Project Orbiter texture tree tools (OT3)

Face

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
581
Points
153
Location
Vienna
OK, it's logical that it's reverting to the global tileset based on distance, but that's not very seamless... Don't think there's much OT3 can do here.

Did you try the -i option? This feature integrates a given set of tiles backwards into lower-level resolutions.

ATM -i only works on Surf, Mask and Cloud, but with the help of ele2png, I'll try to also make it work for elevation data, meaning that you can integrate high-resolution elevation backwards into low-resolution tiles as well.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Thanks for the suggestion. Yes it makes sense to interpolate the changes.

OK, I tried:

treeman D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth\16\001416\

and got:

Error:can't open file D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth\16\001416\


The same goes if I indicate a specific .dss, *.*, parent folders, etc.

Clearly I'm being dumb here... :blink:
Can you provide some sort of example ? Pseudo .BAT code will do :thumbup:
 

Face

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
581
Points
153
Location
Vienna
Thanks for the suggestion. Yes it makes sense to interpolate the changes.

OK, I tried:

treeman D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth\16\001416\

and got:

Error:can't open file D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth\16\001416\


The same goes if I indicate a specific .dss, *.*, parent folders, etc.

Clearly I'm being dumb here... :blink:
Can you provide some sort of example ? Pseudo .BAT code will do :thumbup:

Just create a file with "\16\001416\blabla.dds" in each line, then put the path to that file behind -F.

The idea was that you produce a file list with treeman's -b option by means of piping it into a temporary file, then feed that file back to treeman's -i option via -F.

I've tried to explain that in the very first post of this thread:
If you want to try out base conversion, you can get the best results by converting Surf and Mask layer, as well as integrate the tiles involved back to 1x1 pixels like so:

  1. treeman ..\Textures\Earth Surf -b <path_to_base_config> <path_to_textures_dir> -y > surf.txt
  2. treeman ..\Textures\Earth Mask -b <path_to_base_config> <path_to_textures_dir> -y > mask.txt
  3. treeman ..\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F surf.txt
  4. treeman ..\Textures\Earth Mask -i -F mask.txt
Point 1 converts the base config texture tiles to the surface layer of Earth, overwriting every file that might be there already (-y) and pipes the list of files it produces to a file "surf.txt".
Point 2 does the same to the water-mask layer, piping to the file "mask.txt".
Point 3 takes the files from surf.txt and integrates them back into the texture tree (-i). Point 4 does the same for the water-mask files.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Yep, I was being dumb, didn't check the first post...
Thanks for your patience :thumbup:

So here's what I'm using for a complete conversion (transparency + lower level blending)
Code:
treeman D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth Surf -b D:\jogos\Orbiter2015_test\Config\Earth\Base\Lukla.cfg D:\jogos\Orbiter2015_test\Textures2 -y > surf.txt

treeman D:\jogos\Orbiter2016_base\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F surf.txt

The high resolution Earth for 2016 makes the use of legacy level 1 to 3 tiles redundant, so I'm limiting myself to a single higher resolution tile coverage.
(The cascading alpha blending would still be nice to have, but not top priority.)
The results are perfect visually and the entire process is not too complicated.

So we have a simple base conversion / creation workflow with minimal hand editing: OBM » temp folder » Treeman » Orbiter 2016
Thanks again Face :)
 
Last edited:

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
Continued in more appropriate thread....

Hi 4throck.
So, from what you were saying over on http://www.orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?p=548025&postcount=4219
Am I right in thinking I should be extracting the textures to convert from 2010 ?
Because I've been trying to set it up all in 2016 as I have the textures there too - or doesn't it matter ?

Anyway, on trying to set up I get this error message...
PHP:
D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth Surf -b D:\Orbiter_2010_Disk\Config\Earth\Base\Heathrow.cfg D:\Orbiter_2010_Disk\Textures2 -y > surf.txt

D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F surf.txt
error: unable to open file D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth\Archive\Surf.tree, error 3

D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>

and there is no "Archive" folder in D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth folder.
All paths as set up above exist. :shrug:

Bear in mind, I haven't a clue what I'm supposed to be achieving here, just following your example. (I hope)
 

Face

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
581
Points
153
Location
Vienna
and there is no "Archive" folder in D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth folder.

Isn't stock Orbiter2016 coming with base textures in this format already? What happened to your installation?
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
You're right !
Had a look in another install albeit RC_2016, and the Archive folder and contents are there!
Didn't even know it existed.
Don't know why or how but no, I don't have that Archive folder in my Orbiter_2016 installation.
Life is overtaking me right now, but will get back on it soon and report back.
Thanks guys.:cheers:
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
I think I made a wrong decision ! :facepalm:

PHP:
D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth Surf -b D:\Orbiter_2010_Disk\Config\Earth\Base\Heathrow.cfg D:\Orbiter_2010_Disk\Textures2 -y > surf.txt

D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F surf.txt
/04/000000/000000.dds
File already exists! Overwrite? (YnAsc?) y

Y - Yes, overwrite this file - upper case mandatory
n - No, skip this file
A - All, overwrite all existing files without further notice - upper case mandatory
s - Skip, all existing files will be skipped without further notice
c - Cancel, stops executing immediatly
? - Help, show this help - default

(YnAsc?) a

Y - Yes, overwrite this file - upper case mandatory
n - No, skip this file
A - All, overwrite all existing files without further notice - upper case mandatory
s - Skip, all existing files will be skipped without further notice
c - Cancel, stops executing immediatly
? - Help, show this help - default

(YnAsc?) A
Do you want to integrate into the existing file? (yNaSc?) y
/05/000000/000001.dds
Do you want to integrate into the existing file? (yNaSc?) a
/06/000000/000003.dds
/07/000001/000007.dds
/08/000003/000015.dds
/09/000006/000031.dds
/10/000013/000062.dds
/11/000027/000125.dds
/12/000054/000250.dds
/12/000054/000251.dds
/10/000013/000063.dds
/11/000027/000126.dds
/12/000054/000252.dds
/12/000054/000253.dds
/11/000027/000127.dds
/12/000054/000254.dds
/12/000054/000255.dds
/14/000219/001019.dds
/14/000219/001020.dds
/14/000219/001021.dds
/14/000219/001022.dds
/14/000219/001023.dds
/16/000876/004084.dds
/16/000877/004084.dds
/16/000877/004085.dds
/16/000876/004085.dds
/16/000877/004086.dds
/16/000876/004086.dds
/04/000000/000001.dds
/05/000000/000002.dds
/06/000000/000004.dds
/07/000001/000008.dds
/08/000003/000016.dds
/09/000006/000032.dds
/10/000013/000064.dds
/11/000027/000128.dds
/12/000054/000256.dds
/12/000054/000257.dds
/11/000027/000129.dds
/12/000054/000258.dds

British Isles has disappeared under Heathrow !! :rofl:
Guessing - I should not have said "y" to "integrate into existing file" maybe ?? :lol:

Various parts appear/disappear as zoom in/out.

(Going to bed - resume with interest tomorrow. Boa noite)
 
Last edited:

Face

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
581
Points
153
Location
Vienna
I think I made a wrong decision ! :facepalm:

PHP:
D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth Surf -b D:\Orbiter_2010_Disk\Config\Earth\Base\Heathrow.cfg D:\Orbiter_2010_Disk\Textures2 -y > surf.txt

D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F surf.txt
/04/000000/000000.dds
File already exists! Overwrite? (YnAsc?) y

Y - Yes, overwrite this file - upper case mandatory
n - No, skip this file
A - All, overwrite all existing files without further notice - upper case mandatory
s - Skip, all existing files will be skipped without further notice
c - Cancel, stops executing immediatly
? - Help, show this help - default

(YnAsc?) a

Y - Yes, overwrite this file - upper case mandatory
n - No, skip this file
A - All, overwrite all existing files without further notice - upper case mandatory
s - Skip, all existing files will be skipped without further notice
c - Cancel, stops executing immediatly
? - Help, show this help - default

(YnAsc?) A
Do you want to integrate into the existing file? (yNaSc?) y
/05/000000/000001.dds
Do you want to integrate into the existing file? (yNaSc?) a
/06/000000/000003.dds
/07/000001/000007.dds
/08/000003/000015.dds
/09/000006/000031.dds
/10/000013/000062.dds
/11/000027/000125.dds
/12/000054/000250.dds
/12/000054/000251.dds
/10/000013/000063.dds
/11/000027/000126.dds
/12/000054/000252.dds
/12/000054/000253.dds
/11/000027/000127.dds
/12/000054/000254.dds
/12/000054/000255.dds
/14/000219/001019.dds
/14/000219/001020.dds
/14/000219/001021.dds
/14/000219/001022.dds
/14/000219/001023.dds
/16/000876/004084.dds
/16/000877/004084.dds
/16/000877/004085.dds
/16/000876/004085.dds
/16/000877/004086.dds
/16/000876/004086.dds
/04/000000/000001.dds
/05/000000/000002.dds
/06/000000/000004.dds
/07/000001/000008.dds
/08/000003/000016.dds
/09/000006/000032.dds
/10/000013/000064.dds
/11/000027/000128.dds
/12/000054/000256.dds
/12/000054/000257.dds
/11/000027/000129.dds
/12/000054/000258.dds

British Isles has disappeared under Heathrow !! :rofl:
Guessing - I should not have said "y" to "integrate into existing file" maybe ?? :lol:

Various parts appear/disappear as zoom in/out.

(Going to bed - resume with interest tomorrow. Boa noite)

I have no clue why you get that strange tile mismatch, but the usual mechanism of the -i option is simple: it takes the files from the list, shrinks them to smaller sizes, then puts them into the lower resolution tiles at the appropriate position. If the lower resolution tiles are not present, they get extracted from the cache. If they are already present, you get those questions about overwriting and integration. The answers you gave are logical, because you would want to integrate those smaller sizes into an already existing tile anyway.

I think your installation is messed up. Try the conversion with a clean install of Orbiter 2016, check the results there, then move them over to your standard setup.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Yes, make sure your Textures\Earth is clean, that is, you only have the global textures that come with Orbiter 2016.

Treeman will create a lot of .dds that go into Textures\Earth\Surf . Those replace Orbiter's global texture. If you mess up for some reason you will see wrong textures.
If you delete those textures Orbiter will revert to the global ones.

Also make sure your 2016 bases are NOT loading any tiles.

So to sum it up you should test separately:
» Make sure your Orbiter 2016 is clean
» Copy the base .cfg to Orbiter 2016, remove references to tiles. You should see the base objects correctly positioned over the default terrain/textures.
» Treeman to convert tiles. You should now see new textures over the existing terrain.
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
Here I am again.
At low level things are looking good, though not perfect. Some tiles seem to be misplaced.
As we zoom out things get far worse and confused.

PHP:
D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016_Release_Updating\Textures\Earth Surf -b D:\Orbiter_2016_Release_Updating\Config\Earth\Base\Heathrow.cfg D:\Orbiter_2016_Release_Updating\Textures2\HRow_TexturesOrig -y > surf.txt

D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>treeman D:\Orbiter_2016_Release_Updating\Textures\Earth Surf -i -F surf.txt
/04/000000/000000.dds
File already exists! Overwrite? (YnAsc?) a

Y - Yes, overwrite this file - upper case mandatory
n - No, skip this file
A - All, overwrite all existing files without further notice - upper case mandatory
s - Skip, all existing files will be skipped without further notice
c - Cancel, stops executing immediatly
? - Help, show this help - default

(YnAsc?) A
Do you want to integrate into the existing file? (yNaSc?) a
/05/000000/000001.dds
/06/000000/000003.dds
/07/000001/000007.dds
/08/000003/000015.dds
/09/000006/000031.dds
/10/000013/000062.dds
/11/000027/000125.dds
/12/000054/000250.dds
/12/000054/000251.dds
/10/000013/000063.dds
/11/000027/000126.dds
/12/000054/000252.dds
/12/000054/000253.dds
/11/000027/000127.dds
/12/000054/000254.dds
/12/000054/000255.dds
/14/000219/001019.dds
/14/000219/001020.dds
/14/000219/001021.dds
/14/000219/001022.dds
/14/000219/001023.dds
/16/000876/004084.dds
/16/000877/004084.dds
/16/000877/004085.dds
/16/000876/004085.dds
/16/000877/004086.dds
/16/000876/004086.dds
/04/000000/000001.dds
/05/000000/000002.dds
/06/000000/000004.dds
/07/000001/000008.dds
/08/000003/000016.dds
/09/000006/000032.dds
/10/000013/000064.dds
/11/000027/000128.dds
/12/000054/000256.dds
/12/000054/000257.dds
/11/000027/000129.dds
/12/000054/000258.dds

D:\Orbiter_2016\Utils>

If somebody could do a GUI it would be much appreciated. At least I'd know the paths were right wouldn't I ?
 
Last edited:

Face

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
581
Points
153
Location
Vienna
If somebody could do a GUI it would be much appreciated. At least I'd know the paths were right wouldn't I ?

You don't need a GUI. The paths are right. It could be that this particular base configuration confuses the -b or -i option somehow. I'd need the original base files to investigate that further.
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
How can I get them to you?
Can I put them in a zip up here?
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
Thanks Face, it's nice to know I got something right :)
Would a PM with zip be better ?

Just a bit better screenshots:

Appears good in D3D9 but note the duplicates near ground level. 1)
(Actually there's a whole lot more off to the right further away.)

Zoom out a little, and one at bottom centre/right disappears, but others remain. 2)

Zoom out further and appears as screenshots in other post.
 
Last edited:

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Thanks Face, it's nice to know I got something right :)
Would a PM with zip be better ?

Just a bit better screenshots:

Appears good in D3D9 but note the duplicates near ground level. 1)
(Actually there's a whole lot more off to the right further away.)

Zoom out a little, and one at bottom centre/right disappears, but others remain. 2)

Zoom out further and appears as screenshots in other post.

Bonjour JMW,

Is there still actually in your Textures2 folder the tiles ( level one to level 6 ) of your Heathrow 2009 version? Remember that in your zip, there was two cfg for Heathrow: one in Config and a position referenced in Earth.cfg an another in Config/Earth/Base. And nothing in your readme about that.
 
Last edited:

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Check what fort mentioned:
» In 2016 there should be no Earth_n_Ennnn_Nnnnn.dds textures. Check Textures and Textures2 folder and make sure you don't have them. They will mess up things.
» Your base should be defined in Config/Earth/Base . There should be no Heathrow nowhere else.

JMW you are close to getting it right!
Just sort it out step by step.

Don't get frustrated by bad initial results. Look a few pages back at my attempts. I had pretty much the same problems as you.
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
Hi fort.
Yes, there was two configs in the zip but under 2016 there is only the one in Earth/Base folder and nothing for another referenced in Earth.config

Are you thinking that that could've been the cause of my problems ?

The terrain textures are still placed in Textures2.
Do you think maybe that is confusing treeman ?

Hi4throck, just seen your comments.
So having the old style textures in Texture2 will make it go bad !

So I must put them in a separate folder out of 2016, is that right ?
 
Last edited:

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
20
Points
38
Hi fort.
Yes, there was two configs in the zip but under 2016 there is only the one in Earth/Base folder and nothing for another referenced in Earth.config

Are you thinking that that could've been the cause of my problems ?

The terrain textures are still placed in Textures2.
Do you think maybe that is confusing treeman ?

As 4throck said, you wil have to suppress any reference if it's not actually the case for surftiles in Heathrow cfg and why not try delete your old textures ( the 2010 one's ) in the Textures 2 and see what happens ?

Not it will not confusing treeman but Orbiter itself loading simultaneously tiles from archive or Surf and tiles from textures or textures2.
 
Last edited:

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
611
Reaction score
52
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
fort.

I've got to have the textures somewhere for them to be converted so they have to be outside of 2016 somewhere and then linked through a path, have I got that right?
 

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
20
Points
38
fort.

I've got to have the textures somewhere for them to be converted so they have to be outside of 2016 somewhere and then linked through a path, have I got that right?

JMW

I don't speak very well english and i'm not sure to understand what you mean, what you have done. One thing : delete the old 2009 textures remaining in your textures2 folder or any link to them in orbiter and see if that modify the things in Orbiter.
 
Last edited:
Top