Base UK Cornwall Spaceport?

francisdrake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
francisdrakex.deviantart.com
Recently I had to abort a DreamChaser launch over the mid-Atlantic. Due to a pilots error ;) I dropped back into the atmosphere.
Instead of quitting the simulation, I looked for an airport in Europe to make an emergency landing.
Surprise: There is none!

With the simulation temporarily suspended, I looked up the internet and found the Spaceport Cornwall, which is the Newquay Cornwall Airport.
As a hack, I copied the Habana base to this position and could make an emergency landing there, see the screenshots below.

Now I wonder if one of you wizards would like to make a base for the Cornwall Spaceport?

I am not good at making bases. A simple one would do, with the correct runway heading and a few buildings around, to make it better visible from a distance. As a licensed spaceport (at least thats what they say on their website) I guess it has a right to be in Orbiter. :)

0039m.jpg
0041m.jpg
Coming in after a 180° turn to shed off overspeed. The runway orientation is all wrong.
Cornwall airport_m.jpg
A photo of the real Cornwall airport.

LordCroussette

Quebec City's Resident Base Builder
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
40 minutes later, I have some basic L15 tiles done.

image.png

image.png

francisdrake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
Wow, your progress is absolutely fascinating!

Runway 12 will ideal for a straight-in approach from the Atlantic.
I assume in reality the opposite runway 30 will be used more often due to prevailing north-westerly winds

LordCroussette

Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
Thank you. I've done L16 and L17. Right now, I'm taking a launch break and then I'll do L18 and L19 before putting some objects and finishing it (might modelise some basic buildings for it, if I feel like it)
image.png
image.png

image.png

Last edited: