Problem Change crew names in XR2

Bodrius

New member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hello...

I wanted to change the names of my crew in the XR2, so I changed the names in the XR2RavenstarPrefs.cfg file, but nothing happens, the same default names appear. I changed the rank and that works fine, but the names thing doesn't work.
Any ideas of what I'm doing wrong?
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,468
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
Post the config. file on here so I can take a look.
 

TSPenguin

The Seeker
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
4,081
Reaction score
4
Points
0
You are probably loading a scenario with the original names in it.
Try spawning the XR2 with the scenario editor.
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,468
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
Found a likely problem. It really doesn't matter if you edit it in the config. file. Delete this, XR2UMMU_CREW_DATA_VALID 1, in the scenario file and then edit the names. I think it should work.
 

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
8,600
Reaction score
120
Points
138
Location
VA
Website
alteaaerospace.com
The behavior you are seeing is by design. From the comment header in XR2RavenstarPrefs.cfg:

#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
# Define the default name, age, pulse, mass, rank, and mesh of all crew members.
# If a scenario does not contain UMmu data for passengers, the values below are used.
In other words, the values in the config file are default values that are used only when no UMMU scenario data is present; e.g., when the ship is spawned via the scenario editor as TS said. If you are loading a scenario and there is valid UMMU data in the scenario, the UMMU data in the scenario is used; otherwise, any crew member changes you made via ingress or egress would be lost when you saved and reloaded the scenario (this behavior is the same as any other UMMU-enabled vessel). If you want to change the UMMU names in a given scenario, edit the UMMU data in the scenario file:

Code:
  UMMUCREW XI0-Lee_Nash-39-65-78
  UMMUCREW XI1-Kara_Miller-32-65-58
  UMMUCREW XI2-Sharon_Valerii-26-67-54
  UMMUCREW XI3-Cameron_Mitchell-36-65-77
  UMMUCREW XI4-Samantha_Carter-33-66-53
  UMMUCREW XI5-Daniel_Jackson-35-68-75
  UMMUCREW XI6-Teal_c-31-64-104
  UMMUCREW XI7-Vala_Mal_Doran-30-67-53
  UMMUCREW XI8-Elizabeth_Weir-36-68-56
  UMMUCREW XI9-John_Sheppard-34-64-77
  UMMUCREW XI10-Rodney_McKay-35-72-90
  UMMUCREW XI11-Teyla_Emmagan-27-68-57
  UMMUCREW XI12-Ronon_Dex-32-63-97
  UMMUCREW XI13-Carson_Beckett-38-74-95
The order is tag-name-age-pulse rate-mass (do not change the tag values). If you set 'XRUMMU_CREW_DATA_VALID 0' or delete that line the default UMMU data defined in the config file is used (since no UMMU data is available in the scenario in that case). However, UMMU data is always saved with the scenario, so the correct thing to do is edit the UMMU data in the scenario.
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,468
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
Thanks for elaborating on what I was trying to say.
 

Bodrius

New member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Problem solved. Thank you very much to everybody.
 

Freeman

New member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I can't seem to remove crew from cabin as hard as i try to do it. I tried all of the above suggestions, and the best results i have is that some of the crew titles changes to civilian, but quantity remains the same. I want to leave only commander and pilot, so there is no need for more lox. Its so frustrating :facepalm:
 

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
8,600
Reaction score
120
Points
138
Location
VA
Website
alteaaerospace.com
This is because UMMU support was disabled in the XR series due to UMMU not working in Orbiter 2016 (it causes CTDs if you try to EVA while landed, for example). However, EVA and crew support will be re-enabled in the XR series once oMMU, a UMMU replacement, ships.
 

JohnSpeed

New member
Joined
Apr 10, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hello! So it possible to change XR2 crew numbers in 2016 version?
editing XR2RavenstarPrefs not gives a result, only names is changing, but no numbers. I try to make 7 instead 14!
Please give me advise.
 

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
8,600
Reaction score
120
Points
138
Location
VA
Website
alteaaerospace.com
@JohnSpeed, no you cannot change XR crew members in 2016 until UMMu support is available for Orbiter 2016.
 
Top