General Question VESSEL and MFD in a single project?

wingnut

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
OrbiterSDK and Visual Studio newbie here :hello:

I want to implement an MFD that works only with a sub-class of VESSEL3 that I also want to implement myself.

For this there are currently two projects in my Visual Studio Express 2010:
  • the implementation of my vessel base class (AVTVessel) which extends VESSEL3
  • the implementation of my MFD (AVTMFD) that should only work for vessels which are sub-classes of the AVTVessel class

How do I have to setup my projects so that the MFD can cast the vessel instance to my AVTVessel base class?
I added AVTVessel.h to the MFD project and included it in the MFD's .cpp file but the file cannot be found.

Can I do both the vessel and MFD implementation in the very same Visual Studio project or do they need to be separate projects?

Are there any addons which do this and could be studied?

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
I added AVTVessel.h to the MFD project and included it in the MFD's .cpp file but the file cannot be found.

Remember to also have the folder of the AVTVessel.h as additional include path in your MFDs project settings. Just adding the .h file is enough for the editor, but not for the compiler.

The compiler searches your header file when you include it in the include directories or relative to the current folder.

#include <file> uses the include directories
#include "file" searches relative to the current file.

wingnut

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
The compiler searches your header file when you include it in the include directories or relative to the current folder.

#include <file> uses the include directories
#include "file" searches relative to the current file.

Alright, that did the trick. The project compiles now. Thank you.
The difference between the two methods of including files was not clear to me.