New Release Release of OrbiterSound 4.0 (3D)

dansteph

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
789
Reaction score
57
Points
28
Website
orbiter.dansteph.com
OrbiterSound 4.0 is a major update of OrbiterSound:

3D sound, per vessel sound by configuration file, a lot of sounds reworked or
added, full DX9 & DX11 compatibility. See the download page.

Tuesday :lol:
 

Submariner

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
139
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Just one question - can we install this over the old Orbiter Sound in an existing orbiter installation, or do we have do use a fresh installation of orbiter?
 

dgatsoulis

ele2png user
Joined
Dec 2, 2009
Messages
1,774
Reaction score
8
Points
38
Location
Sparta
Just one question - can we install this over the old Orbiter Sound in an existing orbiter installation, or do we have do use a fresh installation of orbiter?
You can install over an old installation.
 

Scav

Mostly Harmless
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
990
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I wish I could say 'Sounds good!' with absolute impunity . . . but then I'd be shamelessly capitalizing on a VERY cheap pun, and that's not (quite) how I roll. ;)

Thanks, Dan!

:cheers:
 

Izack

Non sequitur
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
6,667
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
The Wilderness, N.B.
Gave this a try in D3D9. Excellent work! Congratulations on a fine release. It really feels like Orbiter is not the sim it was yesterday.
 
Last edited:

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,500
Reaction score
27
Points
48
Silent Shuttle liftoff in "welcome" scenario

First, thank you!

But I found that when I run the "Welcome" scenario, the Shuttle lifts of silently...is this somehow explainable?
The same scenario does "make noise" in the 3.5 Version.

Regards,
Kuddel
 

dansteph

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
789
Reaction score
57
Points
28
Website
orbiter.dansteph.com
First, thank you!

But I found that when I run the "Welcome" scenario, the Shuttle lifts of silently...is this somehow explainable?
The same scenario does "make noise" in the 3.5 Version.

Regards,
Kuddel
The only case we had of that was a wrong speaker/sound configuration in windows, from the FAQ:

Sound is louder or very weak when my head is straight or pan left/right.
Check your window's speaker settings (see doc). OrbiterSound uses the default window's speaker settings so if the model is wrong (for example quadraphonic instead of your two stereo) you might experience such problems.
http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/read.php?f=2&i=15516&t=15516
 

orb

O-F Administrator,
Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,023
Reaction score
0
Points
0
The only case we had of that was a wrong speaker/sound configuration in windows, from the FAQ
If anyone tries it in Linux (here with 2 channel/headphones setup) it can be similar, i.e. no engine sound at all in external view (sonic booms playing just fine in external, and engine sound plays fine in internal), or no space music playing, but it could be because it's WINE and not Windows. Well, I'll check it eventually in Windows too, but closer to the weekend.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,500
Reaction score
27
Points
48
The only case we had of that was a wrong speaker/sound configuration in windows, from the FAQ:

Sound is louder or very weak when my head is straight or pan left/right.
Check your window's speaker settings (see doc). OrbiterSound uses the default window's speaker settings so if the model is wrong (for example quadraphonic instead of your two stereo) you might experience such problems.
http://orbiter.dansteph.com/forum/read.php?f=2&i=15516&t=15516
Thanks for the info, but my configuration was OK.
I however found, that the scenario does somehow not select the Shuttle when switching to that part :hmm:...When I select STS-101, the sound is played!
But why on earth one installation (with OrbiterSound 3.5) does select the Shuttle while the other (with OrbiterSound 4.0) doesn't remains a mystery to me.
Now I really don't think OrbiterSound is somehow responsible for *that*, but I'll try some more testing with this 'problem' to get a root-cause (hopefully)
Thanks again for the quick response,
Kuddel
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,500
Reaction score
27
Points
48
Hi,

it's me again. I have tried to do some research and made an observation:
I ran the scenario "Welcome" in two different ways on my "OrbiterSound 4.0" installation:

  1. just let it run (doing nothing)
  2. hit F3 to select "STS-101" as soon as it appeared during the playback
and I looked at the log files (OrbiterSound_Log.txt) for each run.
It seems that the focus change does not get to to OrbiterSound at all...
(see attached ZIP)
Another indication is, that I continue to hear the ATC sounds from the DeltaGlider the whole time (when not selecting another vessel).

Hope this helps,
Kuddel

EDIT: A work-around (for me) is to disable "Allow 3D Audio" in the SoundConfig...
EDIT-EDIT: Sorry, my work-around did not work ;) I am just still hearing the DeltaGliders engines, sorry.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

dansteph

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
789
Reaction score
57
Points
28
Website
orbiter.dansteph.com
I don't have any idea why what work for everyone fail in your case.

You don't use any Orbiter patch yes ? I see in log Orbiter version is 100830.

What might not be good is the "program files" folder which is doomed for file permission.
Try to copy your orbiter folder elsewhere (user directory) then run again the OrbiterSound
installer on this new folder, if not done give admin right to the installer.

Next eventually disable all other modules and check.

--------------------
Mhhhh.... thinking out loud.

That's strange... disabling 3D don't change at all the focus call order. So it really sound like a speaker config problem (I mean a 3D sound rendering problem of your system)
But that is not consistent with your focus problem... which is not consistent at all with ok status when 3D disabled.

Can you post the log when you disable 3D and load the welcome scenario ?

EDIT: anyway we'll work out that. FAQ or a little patch either it's good to solve every problem.
 
Last edited:
Top