP_8_ANGLE = -90
ANIMCOMP_8_NGRPS = 1
ANIMCOMP_8_GRPS = 17
ANIMCOMP_8_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_9_ID = 9
ANIMCOMP_9_SEQ = 5
ANIMCOMP_9_NAME = AnimComp_23
ANIMCOMP_9_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_9_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_9_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_9_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_9_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_9_REF = 0 0 0
ANIMCOMP_9_AXIS = 0 0 1
ANIMCOMP_9_ANGLE = -90
ANIMCOMP_9_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_9_GRPS = 9, 12
ANIMCOMP_9_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_10_ID = 10
ANIMCOMP_10_SEQ = 5
ANIMCOMP_10_NAME = AnimComp_24
ANIMCOMP_10_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_10_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_10_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_10_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_10_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_10_REF = 0 0 0
ANIMCOMP_10_AXIS = 0 0 1
ANIMCOMP_10_ANGLE = -90
ANIMCOMP_10_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_10_GRPS = 10, 13
ANIMCOMP_10_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_11_ID = 11
ANIMCOMP_11_SEQ = 5
ANIMCOMP_11_NAME = AnimComp_25
ANIMCOMP_11_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_11_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_11_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_11_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_11_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_11_REF = 0 0 0
ANIMCOMP_11_AXIS = 0 0 1
ANIMCOMP_11_ANGLE = -90
ANIMCOMP_11_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_11_GRPS = 11, 14
ANIMCOMP_11_PARENT = -1
 
;<-------------------------PROPELLANT DEFINITIONS------------------------->




I can't recover the good settings because they are not on the backup.
VB seems to have saved these "cleaned up" values many times.
So while I was adding animations and seeing them in Orbiter, nothing was being saved...
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,899
Reaction score
169
Points
138
Location
Cape
I'm not having any problems saving animations.
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
I can't recover the good settings because they are not on the backup.
VB seems to have saved these "cleaned up" values many times.
So while I was adding animations and seeing them in Orbiter, nothing was being saved...

This is extremely unusual, especially if you were seeing the animations in the sim. Did you ever close and reopen the sim? If so, when you did this did the animation got reloaded or not?

From the data I'd say the following:
- The issue appears from ID number 7 onwards
- it is just relevant to name, axis, reference and angle. I don't know about state0 and state1
- there were a lot of deleted components since I see the automatic name to 25 something while the id is still to 7.

First question is trivial, I'm sorry. Are you sure that you pressed "set" for each of those values when you wrote them? it can be skipped inadvertedly sometimes, sorry for asking.

this never happened to me so first thing I am going to try to reproduce the issue but I need the more information possible.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
» Did you ever close and reopen the sim?
I did exit the simulator once the landing gear animation was complete and working.
But not for every change on animation components. I simply saved a scenario.
Do I need to close VB to save a scenario? There's no feedback for the user about this.


»there were a lot of deleted components
Yes, I'm doing Hermes based on DG, so I deleted non needed animations. Perhaps I deleted something in the wrong order, don't know.

» Are you sure that you pressed "set"
I pressed enough times to have the animation I wanted.


No worries, I'll redo the animations and see what happens. If all fails, there's always Notepad++ ;)
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,626
Reaction score
2,593
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So what is the red arrow?
AD8eRrR.jpg


I noticed the red arrow moving but I don't think the animations was

So I guess the mesh groups is different from a Dll version. That was where I was getting the group numbers. So operator error:(

Code:
;<-------------------------ANIMATIONS DEFINITIONS------------------------->
 
ANIM_0_ID = 0
ANIM_0_NAME = Rudder1
ANIM_0_DEFSTATE = 0.5
ANIM_0_DURATION = 10
ANIM_0_KEY = 37
ANIM_0_CYCLE = 0
 
ANIMCOMP_0_ID = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_SEQ = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_NAME = AnimComp_0
ANIMCOMP_0_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_0_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_0_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_0_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_0_REF = -4.82 2.38 -14.385
ANIMCOMP_0_AXIS = 0 0.858727 -0.512434
ANIMCOMP_0_ANGLE = -45
ANIMCOMP_0_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_0_GRPS = 24, 27
ANIMCOMP_0_PARENT = -1
 
ANIMCOMP_1_ID = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_SEQ = 0
ANIMCOMP_1_NAME = AnimComp_1
ANIMCOMP_1_STATE0 = 0
ANIMCOMP_1_STATE1 = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_ARMTIP = FALSE
ANIMCOMP_1_MESH = 0
ANIMCOMP_1_TYPE = 1
ANIMCOMP_1_REF = 4.82 2.38 -14.385
ANIMCOMP_1_AXIS = 0 0.858727 -0.512434
ANIMCOMP_1_ANGLE = 0
ANIMCOMP_1_NGRPS = 2
ANIMCOMP_1_GRPS = 25, 26
ANIMCOMP_1_PARENT = -1
 
Last edited:

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,899
Reaction score
169
Points
138
Location
Cape
Are you sure it's not a group highlighted, that is underneath the outer group ?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,626
Reaction score
2,593
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Are you sure it's not a group highlighted, that is underneath the outer group ?


Oh I was sure if it did that. But I ran it is d3d9 and could highlight the mesh groups and weird that they were different than the dll?
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,899
Reaction score
169
Points
138
Location
Cape
When doing animation work, VB will highlight the group in red.
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
So what is the red arrow?
AD8eRrR.jpg


I noticed the red arrow moving but I don't think the animations was

So I guess the mesh groups is different from a Dll version. That was where I was getting the group numbers. So operator error:(

did you check with D3D9 mesh debug?

is the mesh made by yourself? if so can you pass it to me so I can give a look?
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
For me the mesh groups that VB paints don't match the actual ones.
So I use D3D9 mesh debug and get the numbers from there.

---------- Post added at 19:56 ---------- Previous post was at 17:34 ----------

First landing of the Hermes! Animations and landing points are a bit rough but... it works!
49f8cc1199158164.png


(what's they key to change configurations while flying? )
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
For me the mesh groups that VB paints don't match the actual ones.
So I use D3D9 mesh debug and get the numbers from there.

The highlight groups function is a bit experimental. It seemed to work fine but I suspect it depends on the mesh file for some reason. I will add a note about this.

First landing of the Hermes! Animations and landing points are a bit rough but... it works!
49f8cc1199158164.png

:10sign:

Congratulations!!!

(what's they key to change configurations while flying? )

There is no predefined key at the moment. There are two ways: use the dialog (just for testing purposes of course) or define an event for that. If you use a keypress as trigger you can bind to it any key you want
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
I get it, it will be an event of course, because the service module must be a new vessel once separated.

Orbiter 2016 is coming alive now that we have creation tools.
Next step is flattening the runway at Istres, since that's where the Hermes was supposed to land!
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,899
Reaction score
169
Points
138
Location
Cape
Kinda gett'n it. So, how do I make two docked vessels a configuration, then two separate ones, when undocked ?
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,666
Reaction score
100
Points
78
Kinda gett'n it. So, how do I make two docked vessels a configuration, then two separate ones, when undocked ?

Going by memory because i m not in front of my pc, but i d use for both vessels a reconfiguration event triggered by a dock event. IIRC you can choose the docking port, if the event is triggered when docking or when undocking and if you want the name of the vessel. I have to say that i still didn t find the time to test this trigger properly, so if you want to be the pioneer... :)

---------- Post added at 05:22 ---------- Previous post was at 05:19 ----------

To going a bit further i d use two reconfiguration events for each vessel, each triggered by the docking event one when docking and one when undocking. I d also use repeat always if it s supposed to happen all the times the two vessels dock
 
Top