Problem Sim shuts down at moon

Kirscovitch

New member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
When I arrive at the moon with either the delta glider or ravenstar, once I get into a stable low orbit, as soon as I get near sunrise, the game boots me. I haven't played in a while but I don't remember having this problem in the past. Could it be a visual settings issue?
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,013
Reaction score
1,702
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
When I arrive at the moon with either the delta glider or ravenstar, once I get into a stable low orbit, as soon as I get near sunrise, the game boots me. I haven't played in a while but I don't remember having this problem in the past. Could it be a visual settings issue?

I have no idea. Does Orbiter.log contain any hints? Is there some error message or does it quit without any indication of a problem?

Does it only happen at the moon or can you reproduce the problem by orbiting Earth for a while? Does the error happen if you start in lunar Orbit?
 

Kirscovitch

New member
Joined
May 12, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
1
I have no idea. Does Orbiter.log contain any hints? Is there some error message or does it quit without any indication of a problem?

Does it only happen at the moon or can you reproduce the problem by orbiting Earth for a while? Does the error happen if you start in lunar Orbit?
Where do I find this log? And after 4 flights to the moon I always get booted at the same spot the day/night terminator.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,013
Reaction score
1,702
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
Where do I find this log? And after 4 flights to the moon I always get booted at the same spot the day/night terminator.

In the orbiter installation folder, right alongside Orbiter.exe. Configure Windows Explorer to also display the known file extensions, in case you are not sure which kind of file you are looking for. Otherwise it might appear as a file named "Orbiter" of the type "Log file" or translated into your configured language.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
I have the same problem after I began building my Lunar Spaceport Base. I was trying to do an entire orbit and land back at the base, but Orbiter always crashes at the Day-Night Terminator.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,013
Reaction score
1,702
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
I have the same problem after I began building my Lunar Spaceport Base. I was trying to do an entire orbit and land back at the base, but Orbiter always crashes at the Day-Night Terminator.

What does the log say? Did you use versioning like keeping a copy of an old and working configuration file for the base or use git for keeping track of the changes?
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
What does the log say? Did you use versioning like keeping a copy of an old and working configuration file for the base or use git for keeping track of the changes?
I only have 1 copy of the base, and it is in my Orbiter Base directory
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,013
Reaction score
1,702
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
I only have 1 copy of the base, and it is in my Orbiter Base directory

That makes differential debugging (compare the changes to the last baseline and find out which change caused the bug) much harder.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
That makes differential debugging (compare the changes to the last baseline and find out which change caused the bug) much harder.
It's been like this ever since I made the base, and only occurs in that scenario. I think it is an Orbiter 2016-2010 issue. Also, the base is in a crater, and once I am beyond the crater, the base still shows, but black, through the crater.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
What does the log say? Did you use versioning like keeping a copy of an old and working configuration file for the base or use git for keeping track of the changes?
============================ ERROR: ===========================
Invalid mesh handle. Returned 0. (Continuing)
[oapiMeshGroupCount | .\OrbiterAPI.cpp | 1349]
===============================================================

Does it have to do with something in my Orbiter base? Because I was doing an entire flight from the surface of the earth to my base, and after an hour of flying, it decides to crash as I pass near the base, I even didn't get to do the braking burn from hyperbolic trajectory.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,013
Reaction score
1,702
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
============================ ERROR: ===========================
Invalid mesh handle. Returned 0. (Continuing)
[oapiMeshGroupCount | .\OrbiterAPI.cpp | 1349]
===============================================================

Does it have to do with something in my Orbiter base? Because I was doing an entire flight from the surface of the earth to my base, and after an hour of flying, it decides to crash as I pass near the base, I even didn't get to do the braking burn from hyperbolic trajectory.

Yes, I think so. But this wasn't exactly a critical error, just a first sign of something being badly configured. Did you maybe have a typo somewhere?
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,974
Reaction score
2,807
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
From what I read, it is 99% likely it has to do with your meshes. At some distance (you can set it in the parameters somewhere) Orbiter loads the meshes and bang...

Meshes with only 1 vertice vertex will crash Orbiter, you might want to check you don't load such objects.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
Yes, I think so. But this wasn't exactly a critical error, just a first sign of something being badly configured. Did you maybe have a typo somewhere?
Not sure. I might have to remove the entire base itself. There are too many parts to the base and I don't want to go through every single line. I'll look into it when I have the time. It might be the big lights I put at the crater edge which look like the sun for some reason.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
From what I read, it is 99% likely it has to do with your meshes. At some distance (you can set it in the parameters somewhere) Orbiter loads the meshes and bang...

Meshes with only 1 vertice will crash Orbiter, you might want to check you don't load such objects.
I made a really thin flag pole thing using a really skinny tank, would that cause?
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,974
Reaction score
2,807
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
I made a really thin flag pole thing using a really skinny tank, would that cause?

If the result is a valid polygon, there's no reason... At worse it is one-sided and it won't crash Orbiter.

You can use ShipEdit in the utils subfolder to check the meshes. It was intended for ships but the mesh sanity check will work with anything. Helped me a lot.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
If the result is a valid polygon, there's no reason... At worse it is one-sided and it won't crash Orbiter.

You can use ShipEdit in the utils subfolder to check the meshes. It was intended for ships but the mesh sanity check will work with anything. Helped me a lot.
Okay I have shipedit open, but how do I find the meshes for my base? I am using no custom meshes, just the stock Orbiter blocks and tanks to build some things.
 

Arvil

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
296
Reaction score
210
Points
58
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
I just built my local airport by creating a new config file in the Earth\Base folder and editing the objects in it. Not much there, just some to play with.
 

Krishnan

I believe, my friends, caravans of rockets
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
173
Reaction score
69
Points
28
Location
Hampton, Virginia
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
I just built my local airport by creating a new config file in the Earth\Base folder and editing the objects in it. Not much there, just some to play with.
Yeah, but my lunar moon base has lots of different pieces. I am wondering what object is causing the trouble. Could it be the lights?
I wanted to put some high distance visibility red lights on the edge of the crater so I can do nightime takeoffs, but I think i messed up and now it looks like a second sun that is very glitchy.
 
Top