API Question Set Center Of Pressure when key is pressed

zachary77

Reaction score
I'm a total newbie to C++ and the API, so please excuse my ignorance:)

I'm designing a tailsitter rocket (pain to land, I must say). So, to assist with keeping the nose vertical, I would like to implement a system that:
  • Sets the COP when a key is pressed (K to shift forward, M for aft)
  • Overrides HLVL AP to hold 90 deg pitch
  • Overrides ALT HOLD AP to use mains

How would I go about it? So far, whatever I've tried has broke my code:facepalm:

Any help would be welcome.

Thanks,
Zachary77

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Well, I would take a look at the lift function in your first case, especially the context parameter. To be specific - you can solve this by moving the COP as reference of the airfoil or by changing the moment function of the airfoil to have the effects of a different COP. I would try the latter if you try to create the COP shift by aerodynamic means. If you want to have a CoG shift instead by moving mass.

The second and third would be a bit harder, but AFAIR, Orbiter 2016 has a new callback for exactly those cases.

Last edited:

zachary77

Reaction score
Well, I would take a look at the lift function in your first case, especially the context parameter.

The second and third would be a bit harder, but AFAIR, Orbiter 2016 has a new callback for exactly those cases.

Err... that's the issue. I don't understand the lift function at all. (Using ShuttlePB as template) What would I need to change?

Thanks for reply, BTW.

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Err... that's the issue. I don't understand the lift function at all. (Using ShuttlePB as template) What would I need to change?

Thanks for reply, BTW.

Did the PB ever really have one? :lol: Take a look at the DG there for some initial idea.