Problem Orbiter crash

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,953
Reaction score
2,973
Points
188
Website
github.com
That is strange: the Orbiter log has many entries duplicated. 😵‍💫
The D3D9 log shows it dies after spending 4.2s looking at the scenario (seems a lot of time), and apparently without even loading the window (I get the entry "================ clbkCreateRenderWindow ===============" afterwards). Does the same happen with any other scenario? BTW: what is in that "(Current state)" scenario?
Another piece of the puzzle is: what is your Windows version?

Maybe @jarmonik or @kuddel have an idea of what could be failing at that point of the loading...
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
That is strange: the Orbiter log has many entries duplicated. 😵‍💫
The D3D9 log shows it dies after spending 4.2s looking at the scenario (seems a lot of time), and apparently without even loading the window (I get the entry "================ clbkCreateRenderWindow ===============" afterwards). Does the same happen with any other scenario? BTW: what is in that "(Current state)" scenario?
Another piece of the puzzle is: what is your Windows version?

Maybe @jarmonik or @kuddel have an idea of what could be failing at that point of the loading...
The window does load.The same happens on every scenario.I'm on win10
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
Additional info:It got stuck loading celestial sphere in GUI.
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
BaseDir : C:\Orbiter2016\
ConfigDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Config\
MeshDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Meshes\
TextureDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Textures\
HightexDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Textures2\
ScenarioDir: C:\Orbiter2016\Scenarios\
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
D3D9 DLLs : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3dx9_43.dll [v 9.29.952.3111]
: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d9.dll [v 10.0.19041.2311]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 211009, API 160828]
000000.000:
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: D3D9: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
D3D9: 3D-Adapter.............. : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650
D3D9: MaxTextureWidth......... : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureHeight........ : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureRepeat........ : 8192
D3D9: VolTexAddressCaps....... : 0x3F
D3D9: NumSimultaneousRTs...... : 4
D3D9: VertexDeclCaps.......... : 0x30F
D3D9: MiscCaps................ : 0x2FCEF2
D3D9: XNA Math Support........ : Yes
D3D9: Vertex Texture.......... : Yes
D3D9: Separate AlphaBlend..... : Yes
D3D9: Shadow Mapping.......... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A32B32G32R32F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_D32F_LOCKABLE.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A2R10G10B10...... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_L8............... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_DEC3N......... : No
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_2..... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_4..... : Yes
D3D9: Runs under WINE......... : No
D3D9: D3D9Build Date.......... : 211009
D3D9: Available Texture Memory : 4089 MB
000000.000: D3D9: [3DDevice Initialized]
000000.000: D3D9: [Loading Constellations]
000000.000: D3D9: [D3D9Client Initialized]
 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,699
Reaction score
1,361
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Can you see anything interesting in windows event viewer?
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
Can you see anything interesting in windows event viewer?
It gets stuck in loading celetial sphere,and there are three warnings down there,one saying cubic interpolation,one saying missing configs,and the lasst one i forgot
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
Reinstalled stuff,reran it,the warning I didn't remember was also about cubic interpolation and terrain stuff
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 211009, API 160828]
000000.000:
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: D3D9: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
D3D9: 3D-Adapter.............. : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650
D3D9: MaxTextureWidth......... : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureHeight........ : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureRepeat........ : 8192
D3D9: VolTexAddressCaps....... : 0x3F
D3D9: NumSimultaneousRTs...... : 4
D3D9: VertexDeclCaps.......... : 0x30F
D3D9: MiscCaps................ : 0x2FCEF2
D3D9: XNA Math Support........ : Yes
D3D9: Vertex Texture.......... : Yes
D3D9: Separate AlphaBlend..... : Yes
D3D9: Shadow Mapping.......... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A32B32G32R32F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_D32F_LOCKABLE.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A2R10G10B10...... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_L8............... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_DEC3N......... : No
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_2..... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_4..... : Yes
D3D9: Runs under WINE......... : No
D3D9: D3D9Build Date.......... : 211009
D3D9: Available Texture Memory : 4089 MB
000000.000: D3D9: [3DDevice Initialized]
000000.000: D3D9: [Loading Constellations]
000000.000: D3D9: [D3D9Client Initialized]
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
BTW,does directx matter?I have directx 9 but I have heard of directx 11.Does it neeed the absolute newest version to work?
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
I clicked on the vcredist stuff and retried:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 1e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
BaseDir : C:\Orbiter2016\
ConfigDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Config\
MeshDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Meshes\
TextureDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Textures\
HightexDir : C:\Orbiter2016\Textures2\
ScenarioDir: C:\Orbiter2016\Scenarios\
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
D3D9 DLLs : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d9.dll [v 10.0.19041.2311]
: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3dx9_43.dll [v 9.29.952.3111]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 211009, API 160828]
000000.000:
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: D3D9: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
D3D9: 3D-Adapter.............. : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650
D3D9: MaxTextureWidth......... : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureHeight........ : 16384
D3D9: MaxTextureRepeat........ : 8192
D3D9: VolTexAddressCaps....... : 0x3F
D3D9: NumSimultaneousRTs...... : 4
D3D9: VertexDeclCaps.......... : 0x30F
D3D9: MiscCaps................ : 0x2FCEF2
D3D9: XNA Math Support........ : Yes
D3D9: Vertex Texture.......... : Yes
D3D9: Separate AlphaBlend..... : Yes
D3D9: Shadow Mapping.......... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A32B32G32R32F.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_D32F_LOCKABLE.... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_A2R10G10B10...... : Yes
D3D9: D3DFMT_L8............... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_DEC3N......... : No
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_2..... : Yes
D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_4..... : Yes
D3D9: Runs under WINE......... : No
D3D9: D3D9Build Date.......... : 211009
D3D9: Available Texture Memory : 4089 MB
000000.000: D3D9: [3DDevice Initialized]
000000.000: D3D9: [Loading Constellations]
000000.000: D3D9: [D3D9Client Initialized]

It's a bit longer than the previous one,but it also crashes quicker.
 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,699
Reaction score
1,361
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
It gets stuck in loading celetial sphere,and there are three warnings down there,one saying cubic interpolation,one saying missing configs,and the lasst one i forgot
You looked in the Windows Event Viewer -> application logs?
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
508
Points
113
The logs you've posted are strange...
Could you tell your AntiVrus Software to ignore the C:\Orbiter2016\ path?

The one log where everything "is doubled", seems like another glitch, that might be caused by something completely diferent ;)

Just in case: Have you tried reebooting your system?

BTW,does directx matter?I have directx 9 but I have heard of directx 11.Does it neeed the absolute newest version to work?
DirectX 9 is the one you need! DirectX 10,11 or higher do not include all the needed drivers!
Please install this one [*] - maybe it's just that.


From D3D9Client.pdf:
DirectX Runtimes
If the redistributable package isn't installed in your computer you will receive an error message "The
program can't start because d3dx9_42.dll is missing from your computer". Or you may see a pop-up
window in Orbiter LaunchPad telling about a missing runtimes. If that happens then download and
extract the content of the package in any empty directory you want and then find a Setup.exe and run
it. You can delete the contents of the directory after the setup is completed. The directory is just a
temporary storage for the installation files.
Here is a link: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109

[*] https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
The logs you've posted are strange...
Could you tell your AntiVrus Software to ignore the C:\Orbiter2016\ path?

The one log where everything "is doubled", seems like another glitch, that might be caused by something completely diferent ;)

Just in case: Have you tried reebooting your system?


DirectX 9 is the one you need! DirectX 10,11 or higher do not include all the needed drivers!
Please install this one [*] - maybe it's just that.


From D3D9Client.pdf:


[*] https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
ok
ok
yeah,obviously
ooh
 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,699
Reaction score
1,361
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Hmm, very strange.

Have you ever had Orbiter working before, say on a different computer in the past? Or is this your first time ever installing it?
Did you install from the ZIP or MSI?
It might be worth starting over and re-installing. Maybe despite your best intentions something didn't copy or work right?
It would be very helpful to know what your hardware specs are. There probably isn't a problem with your hardware, but maybe something isn't compatible.
Try running at a very low resolution and see if it will launch (e.g 800x600 or 1024x768).
Try windowed mode.

We all really want to help you get going. I think there is some step that we are all assuming you did correctly, but which you don't know you needed to do.

Could you maybe show some screenshots/video of the install, and your attempt to launch Orbiter. Maybe we'll see something.
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,448
Reaction score
462
Points
83
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
One small point: The first post in this thread mentions that a crash occurs even in the server version (the blue icon) without a graphics client loaded. So it is unlikely that the problem is related to the graphics subsystem. In fact, using the server version without graphics client may be the best option to continue debugging, since it eliminates any potential graphics problems. If this doesn't work, nothing else will.
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
Hmm, very strange.

Have you ever had Orbiter working before, say on a different computer in the past? Or is this your first time ever installing it?
Did you install from the ZIP or MSI?
It might be worth starting over and re-installing. Maybe despite your best intentions something didn't copy or work right?
It would be very helpful to know what your hardware specs are. There probably isn't a problem with your hardware, but maybe something isn't compatible.
Try running at a very low resolution and see if it will launch (e.g 800x600 or 1024x768).
Try windowed mode.

We all really want to help you get going. I think there is some step that we are all assuming you did correctly, but which you don't know you needed to do.

Could you maybe show some screenshots/video of the install, and your attempt to launch Orbiter. Maybe we'll see something.
The first time.
MSI
I did,twice
[email protected] 32G ADATASP580 I219-V GTX1650(from task explorer,does not include the two unrelated disks)
I did,at 680*smth
I did

I downloaded the MSI from the main site and ran it.I installed the typical version.I downloaded d3d9 and extracted it.I copied from its root directory to the orbiter root directory.I clicked on the ng exe.
 

imcute

New member
Joined
Feb 14, 2023
Messages
27
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Not on the Sun
One small point: The first post in this thread mentions that a crash occurs even in the server version (the blue icon) without a graphics client loaded. So it is unlikely that the problem is related to the graphics subsystem. In fact, using the server version without graphics client may be the best option to continue debugging, since it eliminates any potential graphics problems. If this doesn't work, nothing else will.
Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Io.dll ................ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Finished initialising world
Module Atlantis_SRB.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Atlantis_Tank.dll ..... [Build 160828, API 160828]
Module Atlantis.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
---------------------------------------------------------------
\>\>\> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: VESSEL::CreateVariableDragElement
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
\>
But when I typed help it crashed

(had to escape the < s using backslash)
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,448
Reaction score
462
Points
83
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
At this point I can't think of much more that hasn't been suggested already. If you are positive that your installation is not corrupt, the most likely issue may be a dependency problem. You could
  • re-install the VC runtimes. I don't have the Orbiter 2016 installation package to hand, but I think that the correct VC runtime redistributable installer was included (at least in the zip installation package).
  • create a minimal scenario, including a single simple vessel (e.g. ShuttlePB) that doesn't add any unnecessary dynamic dependencies
  • create a minimal solar system (e.g. including only Sun, Earth, Moon), also to reduce the number of dynamic dependencies
  • if you are keen, you could download a dependency analysis tool such as Dependencies (https://github.com/lucasg/Dependencies) to check for potential problems with direct dependencies (this doesn't check for dynamic dependencies, but we tried to minimise those in the previous steps)
  • You could try the latest Orbiter beta (https://github.com/orbitersim/orbiter/releases). This was built with a different compiler, so uses different VC runtimes, which may bypass whatever problems you are having. Also you could try both the x32 and x64 versions to see if it makes a difference.
 
Top