Science Explosive water

wehaveaproblem

One step closer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Website
wehaveaproblem.wordpress.com
So it occured to me that rocket fuel is essentially water, albeit in it's seperate component parts and chillled right down. I think it's fascinating that 2 of the most explosive elements come together to be one of the most inert molecules. Water is a truely amazing molecule for that and other fascinating reasons.

But anyway, the vague point of this thread... I'm no scientist, so hopefully someone can set me straight. But, if you mix hydrogen and oxygen you get water. So a rocket engine essentially sets fire to the fuel before it has a chance to become water? before it becomes inert. If you fired a rocket engine without the ignition source, would you essentially end up with a huge puddle of water under it? I'm sure there is some complex chemistry I am not understanding, but the whole concept did make me chuckle.

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
Not all rocket engines are LOX/LOH. For example, Soyuz uses Kerosene in the mix and the shuttle has aluminium powder for the SRB's.

cinder1992

Random failhurricane.
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Website
cinder1992.blogspot.com
you NEED the heat to make water. let me see...

BTW, O2 is the stable form of oxygen found in the atmosphere. (the same applies for H2)
H2O= H2 + O2 - O1.

Heat + H2 + O2 = H2Ox2 or H2O2(hydrogen peroxide)?

I think my brain just let off flatulence.

Artlav

Aperiodic traveller
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Website
orbides.org
Preferred Pronouns
she/her
If you fired a rocket engine without the ignition source, would you essentially end up with a huge puddle of water under it? I'm sure there is some complex chemistry I am not understanding, but the whole concept did make me chuckle.