Problem DRD9 Antialiasing setting

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,082
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Location
Milan
I have installed what I believe is the latest version (D3D9Client2016-R2) in two different Orbiter2016 installs. The problem is in one of them I am unable to use the "Antialias" function in the Video/advanced menu, the related button does not work and also looks disabled. On the second Orbiter install it does work though...
Antialias.jpg

Any suggestion?

Thanks
 

turtle91

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I have this issue even in Orbiter 2010.
At least when using full-screen-mode.
If I want AA in Orbiter-fullscreen, I used my graphics-card-config-utility to setup-up AA.
This worked for me. (tested with ATI/AMD and NVIDIA)
However, the D3D9-AA-button should be active if using any of the 2 non-"real"-full-screen-modes.
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,082
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Location
Milan
Thanks,
as you said the AA is inhibited in Full Screen mode but it works in full screen window mode.
I wonder if this is a GC issue and if the y will fix it
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,487
Reaction score
19
Points
38
On the second Orbiter install it does work though...
That's strange. Assuming that those two installations are (more or less) equal.

Could you try to "re enumerate devices"?
I think you have to therefore start Orbiter.exe (not Orbiter_NG.exe!) once on both installations and make sure that "Always enumerate devices" is checked (see Attachment).

After "re enumerate devices" ran on both installations you might get equal results on both Orbiter_NG runs...
 

Attachments

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
Anti-aliasing is disabled if a "True fullscreen" mode is selected or a backbuffer "GDI compatibility" mode is enabled.

This is because the true full screen mode cannot handle AA at the same time with dialog boxes open on a screen, also a GDI compatible backbuffer doesn't support AA.

Of course, the AA can be forced from a driver control center, since the driver can do things that the DirectX can't.
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,082
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Location
Milan
That's strange. Assuming that those two installations are (more or less) equal.

Could you try to "re enumerate devices"?
I think you have to therefore start Orbiter.exe (not Orbiter_NG.exe!) once on both installations and make sure that "Always enumerate devices" is checked (see Attachment).

After "re enumerate devices" ran on both installations you might get equal results on both Orbiter_NG runs...
Thanks for the tip, but actually the reason was only one of the two installs was running on Full Screen Mode, hence AA not available (for the reason stated above by Jarmonik)
 
Top