My First Blog...my impressions of Orbiter

edjohnbus

Reaction score
Hello and greetings. My name is Edward and I am from Michigan. I'm really new to Orbiter, but I must admit I'm addicted.
I do find myself really struggling with 2 things (well, maybe 3): 1> Landing with a keyboard is really hard as it's almost impossible to maintain a decent rate <10m/s unless using kill-rotation (which only prevents over pitching/rolling the aircraft). 2> How the heck do you get from the moon to Earth? I can't find a decent PDF tutorial on this anywhere. I've tried setting up the transfer MDF with the ref=moon tgt=Earth, but you can't do that. The only thing I can do is ref=sun tgt=Earth, but then the math isn't there to get from the moon to Earth to set the DV +/- and ej point. I guess I only have 2 things I'm struggling with...been playing around doing low altitude flights circling the air field and coming back i for a landing (but my success rate even doing that is <20%).
Anyhow, I have searched til my eyes bled and can't find any tutorial on getting back from the moon and into Earth orbit. I think that is a severe lacking in the "How To" of this game. But other than that, this is a genuinely well constructed program with a lot of attention to detail. I really am impressed with all the add-on things available and all the people who build amazing vehicles and bases in their spare time to make the simulator more realistic.
If anyone knows where I can find a tutorial to get from the moon back to the Earth, please let me know :thumbup: !!! (I think right now I have 1 DGIV floating past Neptune that I abandoned after trying and trying to save it when attempting to get back to the Earth with no trajectory available on any MFD to know where I was aiming).
The landing I will just have to work on and get better at (or buy a joystick).
If you read this, thank you. If you can offer some help to my dilemma with returning to Earth, I would appreciate it.

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer