New Orbiter SVN commit (r.71, Oct 14 2017)

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
5
Points
38
No worries. Glad 'could help.
 

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,876
Reaction score
11
Points
38
No issues so far in r85... :hailprobe:
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
No issues so far in r85... :hailprobe:
Good to know, given that I have rearranged my entire build setup underneath it. I didn't advertise this commit since it doesn't have much front-end changes (except the fix for the embarrassing matrix-vector bug ;)

Let me know if anything comes up.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
Does that have anything to do, with the rotation attachment problem ?
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,078
Reaction score
16
Points
38
Website
users.kymp.net
Does that have anything to do, with the rotation attachment problem ?
What problem ? If the problem is reproducable in D3D9 then, very likely no. We haven't used the mul() and all the math is done in the client side as far as I remember. But if you could describe the problem better with a screen shot, and if there is a code available that produces the problem that would be really helpfull. Does it occur with stock Atlantis ?
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,746
Reaction score
10
Points
38
What problem ? If the problem is reproducable in D3D9 then, very likely no. We haven't used the mul() and all the math is done in the client side as far as I remember. But if you could describe the problem better with a screen shot, and if there is a code available that produces the problem that would be really helpfull. Does it occur with stock Atlantis ?
Donamy is talking about this one: https://www.orbiter-forum.com/project.php?issueid=1324
 

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,876
Reaction score
11
Points
38
(not sure if these showed up on r85 or were present before)
I was just checking that the 3D terrain in Hyperion and Mercury worked (the .cfg files were changed), when I found a "pillar" in the terrain near the North Pole of Hyperion, similar to the ones I found in Madeira Island in a previous post. Checked the South Pole and it has a hole...

On to Mercury, and there is a tile elevation offset in the North Pole, similar to what happens on Earth's equator as reported in a previous post. Nothing obvious on the South Pole (can't tell much anyway :shrug:).
WARNING: memory usage goes thru the roof near the poles.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,746
Reaction score
10
Points
38
(not sure if these showed up on r85 or were present before)
I was just checking that the 3D terrain in Hyperion and Mercury worked (the .cfg files were changed), when I found a "pillar" in the terrain near the North Pole of Hyperion, similar to the ones I found in Madeira Island in a previous post. Checked the South Pole and it has a hole...

On to Mercury, and there is a tile elevation offset in the North Pole, similar to what happens on Earth's equator as reported in a previous post. Nothing obvious on the South Pole (can't tell much anyway :shrug:).
WARNING: memory usage goes thru the roof near the poles.
I wonder if all these terrain issues are related as with SSU with have this: https://www.orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?p=587506&postcount=5
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,078
Reaction score
16
Points
38
Website
users.kymp.net
I tried the scenario but I couldn't reproduce the issue. So, it's a slow constant drift and not a sudden jump ?

The problem could exists in the method used for the animations. Currently animation state is converted to a velocity (i.e. step over current frame) and then it's applied separately to visible animations and grapple points. That could cause the two, (three to be exact), parallel systems to drift overtime due to small errors. It's very hard to paint a "big picture" about all the systems that could contribute to these errors.

I looked at the code to see if it could be converted to use absolute position instead of velocity but quickly discovered a potintial showstopper with this code.

PHP:
if (trans->mesh == LOCALVERTEXLIST) { // transform a list of individual vertices
     VECTOR3 *vtx = (VECTOR3*)trans->grp;
     for (i = 0; i < trans->ngrp; i++) TransformPoint(vtx[i], T);
}
There is no info about original vertices just the previous frame.

Of course, one that might work on D3D9 is to use gcGetMatrix() call to get a matrix for a graple-point transformations. It should be possible to add the functionality also to DX7.
.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,755
Reaction score
3
Points
38
Location
Cape
It is desperately needed, in order to fly a ISS Assembly mission.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Good to know, given that I have rearranged my entire build setup underneath it. I didn't advertise this commit since it doesn't have much front-end changes (except the fix for the embarrassing matrix-vector bug ;)

Let me know if anything comes up.
I am trying to adopt D3D9Client, but I am not sure what .props-file I should use instead of the former orbiter.props.
The most luck I have when I use "VS2015\PropertyPages\orbiter_plugin.props",
but still at link-time a giant mess comes up ;) ...still working on that.

Could you explain the new structure of you property sheets?
a) was it reasonable to switch from "resources\Orbiter.props" to "VS2015\PropertyPages\orbiter_plugin.props" ?
b) Should we only take the .props-files from the PropertyPages directory?

---------- Post added at 19:43 ---------- Previous post was at 19:22 ----------

Update:
Debug-Build: Works with just changing to "VS2015\PropertyPages\orbiter_plugin.props"
Release-Build: Still fails linking (I think a standard library is missing...)
...hold the line...

---------- Post added at 19:51 ---------- Previous post was at 19:43 ----------

2nd update:
The inherited value of %(IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries) made the release-build fail.
So when the build configuration doesn't inherit Link->IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries (rendering it's value empty on RELEASE) it works.

Ah... and by the way: it seems that all the macros like $(SDKLibDir) have been split into two versions: $(SrcSdkLibDir) and $(BuildSdkLibDir), right?
From a quick look at them they are all the same for us (non-orbiter-core-)developers, right? So it's up to us whether we choose one or the other?

---------- Post added at 22:26 ---------- Previous post was at 19:51 ----------

Here's my old-to-new migration table. I think I didn't miss any.
[TABLE=head]Old (< r85)|New (>= r85)| alternative [*]
$(OrbiterDir) | $(SrcDir)
$(DeployDir) | $(SrcDir) | $(BuildDir)
$(BuildDir) | $(BuildDir)
$(ModuleDir) | $(BuildModuleDir)
$(MeshDir) | $(BuildMeshDir)
$(ConfigDir) | $(SrcConfigDir) | $(BuildConfigDir)
$(ScenarioDir) | $(BuildScenarioDir)
$(SDKDir) | $(SrcSdkDir) | $(BuildSdkDir)
$(SDKIncludeDir) | $(SrcSdkIncludeDir) | $(BuildSdkIncludeDir)
$(SDKLibDir) | $(SrcSdkLibDir)
$(SDKSampleDir) | $(SrcSdkSampleDir)
[/TABLE]


[*] using $(Src...) for input operations and $(Build...) for output operations.


And I think we should never use $(RootDir) as it would not work if one decided to give orbiter development a complete drive (".." from "D:\" will not get me anywhere ;) )
 
Last edited:

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
I am trying to adopt D3D9Client, but I am not sure what .props-file I should use instead of the former orbiter.props.
The most luck I have when I use "VS2015\PropertyPages\orbiter_plugin.props",
but still at link-time a giant mess comes up ;) ...still working on that.

Could you explain the new structure of you property sheets?
a) was it reasonable to switch from "resources\Orbiter.props" to "VS2015\PropertyPages\orbiter_plugin.props" ?
b) Should we only take the .props-files from the PropertyPages directory?
To be honest, the main reason for the change was to make my life easier by unifying the build systems for the Orbiter core and Orbiter SDK samples. So essentially all I did was to copy the property pages from the core build system into Orbitersdk and checking that the samples still compile. Hence also the distinction between the "Src" and "Build" directories. For the SDK samples, those will nornally be the same as you say, although technically, you should be able to move the entire Orbitersdk subdirectory to an arbitrary place and still be able to compile everything to their proper target locations by modifying the SrcDir and BuildDir locations in orbiter.props accordingly. So in summary:

a) the build setup is now a bit easier for me (although in hindsight, restructuring the build system may have been more hassle than it was worth), but it could have added a bit of inconvenience to users who had already incorporated the previous structure into their own build mechanism - sorry for that!

b) yes.

Update:
Debug-Build: Works with just changing to "VS2015\PropertyPages\orbiter_plugin.props"
Release-Build: Still fails linking (I think a standard library is missing...)
...hold the line...


2nd update:
The inherited value of %(IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries) made the release-build fail.
So when the build configuration doesn't inherit Link->IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries (rendering it's value empty on RELEASE) it works.
Interesting. I don't even know where the %(IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries) is populated from. Is this an environment variable? What value does it have in your case? So just to confirm: removing %(IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries) from the <IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries> entry in orbiter_module.props (but leaving LIBCMT in) makes it work?
Ah... and by the way: it seems that all the macros like $(SDKLibDir) have been split into two versions: $(SrcSdkLibDir) and $(BuildSdkLibDir), right?
From a quick look at them they are all the same for us (non-orbiter-core-)developers, right? So it's up to us whether we choose one or the other?
Yes, see above.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
5
Points
38
So just to confirm: removing %(IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries) from the <IgnoreSpecificDefaultLibraries> entry in orbiter_module.props (but leaving LIBCMT in) makes it work?
No, don't change orbiter_module.props! I would never have touched any of the files from the orbiter package :thumbup:
That sheet works fine for debug-builds (where LIBCMT should be omitted)
but fails to link during release-builds.
I just changed the setting in our project file (kind of override).

Why our release-build needs LIBCMT and our debug-build doesn't is a -to be honest- an phenomenon I have not (yet) understood.
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
6
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
I don't know if anyone has already mentioned this, but... where is the PWR button on VC?
Ah yes, this is a bit of a design flaw. We have already complained a few times to the British manufacturer, but they are citing Brexit uncertainties for glitches in their manufacturing process. I quote: "No deal, no more power buttons" ...
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Issue with BETA r87

I've noticed an issue with r86 (and r87 as well). The body-force-vectors (torque in particular) is/are displayed oddly...
I've checked r86 and r87, but it could have been in there before...
 

Attachments

Last edited:

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,876
Reaction score
11
Points
38
I've noticed an issue with r86 (and r87 ass well). The body-force-vectors (torque in particular) is/are displayed oddly...
I've checked r86 and r87, but it could have been in there before...
I see the same with r85.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,884
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Rev. 90 crashes upon start with this log (both d3d9 and d3d7):

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Sep 14 2019 [v.190914]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-07 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: [ ] RGB Emulation (SW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (HW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970) (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970) (HW)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module ExtMFD.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: 
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: DirectDraw interface OK
000000.000: Direct3D interface OK
000000.000: Graphics: Viewport: Fullscreen 1920 x 1080 x 32
000000.000: Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
000000.000: Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 32 bit
000000.000: Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
000000.000: Loading 15382 records from star database
000000.000: Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1.0e-06, Terms 554/6634
000000.000: Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1.0e-05, Terms 167/7123
000000.000: Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1.0e-05, Terms 79/1710
000000.000: Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1.0e-08, Terms 2564/2564
000000.000: Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: ELP82: Precision 1.0e-05, Terms 116/829
000000.000: Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1.0e-05, Terms 405/6400
000000.000: Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1.0e-06, Terms 1624/3625
000000.000: Module Io.dll ................ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1.0e-06, Terms 2904/6365
000000.000: Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
000000.000: Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
000000.000: Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
000000.000: Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
000000.000: Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
000000.000: Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
000000.000: Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
000000.000: Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1.0e-06, Terms 1827/5269
000000.000: Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1.0e-06, Terms 391/2024
000000.000: Finished initialising world
000000.000: Module DeltaGlider.dll ....... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module LuaInline.dll ......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: Module ShuttleA.dll .......... [Build 190914, API 190914]
000000.000: >>> ERROR: No vessel class configuration file found for:
000000.000: ============================ ERROR: ===========================
000000.000: <<<<<<< .mine
000000.000: [Vessel::OpenConfigFile | ..\Vessel.cpp | 243]
000000.000: ===============================================================
000000.000: >>> TERMINATING <<<
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,465
Reaction score
5
Points
38
Rev. 90 crashes upon start with this log (both d3d9 and d3d7):

Code:
...
000000.000: >>> ERROR: No vessel class configuration file found for:
000000.000: ============================ ERROR: ===========================
000000.000: <<<<<<< .mine
000000.000: [Vessel::OpenConfigFile | ..\Vessel.cpp | 243]
000000.000: ===============================================================
000000.000: >>> TERMINATING <<<
Is ".mine" yours? I mean you might have to try a stock scenario first. And possibly re-compile the ship (.mine) against the r90 libraries/headers.
The r90 works fine here, so it's not a general issue as far as I can say.
 
Top