Question What is your take on 'Slow'?

Thunder Chicken

Fine Threads since 2008
Donator
Reaction score
I recently read what I thought was a pretty good book written by Carl Honore titled "In Praise of Slowness", which discusses the 'cult of speed' common in Western Civilization - fast food, fast work, fast everything, and how some people and organizations are countering this ethic.

I am an engineer and work in a pretty fast-paced environment, and often I work with people who try to do a large number of things simultaneously in a ridiculously truncated period of time, and it seems that they simply leave a trail of half-finished shoddy work in their wake, and ultimately twice the amount of time and effort is required to salvage this work than if the person simply focused and finished one task at a time. There is certainly a time and place where time is of the essence, and pressure from many quarters to be fast, but is it always necessary (or valuable?).

Here is the link to Carl Honore's page discussing the book:

http://www.carlhonore.com/?page_id=6

So that is the topic of this thread - what are your opinions on speed vs. slow (in work, play, food, life, etc..)? Are you an inveterate multi-tasking speedster in all things, or someone who likes to do things slowly and deliberately, or are you both depending on the situation? Either way, how does each system work for you? What is your take?

Andy44

owner: Oil Creek Astronautix
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Well, I watch TV, browse the web, and eat my dinner at the same time while texting, and I never get my addons done, so I think you're on to something. Maybe...I...sorry, busy on something, can't finish discussion right now...

unknown_orbiter

Orbital Mystery
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com