• ORBITER-FORUM will be temporarily closed at 2020-09-23 08:00 UTC while we complete some OF maintenance tasks. The amount of downtime is expected to take up to one hour, but probably less.

New Orbiter SVN commit (r.71, Oct 14 2017)

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,893
Reaction score
9
Points
38
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
I'm no developer, so "mine" means Martin's, I guess.
It was a stock scenario, IIRC "Dg at brighton beach".
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
I'm pretty sure that

<<<<<<< .mine

isn't a vessel class name, but an SVN conflict flag :lol:
Did you get any conflict warnings during the SVN update? Look at the scenario you are trying to run. There will be one or several patterns like this:

<<<<<<< .mine
[some stuff]
========
[some other version of the same stuff]
>>>>>>> .SVN head revision

You will have to merge the two conflicting sections by hand and remove the conflict indicators. Some SVN-aware editors such as winmerge can make the task easier. Or if you simply want to discard your own modifications, you can delete the file and check it out again.

Edit: the other possibility is that I messed up my own local source repository, and submitted a corrupted file to the public repository. I'll check that out. Which scenario file is that?

Edit2:
It was a stock scenario, IIRC "Dg at brighton beach".
Sorry, missed that before. If it was Delta-glider\Brighton Beach.scn, then this looks ok here. It seems to run ok, so the conflict is probably on your side.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,893
Reaction score
9
Points
38
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Ok.
In fact I did have an SVN conflict, but only on current_scenario.scn...
I'm at work now, I'll be able to check later in the evening.

---------- Post added at 11:13 ---------- Previous post was at 11:10 ----------

...Or if you simply want to discard your own modifications...
I didn't make any.
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
Let me know what you find. If the problem arose in the [Current scenario] then that isn't unexpected. If it happened in the stock Delta-glider\Brighton Beach scenario, that would be a bit more worrying. To my knowledge, I haven't changed that file in a long time, so checking it out shouldn't cause a conflict, even if you modified it locally - it should just keep your local version. A conflict might indicate that something went wrong with the time stamps in the repository.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,893
Reaction score
9
Points
38
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Well now I'm home. Don't ask me how, but I've just rerun all the scenarios in stock Delta-glider\ folder (both inline and D3D9), and nothing crashed.
To add to that, I remembered that after the SVN conflict (but before the crashes), I've run "TortoiseSVN" -> "Clean up..."

Anyway, no crashes now, so...
:cheers:
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
Good news. It may be that the conflict just happened in the [Current state] scenario, and that got overwritten with a valid one now.

Usually my deployment script set the [Current state] scenario to a defined default one, but it looks like that didn't happen recently, and the scenario just contains whatever I run last myself. I may have to look at my scripts to fix that.
 

TCR_500

Developer of Solar Lander
Joined
Mar 3, 2009
Messages
580
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Website
www.tchapman500.com
Speaking of revision numbers, the title hasn't been updated to reflect the latest revision or the date of the revision.
 

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,922
Reaction score
46
Points
73
This is probably related to the terrain changes introduced for Orbiter 2016 and not necessarily any specific BETA, but I found that a VESSEL2-derived vessel, which calls VESSEL2::clbkSaveState( scn ); on exit, will sometimes output garbage into the POS, HEADING, ALT, etc scenario parameters, which then causes a CTD when reloading scenario.
Upgrading to VESSEL3 (both class and the call above) fixes the issue. If I keep the call to VESSEL2, the result isn't correct as I'll get latitude 0, and longitude equal to the heading.
So it looks like the VESSEL2 class doesn't like the terrain, or there's an error somewhere in it. Also of note, as it could be a factor, this happened in SSU's ET vessel, which is a child attachment to the main vessel, which itself is attached to another vessel, and it all is still (landed) on the ground.
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
542
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Location
Marooned In Brazil
Crashes on loading.

Hi Guys.

Can anyone help with my latest dilemma please.

Any installation from r65 onward crashes at Jupiter according to log.

r65 and below are fine............

PHP:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 27 2017 [v.170827]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Devices enumerated: 6
000000.000: Devices accepted: 5
000000.000: [ ] RGB Emulation (SW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (HW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000) (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000) (HW)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 170827, API 170827]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 170827, API 170827]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 170827, API 170827]
000000.000: Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 170827, API 170827]
000000.000: Module OrbiterSound.dll ...... [Build 121120, API 100830]
000000.000: Module LuaConsole.dll ........ [Build 170827, API 170827]
000000.000: Module ScriptMFD.dll ......... [Build 170827, API 170827]
000000.000: 
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: DirectDraw interface OK
000000.000: Direct3D interface OK
000000.000: Graphics: Viewport: Window 1594 x 871 x 32
000000.000: Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
000000.000: Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 32 bit
000000.000: Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
000000.000: Loading 15382 records from star database
000000.000: Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
000000.000: Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
000000.000: Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
000000.000: Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
000000.000: Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
000000.000: Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
000000.000: Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
 

asdad

Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
138
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
South of Tangerang
Are you sure GLS that warning is only in SSU fault ? BTW that warning i also got in default atlantis and sometimes CTD when i set time speed warp into 10000 or more
 

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,922
Reaction score
46
Points
73
Are you sure GLS that warning is only in SSU fault ? BTW that warning i also got in default atlantis and sometimes CTD when i set time speed warp into 10000 or more
Those warnings are the way Martin warns developers that they are using a function that will probaby be removed in a future Orbiter version, and a replacement already exists. Any crashes should not be related to those warnings.

Actually, looking a bit closer, none of those particular warnings are caused by SSU, but it still calls a few "old functions".
 

Face

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,111
Reaction score
43
Points
73
Location
Vienna
It has been suspended as much as it has been in the last 20 or so years of development.
 

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,922
Reaction score
46
Points
73
I'm "cross-posting" this here so it doesn't get forgotten:
OK, this one seems an Orbiter bug:
  • load a scenario with a "Context XYZ" entry
  • exit to the launch pad, but don't close it
  • load another scenario, this one without the "Context" entry
  • MOGE CTD, D3D9 loads as if "Context XYZ" was in the scenario

Nothing in the Orbiter.log, but the D3D9 log has several lines of
[ERROR] Base Object 0x253A460 = 'Zaragoza' not cataloged
for the "Context XYZ" surface bases.

Looks like something isn't being initialized between 2 runs in the same session.

BTW, running Orbiter 2016.
I haven't tried in Orbiter Beta, but the log doesn't suggest this has been fixed.
 
Top