TransX TransX / IMFD integration

Mister Mxyzptlk

Reaction score
I have lately been using IMFD in conjunction with TransX for routine missions and now I am interested in integrating the IMFD auto burn with the TransX slingshot. My question is: How would I execute a sling to Saturn from Jupiter using the correct parameters, such as 6.771k dV, inc. 5.464, and an offset of 718.2M,and have the IMFD program execute the burn?

Last edited:

dgatsoulis

ele2png user
Donator
Reaction score
Are you starting from the ground, in orbit or already on your way to Jupiter?
Would you mind posting the scenario with the TransX plan? It will be easier to show it to you that way.

Mister Mxyzptlk

Reaction score
In Orbit. Here is the scenario. Thanks.

Attachments

• Voyager Setup 0001.scn
    4.1 KB · Views: 3

Tommy

Reaction score
I'm not a big expert with TransX, and you haven't quite told me what I need to know. Sadly, I'm quite busy these days and don't know when I'll be online again so I'll try some generic tips and hope it helps.

It depends on what you mean by "integrate". Are you trying to follow a specific plan from TransX, or just using TransX to find a valid window?

If it's the later, you would set up a transfer from Earth to Jupiter in Target Intercept using the TEj and TIn shown in TransX (forget what TransX calls those - the TIn is probably the PeT at Jupiter, etc). Then use Planet Approach to try and tune the Jupiter periapsis and inclination when you are still about 3 "SOI's" away from Jupiter. Once you enter Jupiter's SOI, change Target Intercept to source = Jupiter, tgt = Saturn. Get your Jupiter PeT from IMFD's Map and use it for the TEj. For the TIn you can use the data from TransX, or just adjust it to get the lowest total dV as shown in IMFD's Slingshot program (set to course).