New Release D3D9Client Development

Izack

Non sequitur
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
6,667
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
The Wilderness, N.B.
I'm unable to activate the D3D9client module in the Modules tab using . It tells me:

There is no log, because the client does nothing. :shrug:

Both RC30 and 29 do this.
 

Attachments

Astronut25

New member
Joined
Nov 17, 2009
Messages
102
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Out there
Hello everyone, :tiphat:

I've just got to say what an increadible job you are doing.

11.07.23 16-18-17 ISS.jpg

Here is a couple bugs I've noticed, they aren't in the list so here they are. Any one else notice these?

the "Albeto" settings doesnt do anything to affect the planets' appearance.
(example: Mercury)
Albeto.jpg

In the "LSTS" addon, the HUD and MFDs are animated to move out of the way, but in DX9, the mesh groups move, but the MFDs and HUD don't.
DX7 | DX9
11.08.11 19-40-04 LSTS2012.jpg 11.08.11 19-45-00 LSTS2012.jpg
If I try to load a scenario in the VC of an SC3 craft, i get a CTD.

Anyone else notice that RC19 had support for lvl 14 planet textures
11.08.11 20-43-10 GL-01.jpg

One more thing, I cant get 3d to work anymore, so I reloaded previous DX9 RCs and noticed that somewhere around RC12 it stopped working.
 

Izack

Non sequitur
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
6,667
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
The Wilderness, N.B.

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
That part ? There's a warning near the end :
Does it fix the CTD if you check the "Start Paused" from the top-right corner of the launchpad ?

Does the CTD occur in Windowed and Fullscreen modes ?

Also, Where does the CTD occur ? Is it D3D9Client.dll or Orbiter.exe ?

---------- Post added at 16:35 ---------- Previous post was at 16:29 ----------

Anyone else notice that RC19 had support for lvl 14 planet textures
Had a support ? RC30 should still have it. Is anyone else having this problem ?

One more thing, I cant get 3d to work anymore, so I reloaded previous DX9 RCs and noticed that somewhere around RC12 it stopped working.
You mean stereoscopic 3D. It won't work in windowed modes so, does it work if you uncheck the "Full Screen Window" from the Video Tab ?

---------- Post added at 16:39 ---------- Previous post was at 16:35 ----------

Hi jarmonik,this is a weird question. I am using your D3d9RC29 client with artlavs volcano module addon,and computerx Thrusterlights addon,and noticed when turning on artlavs volcano vent module to simulate Lox venting the thrusterlights come on,but this does not happen with regular orbiter graphics,has something to do with local light sources, I imagine.is there a fix for this?or just out of curiosity why would this be happening?Thanks
I have no idea what's going on. D3D9Client doesn't create any light sources by it-self.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,856
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Toulouse
Does it fix the CTD if you check the "Start Paused" from the top-right corner of the launchpad ?
Yes, it does ! :thumbup:

Does the CTD occur in Windowed and Fullscreen modes ?
Yes, the CTD occur in both modes, no difference.

Also, Where does the CTD occur ? Is it D3D9Client.dll or Orbiter.exe ?
Well, I don't know, but the Orbiter.log seems pretty clean to me :

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Aug 30 2010 [v.100830]
Timer precision: 3.43296e-010 sec
Found 1 joystick(s)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module transx.dll ............ [Build 100824, API 100823]
Module CustomMFD.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module LuaMFD.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module LuaConsole.dll ........ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module ScriptMFD.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module ExtMFD.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module FlightData.dll ........ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module Framerate.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module Rcontrol.dll .......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 110811, API 101016]
D3D9Client: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
Module ScreenCapture.dll ..... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module StateSaver.dll ........ [Build 100929, API 100830]
Module LunarTransferMFD.dll .. [Build 100621, API 100603]
Module AutoRudder.dll ........ [Build 101208, API 100830]

**** Creating simulation session
D3D9Client: [3DDevice Initialized]
D3D9Client: [Loading Stars]
D3D9Client: [Loading Constellations]
D3D9Client: [D3D9Client Initialized]
Joystick throttle: SLIDER 0
Joystick throttle control detected
Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll ................ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
Finished initialising world
Module Sigma_Stg2.dll ........ [Build 110812, API 100830]
Module Sigma_Stg1.dll ........ [Build 110812, API 100830]
Module Atlantis_SRB.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
Finished initialising panels
Finished setting up render state
D3D9Client: [Scene Initialized]
On a very positive note, my FPS also boosts up to 400 FPS with RC30. Excellent work !

Edit : putting every option of my NV GT210 on, I can get back to 30 FPS when staring at the SRBs long-lived particle streams. Else, I get a comfortable 80-100 FPS, and of course the image quality is nicely improved. At least the graphic card does what it was paid for !!
 
Last edited:

diogom

Survivor of 21/10/2011
Joined
Aug 2, 2010
Messages
1,157
Reaction score
0
Points
0
It asks me, where do I want to put the files ?

Where would that be ?
Create a folder and put them in it. Then search the files in said folder for a setup file.

EDIT: :ninja:'d
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,758
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Cape
Create a folder and put them in it. Then search the files in said folder for a setup file.

EDIT: :ninja:'d
Duh ! I should have known that. must be senility setting in.:blink:
 

Mandella

Space Cultist
Donator
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
368
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Getting a texture problem with RC30 and AMSO Apollo 8.



Not all hair is affected. Here is the astronaut sitting next to him.



I don't have time today to check and see if there is a problem with all AMSO.

Running a Nividia GX 8800 at 1600 x 900. Running in regular client looks fine.
 
Last edited:

luki1997a

New member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
314
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Biłgoraj
Thanks for RC30:thumbup:
I've recorded a video showing normal mapping in action:

I could create better normal maps for DG editing the orb's ones(if you'll allow me orb;)).
 

orb

O-F Administrator,
Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,023
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I could create better normal maps for DG editing the orb's ones(if you'll allow me orb;)).
If you really want to edit these test only normal maps, then go ahead. But I'm making new ones, and this time not by simply applying a filter to the texture, but by making the texture from scratch (like I've written there).
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
D3D9ClientRC31

Here is RC31.

- Startup CTD should be fixed. (Testing required)
- AMSO Texture issue is fixed
- Ctrl-P Pause bug is fixed.
- MFD screen/HUD animation transformation implemented.
- Local light sources now effects in Normal Maps.
- Supported and recommended formats for normal maps are R8G8B8, V8U8, DXT5nm. (CxV8U8, L8A8 are unsupported) (nVidia texture tools can produce V8U8 format)

Note: D3D9ClientNrm shader set is no longer used. That folder should be removed.

Attachment removed
 
Last edited:

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,856
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Toulouse
The CTD bug at startup is fixed. :thumbup:

But now, meshes that are untextured are invisible, as shown below (all the visible parts are textured). The model was made with Anim8tor. :hmm:



(I precise it was working with RC30 and all previous releases...)
 
Last edited:

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
31
Points
123
The CTD bug at startup is fixed. :thumbup:

But now, meshes that are untextured are invisible, as shown below (all the visible parts are textured). The model was made with Anim8tor. :hmm:
That happens when D3D9Client can't find the textures. Check the paths to the textures in the msh files.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,856
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Toulouse
There's no problem with the textured meshes. Only with untextured ones.
 

jarmonik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
61
Points
48
Website
users.kymp.net
There's no problem with the textured meshes. Only with untextured ones.
I made some changes into a code section that could cause a bug like that.

Does the "EnableNormalMapping" parameter have any effect ?
Is the "ShaderFolder" parameter set to "D3D9Client" ?
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,856
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Toulouse
Does the "EnableNormalMapping" parameter have any effect ?
No, it was 1 by default in the .cfg file, I set it to 0, no changes noticed, same issue.

Is the "ShaderFolder" parameter set to "D3D9Client" ?
Yes, I didn't touched that.
 
Top