A question about developing.

Cobalt

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Cobalt.

I'll start off by saying I'm a miserable pilot in Orbiter, and LEO is about all I'm good for. Math was never my strong point, though I have a mediocre understanding of the physics involved.

I'm intrigued by the idea of developing addons, but there's a slight setback. I haven't the faintest clue what I'd be doing, as far as code, flight models, modeling objects themselves, etc. Just a quick self-glance suggests my strength, once I learned/taught myself how/bumbled my way to success would be modeling objects. Textures, maybe. Anything else, I'd probably be bad at it.

I guess the question is, how many of the developers here do every single bit of the development from modeling to textural work to coding, or are there more collaborative efforts? And if you do collaborate, how'd you find the people you collaborate with?

tgep

Tutorial Publisher
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
There is plenty of info here to start you off in the right direction on your own but if you'd like to take part in a group developement project for beginner coders, I suggest you check out the RagTag Fleet Forum as we are currently doing just that.

Cobalt

Reaction score
What kind of coding? My knowledge of coding is a mighty primitive understanding of BASIC.

n0mad23

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
soundcloud.com
There's nothing wrong with learning as you go, either.

Get creative - come up with something you want to do, and begin. What addon would you really like to see for Orbiter? That's the one you should make.

Try to figure each step out as you go, and when you get stuck, come here and ask questions. Set your own personal bar as high as you can, and you'll probably find that the learning process and outcome is really rewarding. Patience is the key. If it's worth doing, it's worth taking the time to do it well. Addon development doesn't lend itself to instant gratification.