Hardware Guys, Joystick ..??

Chris74

New member
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Guys, how to set up a normal joystick with 4-8-16 etc buttons?
for example for the various functions of ravenstar
airbrake, views, autopilots, trim,

:blink:

i dont get it... how come theres no joystick thread in this huge forum?
how do you guys play proper deadstick landing etc?
 

Sbb1413

Add-on developer and tester
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
944
Reaction score
361
Points
78
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
Re: Hardware Guys, Joystick ..??

You do not need a joystick to fly Orbiter. Just use the keyboard like I do until 14 January.
 
Last edited:

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
9,152
Reaction score
1,486
Points
203
Location
VA
Website
alteaaerospace.com
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
I use JoyToKey to map a given joystick button to a given keypress. :tiphat:

JoyToKey homepage said:
JoyToKey (or Joy2Key) enables PC game controllers to emulate the keyboard and mouse input, so that windows applications and web games can be controlled with your favorite joysticks! Whenever buttons and sticks are pressed on the controllers, JoyToKey converts them into keyboard strokes and/or mouse movements so that the target application will work as if a real keyboard and a mouse were used.

Also, in Orbiter's "Joystick" tab in the launch pad, you can configure your joystick throttle axis to map to Orbiter's throttle.
 

STS

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Messages
479
Reaction score
140
Points
58
Location
Vigo
Website
orbisondas.es
Check this "old" addon:


[ame="https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=3223"]Fly-By-Wire 0.9.1 beta[/ame]


I think that it might help you.
 

Fabri91

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
2,145
Reaction score
190
Points
78
Location
Valmorea
Website
www.fabri91.eu
I use JoyToKey to map a given joystick button to a given keypress. :tiphat:



Also, in Orbiter's "Joystick" tab in the launch pad, you can configure your joystick throttle axis to map to Orbiter's throttle.

The problem with that is that only one "joystick" device can be used at any time, so if one has e.g. rudder pedals for another sim then they can't be used.

It's a bit of a bummer since many sticks have the "stick" part and the "throttle" part connect separately via USB, and so they show up as separate devices and can't be used together in Orbiter out of the box.

Fly-by-Wire does make it possible, but as far as I know the developer isn't active anymore and if/when it'll stop working it's going to be problematic.

Being able to assign even just main throttle, pitch, yaw and rudder axes to separated devices would already be a huge improvement.
 

AeroSpatial

New member
Joined
Aug 2, 2018
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I wrote my own plugin for joystick control.

Features include:
- can toggle stick between RCS control and aerodynamic control
- can toggle throttle between main thrusters and hover thrusters
- buttons and hat control work as I want them to

Not sure how much interest there would be in the community for yet-another-joystick-plugin, so it wouldn't currently be suitable for distribution, but I'd very happily hand around the source.

It should very easily be modifiable to incorporate multiple controllers. In fact, my next project is to get using a mobile phone accelerometer (6 degrees of freedom!) for flying.
 

schr75

New member
Joined
Oct 1, 2013
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
1
The problem with that is that only one "joystick" device can be used at any time, so if one has e.g. rudder pedals for another sim then they can't be used.

It's a bit of a bummer since many sticks have the "stick" part and the "throttle" part connect separately via USB, and so they show up as separate devices and can't be used together in Orbiter out of the box.

Fly-by-Wire does make it possible, but as far as I know the developer isn't active anymore and if/when it'll stop working it's going to be problematic.

Being able to assign even just main throttle, pitch, yaw and rudder axes to separated devices would already be a huge improvement.

I use PPjoy
https://softradar.com/ppjoy/
It enables me to use my joystick, throttle and rudder pedals as one unit with no problems.

I have no experience using external keymappers as I´m the happy owner of a heavily modded HOTAS Cougar, so I can map all the keys I want directly in the Joystick:)

Hope this helps
 

MVA

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
26
Points
13
Anybody tried to implement separate engine throttle control?
I have. For this purpose I use Joystick Gremlin that use a virtual joystick. So I have lot of axies on few physical separated devices. Moreover, I have ability to control all axies at same time (3 rotation axies and 3 linear axies) without swithching beetwin the modes.
 
Top