General Question Making a ship model, how to attain .msh from .skp? (SOLVED)

iamwearingpants

Just an Earth-bound misfit, I
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
610
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Napping in a precariously small box
I made a simple personal ship, but I need to know how to turn my sketchup model into a .msh file. I've modeled it, but all I need is to find a way to convert.
I don't have 3DS Max.
 
Last edited:

iamwearingpants

Just an Earth-bound misfit, I
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
610
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Napping in a precariously small box
I think I've solved it. I opened it in blender, and was able to turn it into a .msh using Mshmaker.
All that remains is making a config file, I'll just use the shuttle pb's.

I was writing a post before while solving, but Orbiter locked the computer and I had to restart. And then I had to go somewhere.

And the pic, I attached it. It's my first thing I modeled, really, but it works for now.
 

Attachments

  • PS-1.png
    PS-1.png
    41 KB · Views: 21

Eli13

Fish Dreamer
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
1,562
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Somewhere, TN
cool. you should put it as an add-on. I'd be willing to try it out myself.
 

iamwearingpants

Just an Earth-bound misfit, I
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
610
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Napping in a precariously small box
It turns out the mesh STILL was giving me problems.
orbiterlog.txt says:
Code:
**** Creating simulation session
DirectDraw interface OK
Direct3D interface OK
Zbuffer: 32 bit
Stencil buffer: 8 bit
Render device: Fullscreen 1280 x 1024
Device has no hardware T&L capability
Joystick throttle: Z-AXIS
Joystick throttle control detected
Module Sun.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
Module Moon.dll [API v.041022]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
Module Mars.dll [API v.060425]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Phobos.dll [API v.060425]
Module Deimos.dll [API v.060425]
Module Galsat.dll [API v.041022]
Module Jupiter.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll [API v.041022]
Module Europa.dll [API v.041022]
Module Ganymede.dll [API v.041022]
Module Callisto.dll [API v.041022]
Module Satsat.dll [API v.050206]
Module Saturn.dll [API v.060425]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-008, Terms 6365/6365
Module Mimas.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Hyperion.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Hyperion: Terms 595
Module Iapetus.dll [API v.050206]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Janus.dll [API v.060425]
Module Epimetheus.dll [API v.060425]
Module Helene.dll [API v.060425]
Module Telesto.dll [API v.060425]
Module Calypso.dll [API v.060425]
Module Polydeuces.dll [API v.060425]
Module Uranus.dll [API v.050206]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-008, Terms 5269/5269
Module Miranda.dll [API v.060425]
Module Ariel.dll [API v.060425]
Module Umbriel.dll [API v.060425]
Module Titania.dll [API v.060425]
Module Oberon.dll [API v.060425]
Finished initialising world
Module DeltaGlider.dll [API v.060425]
Module ShuttleA.dll [API v.060425]
Module spacecraft3.dll [API v.060425]
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\PS1.msh
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
Finished initialising panels
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: orulex\orangesoil.dds
>>>        [C:\Source\Orbiter\Texture.cpp / 781]
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: orulex\tree.dds
>>>        [C:\Source\Orbiter\Texture.cpp / 781]
Finished setting up render state
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\.msh

Also, my .ini file.

Code:
MESHNAME="PS1"
SIZE=7
EMPTY_MASS=1500
FUEL_MASS=2000
MAIN_THRUST=40000
MAIN_TEX=LLRVexe
MAIN_PSTREAM1=1
HOVER_THRUST=25000
HOVER_TEX=LLRVEXE
HOVER_PSTREAM1=2
ATTITUDE_THRUST=300
ISP_50
COG_3

Well, time to sleep. :zzz:
 

liber

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
950
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Room
Website
www.bw.org
Look like one texture from orulex is missing.
Do you making for spacecraft3 module or?
Try this it's for spacecraft3,so your ini file must have .ini file not .cfg

So this save as: (name).ini (exp: PS1.ini)
And put it in spacecraft direcory.

Code:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME=PS1
SIZE=7
EMPTY_MASS=1500
FUEL_MASS=2000
MAIN_THRUST=40000
RETRO_THRUST=0
HOVER_THRUST=0
ATTITUDE_THRUST=300
ISP=50
TRIM=0.05
PITCH_MOMENT_SCALE=0.00001
BANK_MOMENT_SCALE=0.00002
ROT_DRAG=(0.43,0.43,0.29)
COG=3
WING_ASPECT=0.7
WING_EFFECTIVENESS=2.5


And this save as PS1.cfg and put into Vessels directory.

Code:
; === Configuration file for vessel class PS1 ===
ClassName = PS1
MeshName = PS1
Size = 7

Mass = 1500 ; empty mass [kg]
MaxFuel = 2000  ; max fuel mass [kg]
Isp = 50        ; fuel specific impulse [m/s]

MaxMainThrust = 40000
MaxRetroThrust = 0
MaxHoverThrust = 0
MaxAttitudeThrust = 300
COG_OverGround = 3
LiftFactor = 0.0
RotResistance = 0.43 0.43 0.43

Only one is enought depend what you want spacecraft or orbiter default vessels config.
and you need to make proper scenario file to start it.
 

iamwearingpants

Just an Earth-bound misfit, I
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
610
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Napping in a precariously small box
Look like one texture from orulex is missing.
Do you making for spacecraft3 module or?
Try this it's for spacecraft3,so your ini file must have .ini file not .cfg

So this save as: (name).ini (exp: PS1.ini)
And put it in spacecraft direcory.

Code:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME=PS1
SIZE=7
EMPTY_MASS=1500
FUEL_MASS=2000
MAIN_THRUST=40000
RETRO_THRUST=0
HOVER_THRUST=0
ATTITUDE_THRUST=300
ISP=50
TRIM=0.05
PITCH_MOMENT_SCALE=0.00001
BANK_MOMENT_SCALE=0.00002
ROT_DRAG=(0.43,0.43,0.29)
COG=3
WING_ASPECT=0.7
WING_EFFECTIVENESS=2.5


And this save as PS1.cfg and put into Vessels directory.

Code:
; === Configuration file for vessel class PS1 ===
ClassName = PS1
MeshName = PS1
Size = 7

Mass = 1500 ; empty mass [kg]
MaxFuel = 2000  ; max fuel mass [kg]
Isp = 50        ; fuel specific impulse [m/s]

MaxMainThrust = 40000
MaxRetroThrust = 0
MaxHoverThrust = 0
MaxAttitudeThrust = 300
COG_OverGround = 3
LiftFactor = 0.0
RotResistance = 0.43 0.43 0.43

Only one is enought depend what you want spacecraft or orbiter default vessels config.
and you need to make proper scenario file to start it.

I'm using spacecraft 3, and it flies nice.
I used the PB model for it, and it flew.
But the only problem I'm having is the model.
It says **** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\.msh
I made it in sketchup, got it in blender, and then saved it as a .3ds.
Then I used both Mshmaker and 3ds2msh to convert it, but the model still crashes orbiter. Don't know what I'm doing wrong :idk:
 

liber

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
950
Reaction score
2
Points
18
Location
Room
Website
www.bw.org
Well than only possible is that you did not put mesh in Meshes directory? :)
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,485
Reaction score
209
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
I'm confused here. If you are using sc3 you can't have a class name of PS1

Can you please explain exactly what you are attempting to do? Libers config looks fine but your comment of sc3 confuses things.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,917
Reaction score
211
Points
138
Location
Cape
Try this as the .ini file

Code:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME=PS1
SIZE=7
EMPTY_MASS=1500
FUEL_MASS=2000
MAIN_THRUST=40000
RETRO_THRUST=0
HOVER_THRUST=0
ATTITUDE_THRUST=300
ISP=50

the other stuff are outdated functions.
 

iamwearingpants

Just an Earth-bound misfit, I
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
610
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Napping in a precariously small box
Is it normal to have a mesh file that's 45 bytes? It sounds way too small.

Edit: I found the problem. Blender isn't exporting properly. I need another way get a 3ds file.
 
Last edited:

iamwearingpants

Just an Earth-bound misfit, I
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
610
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Napping in a precariously small box
You have plugin for Anim8or to conver 3ds to mesh,import 3ds file to Anim8or and than convert to mesh.


Anim8or: http://www.anim8or.com/download/index.html

Plugin: http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=2698

The problem is when blender exports my model to a .3ds file, it does it wrong, and gives an error. Then the messed up .msh crashes orbiter. So, is there a program that can take a .dae file (from Sketchup) and turn it into a .3ds?

Or easier, is there a way to get a sketchup model into Anim8or?

I already have a way to make the mesh, but thanks anyway. :)
 
Top