Vessel Boeing 747Z

Lisias

Space Traveller Wanna-be
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
By all means, I'm no aircraft designer.

But the inner elevators shouldn't be merged (P-38 style) to save the joint wing from some of the (huge) twisting forces?

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
By all means, I'm no aircraft designer.

But the inner elevators shouldn't be merged (P-38 style) to save the joint wing from some of the (huge) twisting forces?

Could also be useful to split them to reduce the effects of turbulence.

Spacethingy

Multitasker
Reaction score
Website
spacethingy.weebly.com
What kind of runway would this land on?! The A380 pushes the limits at many airports in terms of width, I'm guessing this thing would be extremely limited on the airports it could actually land on?

Thinking about it, that massive offset from the pilot's position to the centreline of the aircraft would create some very interesting problems both for landing and taxiing...

Item number 22 in that .pdf seems to suggest a very unrealistic cost for the project... :lol:

With regards to the tail:
Torsional loads can be minimized by means of active load alleviation control operating differentially on the ailerons and the two independent horizontal tails.

Interesting if this would be any easier with modern fly-by-wire kind of stuff.

Last edited:

Graham2001

Reaction score
The closest I can get to that time period is a report dating from 1980, where Boeing discussed various fuel saving modifications, most of what's discussed eventually ended up in the 747-400 in one form or another.

Summary Report - Selective Advanced Aerodynamics and Active Controls Technology Concepts Development on a derivative B-747 aircraft. (1980)

http://ntrs.nasa.gov/archive/nasa/casi.ntrs.nasa.gov/19830018560.pdf

Final Report - Selective Advanced Aerodynamics and Active Controls Technology Concepts Development on a derivative B-747 aircraft. (1980)