Humor Random Comments Thread

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,825
Reaction score
1,488
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
#Worldle #84 X/6 (95%) ?
???⬜⬜⬅️
????⬜↖️
????⬜↗️
?????⬇️
?????↖️
?????↗️


Still really bad in remembering all african countries.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,853
Reaction score
2,576
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
Weirdly for monocultural nations, India is a jungle* of languages, with most of the Indo-Aryan languages being spoken in just one country.
*The word "jungle" itself comes from an Indo-Aryan word meaning forest.

It's not that weird, in places like France, two centuries ago you had dozens of local dialects, from various origins. Regional langages are still a thing nowadays, some schools teach them. The British Isles are like that too, but also Italy, certainly Germany (that was only unified in the 19th century...). In mountain places you often had one dialect for each valley.

And even in a tiny country like France, it is everything but monocultural. The northwest had celtic influence, the east germanic, the south roman... And there's a lot of people from North Africa. "Monocultural nations" is a bad joke ultranationalistic politicians are trying to sell to you. It simply doesn't exist.

Maybe try not to think things in terms of "nations" too much.
 
Last edited:

Arvil

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
247
Reaction score
170
Points
58
Location
Pennsylvania, USA
Preferred Pronouns
he
Since many of the small countries have dozens of linguistic cultures that does not surprise me that Russia would have hundreds. The intuit and other related people’s span from eastern Russia all the way to Greenland.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,825
Reaction score
1,488
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
It's not that weird, in places like France, two centuries ago you had dozens of local dialects, from various origins. Regional langages are still a thing nowadays, some schools teach them. The British Isles are like that too, but also Italy, certainly Germany (that was only unified in the 19th century...). In mountain places you often had one dialect for each valley.

Only few people are aware, that the old borders of the long abolished feudal states in Germany still exist. For example, when the successors of state banks are operating in their old territory, despite now being non-profit banks (German banking is a bit different).

Just compare this map to the old HRR before the Northern German tariff union:
Karte_Gesch%C3%A4ftsgebiete_der_Sparkassen_und_Sparkassenverb%C3%A4nde_in_Deutschland.png
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,853
Reaction score
2,576
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
Since many of the small countries have dozens of linguistic cultures that does not surprise me that Russia would have hundreds. The intuit and other related people’s span from eastern Russia all the way to Greenland.

Which is not such a huge area, our "flat" world maps tend to caricature this.
 

Matias Saibene

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
767
Reaction score
272
Points
63
Location
Monte Hermoso - Argentina
Website
de-todo-un-poco-computacion-e-ideas.blogspot.com.ar
A short question (I'm posting here so as not to start a new thread), to create a normalmap you just have to rename it by adding "norm" to the end of the name of the DDS file that contains the normalmap?
Because I saw that a normalmap works like this, for example the one pennyblack did for the XR5 in: https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=fd01cce8-9c61-435c-bdc2-7e7e2cd31356

I am working on normalmaps for the G42-200. So I'd like to know if it's just adding "norm" to the end of the filename or if I have to edit the mesh.
Thanks in advance.
 

Sbb1413

Add-on developer and tester
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
944
Reaction score
361
Points
78
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
It's not that weird, in places like France, two centuries ago you had dozens of local dialects, from various origins. Regional langages are still a thing nowadays, some schools teach them. The British Isles are like that too, but also Italy, certainly Germany (that was only unified in the 19th century...). In mountain places you often had one dialect for each valley.

And even in a tiny country like France, it is everything but monocultural. The northwest had celtic influence, the east germanic, the south roman... And there's a lot of people from North Africa. "Monocultural nations" is a bad joke ultranationalistic politicians are trying to sell to you. It simply doesn't exist.

Maybe try not to think things in terms of "nations" too much.
True, the monocultural nations don't exist and the more appropriate term will be monolingual nations, so each European country is (mostly) monolingual. Therefore, if you change the country you're living, then you have to learn the national language of the country for permanent stay (of course, If you change your country to Belgium then you don't need to learn another language). In India, if I change the Indian state I'm living, then I have to learn the official language of the state for permanent stay. So in the respect of linguistic diversity, India is more like a continent than a country.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,853
Reaction score
2,576
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
of course, If you change your country to Belgium then you don't need to learn another language

Actually, even a "small" country like Belgium has three official tongues (meaning the paperwork is written in those three tongue which means a lot of paper !) : Dutch, French, and German. Belgium is a good example of a nation made of different cultures. Some years ago the country almost split in 3, politics have a hard time keeping the "unity of the nation".
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,825
Reaction score
1,488
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
A short question (I'm posting here so as not to start a new thread), to create a normalmap you just have to rename it by adding "norm" to the end of the name of the DDS file that contains the normalmap?
Because I saw that a normalmap works like this, for example the one pennyblack did for the XR5 in: https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=fd01cce8-9c61-435c-bdc2-7e7e2cd31356

I am working on normalmaps for the G42-200. So I'd like to know if it's just adding "norm" to the end of the filename or if I have to edit the mesh.
Thanks in advance.

I can't really help you there, but I fear that your question might get lost here and more qualified people might miss it. So, I quote it here, but I would recommand you to simply create your own thread for it, because its a good, important question, that might be of interest for many people here.

What I am sure: You don't need to edit the mesh. It simply needs to be of such a filename as you said. But I can't tell you, which kind of "content" the normal map has to be made of, that it really works.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,853
Reaction score
2,576
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
A short question (I'm posting here so as not to start a new thread), to create a normalmap you just have to rename it by adding "norm" to the end of the name of the DDS file that contains the normalmap?
Because I saw that a normalmap works like this, for example the one pennyblack did for the XR5 in: https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=fd01cce8-9c61-435c-bdc2-7e7e2cd31356

I am working on normalmaps for the G42-200. So I'd like to know if it's just adding "norm" to the end of the filename or if I have to edit the mesh.
Thanks in advance.

Check D3D9 client documentation, the formats are specified in a table (near the end, I'd say). I did it before, so yes it works, the tricky part is to find the right .dds sub-format. If you have trouble, ask around in the D3D9 development thread.
 

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
10,241
Reaction score
1,417
Points
203
Location
between the planets
Therefore, if you change the country you're living, then you have to learn the national language of the country for permanent stay
I keep forgetting which language that is... Oh right, we have 4 of 'em. Sometimes I think Switzerland should just change its national language to english, because that's what everybody starts speaking as soon as they're from different regions...
 
Top