News Add-ons working in Orbiter 2016

Floater

New member
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
WolfAngriff, I had the same problem - try to install "ModuleMessagingExt" from here: [ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=6889"]ModuleMessagingExt[/ame] (there are other versions also available, but I linked the one which solved the problem for me)

---------- Post added 09-15-16 at 10:57 AM ---------- Previous post was 09-14-16 at 09:14 PM ----------

Awaiting the answer from Wolf I've made some thought though: before the UMMU is brought back to life, we are - in fact - playing only half of the Orbiter :p

I mean: the rest of you... I'm playing 1/3 because I'm also waiting for IMS from jedidia
:thumbup:
 

Floater

New member
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Maybe...

To be precise: Firstly I've installed ModuleMessageExt which was signed as Orbiter 2016 version, probably downloaded from here: [ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=6966"]ModuleMessagingExt for Orbiter 2016[/ame] (along with its prerequisite VS2015), but it didn't worked (I've experienced the same Orbiters behaviour as Wolf, when tried to run BurnTimeCalcMFD or BaseSyncMFD).

Later I've overwritten the Messaging by the version which I've linked in the previous post and MFD's started to work.


------------
Once and for all:

Sorry...
For My...
English... ;)
 

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,662
Reaction score
4
Points
38
Location
Hildesheim, Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de
This is very weird indeed. Hopefully Andrew's static linking initiative will solve some of this mess...
Too bad that we hadn't got it solved before Orbiter 2016 release date.
 

Cizurator

Whooooosh!
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
308
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Velke Hamry, Czech Republic
Krayniy Airport seems to work very well, since it's located in a perfectly flat area :)
[ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=5303"]Krayniy Airport v1.1[/ame]
 

WolfAngriff

New member
Joined
Nov 9, 2013
Messages
27
Reaction score
1
Points
1
Hi Floater, thanx for your answer.

Bad english and not enough attention given to forum threads are the orbinauts enemies ! I thought ModuleMessagingExt was created to enable communication between left and right MFD. It's required for Launch MFD and others i don't use, i've missed something... Thanx for the advice, i'll look at that this week-end, too tired to make something good with Orbiter this evening.

Nothing to do with that, but i see nearly all the orbiter's Stars are here. It looks like the Golden Probe Awards ! Well, i simply wanted to thank Mr Cizurator for his rockets and mods, i've spent many many hours playing with the TPACCA and Firebird rockets (and have broken many many rockets and deliciously expensive payloads with wonderful CTDs), i've learned a lot with them, and even tried (for myself only, don't worry !) to build a MS2015 TRASSA version. Hope i would be able to achieve this exercize with Orbiter 2016. So thank you sir, and of course, one more time, thanx to all the orbiter community !
 

AssemblyLanguage

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jun 10, 2012
Messages
112
Reaction score
0
Points
0
SensorMFD works

---------- Post added 09-16-16 at 01:04 AM ---------- Previous post was 09-15-16 at 11:54 PM ----------

Auto Rudder works at least for the Shuttle Atlantis. The module version I tested is dated 12/‎8/‎2010 ‏‎1:02 AM. I can't find it in Orbiter Hanger Mods.

I vaguely recall that there were two versions. One had function keys to turn it on and off. The one I tested is on all the time.
 

JonnyBGoode

Sky Marshal
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
668
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Bakersfield, CA
Sadly, Kulch's TX doesn't work. I fear the rest of his addons probably will suffer a similar fate.

---------- Post added 09-16-16 at 12:24 AM ---------- Previous post was 09-15-16 at 11:13 PM ----------

Map 3D MFD v0.7a seems to be working for me, though I'm not that familiar with it...
[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=3992"]Map 3D MFD v0.7a[/ame]

---------- Post added at 01:14 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:24 AM ----------

Stanford Torus works!
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,566
Reaction score
80
Points
138
Location
Wolfsburg
UCGO seems to work. I nstalled the Ummu and UCGO 3.0. Ran a scenario got a instant CTD:( But I deleted the UMMU.dll and I can load cargo onto the LER. Not sure I can suggest anyone else does it though
I still had to remove UMMU, UCGO and OrbiterSound temporarily from my add-on projects, because all appear to be not compatible to the Visual C++ 2015 run-time library.

The _sscanf function is no longer part of it, but maybe wrapping the existing functions into a compatible function helps.
 

JonnyBGoode

Sky Marshal
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
668
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Bakersfield, CA
Adding to the Big Dumb Rocks department, [ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=1801"]Asteroid Pack 1.00[/ame] is working...

---------- Post added at 02:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:23 AM ----------

[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=2982"]Hubble Space Telescope v2.0 (servicable)[/ame] *almost* works, but the "STS-61 HST operations" scenario CTDs. I think it could be easily fixed though...

---------- Post added at 10:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:36 AM ----------

More "big dumb rocks" working in 2016:

[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=1343"]Eris and Dysnomia[/ame]
[ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=1282"]Orcus[/ame]
[ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=4826"]2006 SQ372[/ame]
[ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=3364"]Haumea (2003 EL61) v2.0[/ame]
 

Floater

New member
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Adding to the Big Dumb Rocks department, Asteroid Pack 1.00 is working...
Hmm... So, why the Phobos is not ??

Landing on it was the first thing I have made after downloading v2016 (of course) and my DG-IV experienced collision with the Phobos Magical Sphere, preceded by altitude sound reports completely inconsistent with altimeter readings.
 

dseagrav

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
117
Reaction score
0
Points
0
At least NASSP is open source. You could try to recompile it for the new SDK, perhaps it is just a binary incompatibility problem.
No, it's complicated, but we're publishing betas for 2016 now and it's a feature scheduled for the next major release. I posted a thread in addons with the details.

There sure is a lot of hostility toward developers here; Not everyone can afford to put their entire life on hold to immediately update when new releases happen, and releasing a package does not create an obligation of indefinite support. Things happen. I nearly died a few years ago, and none of you would probably found out if I had. You'd just grumble about how "dseagrav doesn't care anymore" and "dseagrav is just lazy". Lives change and time goes on. Instead of griping, contribute!
 

Treetop64

New member
Joined
Feb 12, 2015
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Redwood City
There sure is a lot of hostility toward developers here; Not everyone can afford to put their entire life on hold to immediately update when new releases happen, and releasing a package does not create an obligation of indefinite support. Things happen. I nearly died a few years ago, and none of you would probably found out if I had. You'd just grumble about how "dseagrav doesn't care anymore" and "dseagrav is just lazy". Lives change and time goes on. Instead of griping, contribute!

That has increasingly become contemporary online behavior recently.

If certain individuals don't get exactly what they want and precisely when they want it, while contributing nothing in return, they will immediately lambaste whoever they deem responsible. You often see this sort of thing in online gaming communities in particular.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
2,965
Reaction score
81
Points
48
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
You see that everywhere, it's a cultural thing.

In part its some sort of Eternal Childhood syndrome ("I want ice-cream now!").

But it's also a reflex of being online all the time. People write whatever comes to their minds at the moment, with little thinking.
 

dseagrav

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
117
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Well, at least I am glad you didn't die. :thumbup:
Not as glad as I am, lol

If certain individuals don't get exactly what they want and precisely when they want it, while contributing nothing in return, they will immediately lambaste whoever they deem responsible.
I have never understood this sense of entitlement and I doubt I ever will. Many seem to believe it is an inverse function of age, but I don't think this is accurate - To me it seems the further one is removed from work the more entitled to its output they feel.
 

jroly

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
403
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I have never understood this sense of entitlement and I doubt I ever will. Many seem to believe it is an inverse function of age, but I don't think this is accurate - To me it seems the further one is removed from work the more entitled to its output they feel.
It's a bit like feeding wild birds, you feed them couple of times and then you have to keep feeding them or they get pissed off.
 

JonnyBGoode

Sky Marshal
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
668
Reaction score
10
Points
18
Location
Bakersfield, CA
Hmm... So, why the Phobos is not ??

Landing on it was the first thing I have made after downloading v2016 (of course) and my DG-IV experienced collision with the Phobos Magical Sphere, preceded by altitude sound reports completely inconsistent with altimeter readings.
I posted these addons as "working", meaning they showed up in Orbiter and didn't CTD. I didn't actually try landing on any of them, however. If any of them are quirky, let me know.

---------- Post added at 03:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:25 PM ----------

Regarding the pissy attitudes and complaining: For crying out loud, the new version JUST CAME OUT! It takes time to upgrade addons to work with the new version. Some never will. I'd still love for TTM24 or Vespucci to work once again. They never will, likely. I'm not going to pitch a tantrum over it; I graduated to big boy pants a long time ago.
 

Floater

New member
Joined
Apr 26, 2015
Messages
17
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I didn't actually try landing on any of them, however
And it is not necessary to do it know, I think I have just discovered what is happening.

I've tried both: stock Delta Glider (very nice cockpit in 2016) and DG-Mk-IV in Valles Marineris just a moment ago.
It seems that there is problem with Orbiter Sound: it always gets planets Magic Sphere as a reference. DG-Mk-IV seems to also rely on it, when it is detecting collision.

So for now: Mk-IV is operable in high mountain area only :sweet:

1. This BUG is probably invisible, when operating on Earth - at least unless someone is trying to dive in the ocean...
2. This BUG is likely to be corrected fairly quickly, because Orbiter Sound is being rewritten (if I understood it correctly)
 
Top