Discussion Mission Control Mega-Thread

kamaz

Unicorn hunter
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
2,300
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I would also love to add some how the space network plugin to it so it will be a "total immersion" MCC ;)
Orb::Connect is very extensible and can communicate with other plugins if they cooperate -- see the code attached to this post to learn how it is done.

---------- Post added at 10:31 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:20 PM ----------

@kamaz:

I think, you simply have a different approach:

You are asking "how", i am asking "what"
I'm not asking you how to do this, I'm telling you what the existing technology can do so you can avoid reinventing the wheel.

To be fair, I was never really interested in MCC aplications so I cannot provide "what". But if you want to leverage my add-ons to build your MCC application, that's great, and I will gladly tell you "how".
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,629
Reaction score
7
Points
38
@fred18:

I will have a look at the space network plugin. Can you pls detail a bit what you mean with "total immersion" ?
with a total immersion addon I mean an addon that puts you in a simulated enviroment as much as complex as possible with lots of real aspect to be kept in consideration for performing a mission or a flight. In this example radio communications
 

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
365
Reaction score
6
Points
18
I do not want something special, just some kind of a vessel like Houston Mission Control room, where in "cockpit" view mode just to sit and look at MFD's, when accelerating time 1000x, so mission goes faster.
 
Last edited:

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,629
Reaction score
7
Points
38

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,629
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Switching to the interior view of this gives me a CTD. Orbiter log and DX9 Client log don't give me anything on it unfortunately.
It is for orbiter 2016 official release, i forgot to mention it. Is it the orbiter version you are using?
 

indy91

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
762
Reaction score
27
Points
28
It is for orbiter 2016 official release, i forgot to mention it. Is it the orbiter version you are using?
I'm using the latest Orbiter Beta. I'll check on a clean Orbiter 2016 install.

EDIT: Works fine on a clean Orbiter2016 install. So it might not be Orbiter Beta compatible or some other issue in my NASSP development install. In my MFD for NASSP (RTCC MFD) I so far have added two MFD pages that are modeled after two mission control displays, so all I really wanted to do is post a screenshot of your MCC addon with those two MFD pages running, haha.
 
Last edited:

Marg

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
365
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Thank you - that's exactly what I was looking for!

Great looking room.
Only as Indy91 wrote, if I press F8, then is CTD. But I use MFD overlays anyway, so that is a minor problem.

P.S. Just saw the reply, I am also on Orbiter BETA, so I see why.
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,629
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Hey guys, glad you like it, here is a module for the orbiterbeta version. It should work... careful: it's only the module, the dll inside the zip must be put inside orbiter/modules folder manually.

If the VC works then you should enjoy it much more:
- ctrl+t defines the vessel target to follow on the big screens
- you can move around the room with ctrl+arrows keys (go in front, and back behind the glasses in the press room :) )

Let me know if it works!
 

Attachments

indy91

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
762
Reaction score
27
Points
28
Yep, it works.

 
Top