General Question Orbital decay

thor36

Reaction score
Greetings fellows ! :tiphat:
I am new to Orbiter world, have just started running a few scenarios, taking things easy and getting acquainted with the interface. I must say it doesn't feel easy to me a.t.m., but I'm not giving up =)

Alright, now to the real thing. I ran a demo scenario with ISS orbiting the Earth with a space shuttle docked, and ran the simulation for a while. I noticed that the Apogee and Perigee values were not decreasing, but after some time even increased by the last digits. I don't understand this, as I know that the drag causes orbital decay and is a serious issue that the ISS operators are addressing by giving pushes to the ISS.

Thank you for reading, and I hope I picked the right subforum :)

Poltergeist

Reaction score
Greetings fellows ! :tiphat:
I am new to Orbiter world, have just started running a few scenarios, taking things easy and getting acquainted with the interface. I must say it doesn't feel easy to me a.t.m., but I'm not giving up =)

Alright, now to the real thing. I ran a demo scenario with ISS orbiting the Earth with a space shuttle docked, and ran the simulation for a while. I noticed that the Apogee and Perigee values were not decreasing, but after some time even increased by the last digits. I don't understand this, as I know that the drag causes orbital decay and is a serious issue that the ISS operators are addressing by giving pushes to the ISS.

Thank you for reading, and I hope I picked the right subforum :)