Question Space Station mainnode mod

vonneuman

Orbinaut
Reaction score
I have a question that maybe some of the more experienced addon developers could answer. I was starting to work on a modification for the space station mainnode, [ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=4043"]StationMods[/ame]
I want to know how to change the location of the docking ports in the actual C++ code. I want to take the node and give it more of an elongated U shape. I am new to making addons, right now I am learning how to program in C++ now. So I was starting with a relatively simple mod. Could someone help me by letting me know how to change the location of the docking port. Thankyou in advance. full credit for the work he did in making the orriginal addon

p.s. I will give anemazoso full credit for the work he did in making the orriginal addon:probe:

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Website
alteaaerospace.com
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
To change the actual C++ code (i.e., the DLL itself) you would need to have access to the station's C++ source code so you could recompile it into a new (updated) DLL. Assuming you can obtain the source code to the station you want to modify, take a look in the Orbiter API Reference PDF in the section titled "Docking port management" on page 73 (in particular, the CreateDock method). Those are the method calls you would need to modify in the source code in order to change the docking port locations.

anemazoso

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Hi there,
I have no problem with anyone using any of my meshes provided proper credit is given and it is only used as a free add-on for Orbiter. I look forward to seeing what is created, but it sounds like you would like to alter the mesh. If you need a custom mesh based on the mainnode I would be happy to provide one :)