Search Space Shuttle pads

Harmsway

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.eharm.net
Hello all,

It's been awhile for me. see http://www.orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?p=392951#post392951
and I have a few questions.

I noticed Orbiter includes the 3D cockpit version of Atlantis. That's good but is there an addon that has upgraded launch pads?

I know of SLATs but those pads are on a shifted KSC location. My own addon "KSC Envirnonment" was done with "Slats" alignment. But I like to move my KSC buildings to agree with the default Orbiter if possible. Only would like to see an upgraded pad with actual KSC buildings/VAB.

Gene Harm
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,845
Reaction score
2,582
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
I noticed Orbiter includes the 3D cockpit version of Atlantis. That's good but is there an addon that has upgraded launch pads?

SpaceShuttleUltra, thanks to the work of DaveS, has pretty detailled pads and even a good crawler simulation. DaveS even works on the temporary existing Centaur modifications for the Shuttle launch complex.

The project is always in a damn WIP stage, but we are going to streamline things for faster release cycles, as soon as the loose ends are meeting again.
 

RacerX

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
303
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
in a field
I use the SSU Pads and MLP from SSU and then edit the scenario files for Shuttle Fleet 4.8 http://simviation.com/1/browse-Orbiter+Addons-142-0 so I can use the GPCMFD. This is a edited scenario file I made for Shuttle Fleet 4.8 for "Atlantis Launch" untill SSU is done
Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Atlantis Ready to depart.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 55246.710639
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship Atlantis
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET Atlantis
  MODE Extern
  POS 4.51 173.21 76.17
  TRACKMODE GlobalFrame
  FOV 40.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Surface
  SPDMODE 1
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
Atlantis:Shuttle
  STATUS Landed Earth
  POS -80.6207900 28.6272040
  HEADING 0.00
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000 1:1.000 2:1.000
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  CONFIGURATION 0
  OV- 104
  ODS
  RMSARM
  CARGODOOR 0 0.0000
  KUBAND 0 0.0000
  POSTLAND 0 0.0000
  SSMES 0 0.0000
  ADTA 0 0.0000
  PETD 1 1.0000
  SETD 1 1.0000
  ARMTILT 0 0.0000 0 0.0000
  PRADIATOR 0 0.0000
  SRADIATOR 0 0.0000
  GEAR 0 0.0000
  PAYLOAD_MASS 0.0000
  SAT_OFS_X 0.000
  SAT_OFS_Y 0.000
  SAT_OFS_Z 0.000
  OMS 
  ASSIST 134.0 77.0
  CALLOUT 
  TGT_HEADING  42.000 228.0
END
LC39A:SSU_Pad
  STATUS Landed Earth
  POS -80.6207760 28.6272340
  HEADING 270.00
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  ACCESS_ARM 0 0.0000
  GVA 0 0.0000
  VENTHOOD 0 0.0000
  FSS_OWP 0 0.0000
  RSS_OWP 0 0.0000
  RSS 1 1.0000
  FSS_GH2 0 0.0000
  FSS_IAA 0 0.0000
  GOX_SEQUENCE 1
  SHUTTLE 
END
MLP2:SSU_MLP
  STATUS Landed Earth
  POS -80.6207900 28.6272740
  HEADING 0.00
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  T0_UMB 0 0.0000
END
END_SHIPS

Thanks for your contribution to NASA and the space program Harm! :thumbup:
 

orb

New member
News Reporter
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,020
Reaction score
4
Points
0
New beta versions of Orbiter have updated the stock shuttle pad too, so it's no longer just a brown undefined something, looking like a brick.
 

Harmsway

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.eharm.net
New beta versions of Orbiter have updated the stock shuttle pad too, so it's no longer just a brown undefined something, looking like a brick.

Cool, I'll take a look and begin to update my KSC Environment mod to work with the new version.

---------- Post added at 05:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:54 AM ----------

Does the Beta version RSS rotate out of the way? Don't want to launch with the structure wrap around the shuttle.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,512
Reaction score
760
Points
203
Does the Beta version RSS rotate out of the way? Don't want to launch with the structure wrap around the shuttle.
Unfortunately it doesn't. It's static in the Mate configuration for now.
 
Last edited:

Harmsway

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.eharm.net
Unfortunately it doesn't. It's static in the Mate configuration for now.

Too bad. I love the pad, tower and mlp. Someone did some nice work. It would be fantastic if it was in launch configuration.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,512
Reaction score
760
Points
203
Too bad. I love the pad, tower and mlp. Someone did some nice work. It would be fantastic if it was in launch configuration.
I believe Martin is the author of the new 39B. And as you probably can tell, it's not quite complete yet. Take it from someone who has the experience of modelling the FSS/RSS: It's far easier to model them with the RSS in the Mate configuration.
 

Cosmic Penguin

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,672
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
Speaking of this, is there a way to move the static meshes of VAFB SLC-6 at SSU (I know that it's a WIP, but it seems good enough as a static mesh right now) to Shuttle Fleet, as with LC-39 above? The current SLC-6 by kev shanow is too large for both of the VAFB base textures.

BTW This thread is in the wrong section... :p
 

Harmsway

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.eharm.net
Speaking of this, is there a way to move the static meshes of VAFB SLC-6 at SSU (I know that it's a WIP, but it seems good enough as a static mesh right now) to Shuttle Fleet, as with LC-39 above? The current SLC-6 by kev shanow is too large for both of the VAFB base textures.

BTW This thread is in the wrong section... :p

I'm glad this thread got moved. I mistakenly posted it incorrectly.

Yes you can easily move a mesh by changing its location parameters. However having been gone for a while I'm not familar with VAFB SLC-6 at SSU. Meshes may be split or combined making movement difficult. In my KSC Environment add-on I used very few meshes. Most of the buildings are taking advantage of Orbiter built in design statements.

My hope is to revisit my old KSC Environment mod and update to the latest Orbiter. First I have to do a gap analysis, there may not be much involved. But before that I want to enjoy orbiter for awhile.
 
Top