Important Orbiter Forum Migration to XenForo

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
9,544
Reaction score
360
Points
173
Location
between the planets
I am too much used at letting server log files run over the screen with tail -f ....
Well, I'm doing that too, but to actually see anything I have to stop it. I'm just about accute enough to see that there was an exception, but only if the stacktrace is long enough... :LOL:
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,861
Reaction score
378
Points
173
Location
Langendernbach
Well, I'm doing that too, but to actually see anything I have to stop it. I'm just about accute enough to see that there was an exception, but only if the stacktrace is long enough... :LOL:

Oh, I just look for changes in the rhythm of the lines. If you have developed a C99 server for years and know its runtime behaviour, this worked good enough for even noticing that something is going odd before the errors appear. Of course, sometimes you had to scroll back 200 lines after something made you feel strange. But its good enough to even catch that 70 + 11 is not 82....
 

NukeET

Gen 1:1
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
32
Points
48
Location
UT_SLC
Website
sites.google.com
I think it'll hit a PHP configured limit of 8MB at the moment. I can increase that if you need it to be greater.

8MB should be enough...I'm just looking for consistency. The first screenshot uploaded to was 2.19 MB. I now keep getting an error - file too large - when I try one that's 1.04 MB
 
Last edited:

Linguofreak

Well-known member
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
4,156
Reaction score
54
Points
73
Location
Dallas, TX
8MB should be enough...I'm just looking for consistency. The first screenshot uploaded to was 2.19 MB. I now keep getting an error - file too large - when I try one that's 1.04 MB

Did the files have different extensions? I've seen different limits for different extensions on other forums (one size for text, another for uncompressed images, a third for compressed formats, etc.)
 

Xyon

Puts the Fun in Dysfunctional
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Webmaster
GFX Staff
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
6,630
Reaction score
101
Points
138
Location
10.0.0.1
Website
www.orbiter-radio.co.uk
Did the files have different extensions? I've seen different limits for different extensions on other forums (one size for text, another for uncompressed images, a third for compressed formats, etc.)
It's possible XenForo puts limits in front of that for different types of file, but it won't be allowed to accept anything bigger. I'll have a look at what it's configured to allow
 
  • Like
Reactions: GLS

soumya-8974

Active member
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
477
Reaction score
85
Points
28
Location
India
I heard an interesting fact that XenForo is developed by the developers of vBulletin.
 

NukeET

Gen 1:1
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
32
Points
48
Location
UT_SLC
Website
sites.google.com
Did the files have different extensions? I've seen different limits for different extensions on other forums (one size for text, another for uncompressed images, a third for compressed formats, etc.)
It's possible XenForo puts limits in front of that for different types of file, but it won't be allowed to accept anything bigger. I'll have a look at what it's configured to allow
I was trying to upload a *.png to the screenshot thread, if that helps.
 

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
9,544
Reaction score
360
Points
173
Location
between the planets
Is it possible that it rejected the image format and threw a wrong error? Because it would make sense for a forum to insist on jpg...
 

sw34669

Active member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
197
Reaction score
28
Points
28
Location
uk
thanks for the massive investment in time in getting it over.
 
Top