OHM Falcon9 for Orbiter2016

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
388
Reaction score
20
Points
33
Good evening Brian

Maintain it will be necessary to make an update for the color of the parachutes :rofl:



[ame="https://twitter.com/SpaceX/status/1002268835175518208"]SpaceX on Twitter: "Falcon 9 fairing halves deployed their parafoils and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean last week after the launch of Iridium-6/GRACE-FO. Closest half was ~50m from SpaceX’s recovery ship, Mr. Steven. https://t.co/JS7d5zTdIg… https://t.co/l43ez5GF9r"[/ame]
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Finally, a pic of the fairing and parafoil! Thanks!
Will be in next update :)
 

Voyager_VI

Sailor Tim
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Suffolk
I'm so spoiled, I keep checking the Hanger every couple hours to see if BrianJ has released an add-on for NASA's ICON mission with the L-1011/Pegasus XL :)
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Heh, I do enjoy the Pegasus XL launches :) Will do it if I have time. Looks like launch is delayed until July anyway. Problem is there's nowhere to take off from - Kwajalein atoll is just a smudge on the ocean in Orbiter2016, and my old surface tiles don't work well at all - so complete base construction needed for Kwajalein, which is a lot more work than just making the payload (any volunteers for making a surface tile set for Kwajalein??).

Back on the subject of fairings with parafoils - I'm not seeing much sign of "control lines", servos, etc. on the fairings - are the parafoils just passive and the "Mr.Steven" has to be driven underneath them as they come down? Whilst auto-guidance for the parafoils was fun to make, I might go back to passive parafoils if it's still possible to catch them with "Mr.Steven" Anyway, making them red-white-stripey should improve things ;-)
 

Voyager_VI

Sailor Tim
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Suffolk
Absolutely love Kwaj, was there many time during my military career.

I will give it a stab, your IBEX base from 2010 is only off a little bit.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Stargazer is going to need new decals. :hmm:
Ah, yes. New blue logo and stripe. Not sure I should mess with Kev33's paint job, though.

Absolutely love Kwaj, was there many time during my military career.

I will give it a stab, your IBEX base from 2010 is only off a little bit.
You were on Kwajalein? Wow. That was always an idle daydream of mine - desert island+rocket launches! What could be better? ;-D

If you're going to have a go at surface tiles, I better get busy with ICON spacecraft. Got a few weeks anyway, I think. My old surface tiles from IBEX don't match up to Orbiter2016, but you might be able to use 'em. If it's any use, I have a Kwajalein base with just a runway that matches Orbiter2016 Hi-Res package tiles from here: https://mirror.orbiter-radio.co.uk/orbiter/assets/packages/Earth/EarthHi_08_30.zip
I can post it here if it's useful. Anyway, good luck if you decide to go for it!

Cheers,
BrianJ
 

boogabooga

Bug Crusher
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
3,002
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Ah, yes. New blue logo and stripe. Not sure I should mess with Kev33's paint job, though.

Well, that, but I meant more that Orbital-ATK became Northrup Grumman a few days ago. We are yet to see the new decal.
 

Voyager_VI

Sailor Tim
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Suffolk
I would appreciate what you already have for 2016 Brian.

Kwaj is very beautiful, HOT, HUMID, afternoon thunderstorms most days. Life operates at a very slow pace even for a military installation.

I was there for one of these reentry's over the atoll, flipp'n awesome!
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Hi, those are reentry trails? Extraordinary! :-D

Anyway, here's what I have in my Config/Earth/Base/Kwajalein.cfg
I think the runway just about matches the Orbiter2016 Hi-Res tiles..

Code:
BASE-V2.0
Name = Kwajalein
Location = +167.725333 +8.722367
Size = 2000

BEGIN_OBJECTLIST
RUNWAY
	END1 -75 0 1790
	END2 566 0 -242
	WIDTH 60
	ILS1 133
	ILS2 134
	RWTEX Runway2
	NRWSEG 9
	RWSEG1 1 0.018 0.25 0.5 1 0.875
	RWSEG2 1 0.088 0 0.25 0.5 0
	RWSEG3 1 0.018 0.25 0.5 0.75 0.625
	RWSEG4 1 0.088 0 0.25 0.5 0
	RWSEG5 5 0.576 0 0.25 1 0.5
	RWSEG6 1 0.088 0 0.25 0.5 0
	RWSEG7 1 0.02 0.25 0.5 0.625 0.75
	RWSEG8 1 0.088 0 0.25 0 0.5
	RWSEG9 1 0.02 0.25 0.5 0.875 1
END
BEACONARRAY
	END1 -75 0 1790
	END2 566 0 -242
	COUNT 21
	COL 1 1 1
END
BEACONARRAY
	END1 17.57 0 1596.26
	END2 530.37 0 -29.34
	COUNT 9
	SIZE 0.6
	COL 1 1 1
END
BEACONARRAY
	END1 -39.37 0 1577.34
	END2 473.43 0 -48.26
	COUNT 9
	SIZE 0.6
	COL 1 1 1
END
BEACONARRAY
	END1 -103.47 0 1780.54
	END2 -46.53 0 1799.46
	COUNT 6
	COL 1 0 0
END
BEACONARRAY
	END1 594.47 0 -232.54
	END2 537.53 0 -251.46
	COUNT 6
	COL 1 0 0
END
END_OBJECTLIST
 

Voyager_VI

Sailor Tim
Joined
May 25, 2008
Messages
56
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Suffolk
I see your conundrum, the level 6 textures for Kwajalein have a datum shift that move the whole island about 800 meters to the southeast in OBM. Or, that's actually correct for WGS-83 datum and the level 1-4 Landsat images are referenced to the older WGS-72 datum.
 

mbartley

New member
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
66
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I was there for one of these reentry's over the atoll, flipp'n awesome!
There were several copies of that photo in people's offices at one of my previous jobs. (defense contractor) That and the Trident test launch that flew in spirals for several seconds before range safety stopped it.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Hi,
I'm having fun doing some coding for Donamy's Crew Dragon, so I wasn't thinking of making a Falcon9 update at the moment. The only things on my list for an update are the fairing parafoil and a fairing-not-removed-for-Dragon2-config-bug. Did you have any particular changes in mind?

I'm pretty happy with the current Falcon9 version - the boostback/reentry guidance is much better now, performance and launch sequence timings are getting closer to what I see on videos. I'm always happy to listen to suggestions for improvements though...

Cheers,
Brian
 

Kyle

Armchair Astronaut
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
3,709
Reaction score
64
Points
88
Website
orbithangar.com
The only very minor thing I'd suggest is to include a separate vessel for F9 B4 and F9 B5 just for historical missions (I'm thinking of releasing a scenario package for all 2017 and 2018 F9/FH missions sometime soon). Beyond that, there's really nothing that's in need of touching up IMO.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
The only very minor thing I'd suggest is to include a separate vessel for F9 B4 and F9 B5 just for historical missions (I'm thinking of releasing a scenario package for all 2017 and 2018 F9/FH missions sometime soon). Beyond that, there's really nothing that's in need of touching up IMO.
Yes, sorry I never thought about running different variants side-by-side.
Since the previous versions of my add-on use identical folder/name structure, I'd have to change folders/names and re-code quite a bit, to avoid overwriting current version. I'll do it if I get time....


One thing I'd like to suggest is for the Falcon Heavy addon: to recolor the rocket Block 5 style. If you want to leave it all white, I'm fine with it.
Plenty of work to do on the FalconHeavy to upgrade to Block5 and implement the improved reentry guidance algorithms I made for Falcon9, etc. New colour scheme is on the list :)
 

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
388
Reaction score
20
Points
33
Hello everyone, hello Brian

How to have the launch of CRS-15
DRAGON + First floor already used ??

thank you in advance
Pappy2
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,274
Reaction score
119
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Hi pappy2,
for the CRS-15 launch I use the config file settings for Dragon,Charred,Expendable. So my .cfg file for Falcon9 looks like this:
Code:
ClassName = f9_v12_stg2
Module = Falcon9R_V12/f9_v12

;;;;;;un-comment ; for Dragon adaptor or No Fairing options

Dragon = 1
;NoFairing = 1
;Adaptor = Falcon9R_V12/star48bv_adaptor
;NoFairRecovery = 1
Expendable = 1
Charred = 1

Attached is my scenario and .cfg for the launch, requires Falcon9, Cargo Dragon, Canadarm2v4, SSRMSD .dll.

ISS vectors from JPL Horizons.
 

Attachments

  • crs15_launch_180707.zip
    2.3 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Top