OHM Delta2 and SLC17

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,551
Reaction score
67
Points
138
Location
Wolfsburg
Also, it was just a bridge between Delta II and Delta IV. It was never meant to be longer in service than how long it takes to modify the factories for the Delta IV.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,740
Reaction score
58
Points
123
Location
Dallas, TX
Hmm. I made a Delta4 Hvy MS2015 I guess it would launch from here?
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
31
Points
123
Also, it was just a bridge between Delta II and Delta IV. It was never meant to be longer in service than how long it takes to modify the factories for the Delta IV.
Actually, Boeing constructed a brand new state of the art factory in Decatur, Alabama for the Delta IV. All the Delta II and subsequent Delta III's were manufactured in the original Pueblo, Colorado facilities.

Hmm. I made a Delta4 Hvy MS2015 I guess it would launch from here?
No, all Delta IV's launch from SLC-37B(CCAFS) and SLC-6(VAFB). Only one pad got modified to launch Delta III's and that was SLC-17B at CCAFS.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,217
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
Code 347
Hi,
you're right that SLC-17 sits a couple of meters off the ground, but it does have it's own "ground" mesh, so not so bad. Reason is the mesh flickers badly as you move away during ascent, if it's too close to 0m alt. I notice that seems absent from the D3D9 Graphics Client, which is nice.

If you want to lower SLC-17 just change it's ALT parameter in the scenario, won't put anything else out of whack.

Delta3 is coming along....
slc17_lev.jpg
 

Yoda

Donator
Donator
Joined
May 4, 2008
Messages
661
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Colorado
I'm actually using this launch vehicle to launch the orion into LEO but need to increase the thrust parameter to reach LEO.
Which value do I need to increase in the config file to increase thrust ?
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
31
Points
123
I'm actually using this launch vehicle to launch the orion into LEO but need to increase the thrust parameter to reach LEO.
Which value do I need to increase in the config file to increase thrust ?
Sorry but the Delta II is medium-lift ELV and the MPCV requires a HLLV. There's no way the Delta II or Delta III can lift the MPCV.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,217
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
Code 347
I'm actually using this launch vehicle to launch the orion into LEO but need to increase the thrust parameter to reach LEO.
Which value do I need to increase in the config file to increase thrust ?
As DaveS says, the Orion is way too heavy for the Delta2.

The Delta2 engine thrust is set in the .dll, I don't know if adding a
Code:
MaxMainThrust =
to the .cfg will do anything. If it works, it will throw the autopilot off a bit, but you could try and see what happens :)
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,217
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
Code 347
Delta2 update 171124 on OH:
Minor cosmetic changes, better particle streams for D3D9.

@DaveS
Here we go, a reasonably serviceable Delta3 for your perusal and approval.
.zip attached. You will need Delta2/SLC17 for the launchpad in the scenarios.
The flight profile is interestingly different to the Delta2.
Tried to get as close as possible to the Delta3 Payload Planners Guide profiles.
Change whatever you think needs changing, if you want to upload to OH go ahead.
:cheers:

View attachment delta3_171124.zip
 

barrygolden

Active member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
483
Reaction score
1
Points
33
Location
North of Houston
Hey Brian once again super job. Did they ever fly this or just the modified one ? The only thing I see is the wrong Gantry moving

---------- Post added at 08:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:53 AM ----------

you might think about adding a sat or two from shuttle payloads
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,217
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
Code 347
Thanks, Barry. Think I'll have to leave payloads to others (need to get back to working on the FalconHeavy). Wrong gantry moving? Which scenario? Looks OK to me in the launch scenarios I included.
Cheers,
Brian
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,217
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
Code 347
"Delta2 and SLC17" update v.181009 on OH:

Fixed the Elev_mod tiles - no more annoying blue lines at tile edges.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Sullivan's Island
Hi, Brian.

I was wondering when you'll have the time to update this mod to allow the Delta II to be launched from Vandenberg in addition to the Cape.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,217
Reaction score
7
Points
38
Location
Code 347
Hi,
I'd love to oblige but I have many other things on my Orbiter list. I don't know when it might get done. Why not try your hand at some 3D modelling? Grab Anim8or (freeware, fairly simple) and have a go at making the pad and gantry.
Cheers,
Brian
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
97
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Sullivan's Island
Unfortunately, Brian, I'm not experienced in 3D modeling or animating; therefore, I'm passing on that offer. But thanks for giving me your input anyway.

---------- Post added at 09:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:37 PM ----------

I just came up with a way to launch from the West Coast: simply reuse the Cape launch pads and put in the Vandenberg coordinates.
 
Top