Problem Orbiter crashing after second start

dundun92

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Points
18
Since I reinstalled Orbiter 2016, ive consistiently had an issue where after starting a 2nd mission, it would CTD about 95% of the time (occasionally it wouldnt, but very rare and even then it would likely crash on subsequent starts). Its fixable by simply exiting orbiter and rebooting it so its not a deal breaker or anything, but its still slightly annoying. Is this a common bug, or do I just need to reinstall Orbiter.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,865
Reaction score
1,530
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
What kind of settings do you have configured in Orbiters "Extra"-Tab, under the point "Debugging Options > Orbiter shutdown options?" Does respawning the Orbiter process fix your issues?
 

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
9,163
Reaction score
1,499
Points
203
Location
VA
Website
alteaaerospace.com
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
As a workaround, you could switch your Orbiter Shutdown Mode to "Respawn Orbiter process", which will exit orbiter.exe immediately and restart it every time you exit Orbiter. This is often faster than the "De-allocate memory and display launchpad dialog" option as well.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,843
Reaction score
360
Points
83
If you are developing an add-on you should set the shutdown option to "De-allocate memory and display launchpad dialog" however.
Just to make sure your add-on behaves like a good citizen. Memory- or other Resouce-Leaks should not be accepted - never.
 

n72.75

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,293
Reaction score
844
Points
128
Location
Biddeford ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Bonus points if you can figure out which addon it is.
 

dundun92

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2012
Messages
30
Reaction score
28
Points
18
As a workaround, you could switch your Orbiter Shutdown Mode to "Respawn Orbiter process", which will exit orbiter.exe immediately and restart it every time you exit Orbiter. This is often faster than the "De-allocate memory and display launchpad dialog" option as well.
Tried that and it did indeed work, and you are right, it is faster. Thanks!
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,843
Reaction score
360
Points
83
Bonus points if you can figure out which addon it is.
If you limit the addon count to a minimum numer which do not leak, than it' clear: It's your own -not yet ready- addon ;)
 
Top