Problem Transparent/glass surface masking objects behind

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Yes, I know well, I read it. ..il there has a certain time...but I counted today on the memory. ..of someone else... :p

Isn't the laziness no more a virtue ?

---------- Post added at 09:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:23 PM ----------

Yes, I know well, I read it. ..il there has a certain time...but I counted today on the memory. ..of someone else... :p

Isn't the laziness no more a virtue ?

Yes TCR 500 : the last number (alpha). I've play with it before my post but without success. I'll try again.

But thank you Hielor and TCR.

fort
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,147
Reaction score
565
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Well I think I fixed it. In the mesh the windows on the right side were flipped. So I when back to anim8or and flipped those pieces. That fixed it. Now I have to reassign values for the animation.

---------- Post added at 04:47 AM ---------- Previous post was Yesterday at 08:35 AM ----------

I think on my vessel. The issue maybe that it is looking through 2 pieces of glass. So you look through 1 is ok but then you are looking at the backside of the other. Because once you open a door it blocks the eva guy. with the door open you are looking through the back side.

The solution maybe to remove the glass altogether. The material is listed at the bottom. and meshs that have glass are on the bottom.
MATERIAL glass0
.913726 .941177 .956863 .243137
.913726 .941177 .941177 .243137
1 1 1 .243137 24
0 0 0 .243137

here she is with no glass except for the dome.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,147
Reaction score
565
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
I'll try that. But I think one issue is the double glass?
John

_______________________________________________________________

I did this:
MATERIAL glass
0 0 0 .247059
0 0 0 .247059
0 0 0 .247059 20
0 0 0 .247059

But I still get the masking. I think it is because of the double glass. If I look from the front glass thru the rear glass vessels are masked.
 
Last edited:

Hielor

Defender of Truth
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
5,632
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Try making the glass one-sided, so you're never looking through "double glass". That is, the glass only has a side that's facing "out", not "in".
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,147
Reaction score
565
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
The problem is if you are looking from the outside of the vessel and looking thru the vessel to the other side you would be looking thru 2 windows.

And when the door is open then the window is flipped
 

TonyZ2525

New member
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Points
0
In response to "fort's" post- the last number controls the transparency so changing:
MATERIAL -- default --
0.878 0.878 0.878 1.000
0.878 0.878 0.878 1.000
1.000 1.000 1.000 1.000
0 0 0 1

to:

MATERIAL material01
0.984 0.984 0.984 .50
0.984 0.984 0.984 .50
1.000 1.000 1.000 .50
0 0 0 1
would make the object using this material half transparent.Now to Gattisspilot-If you ever figure out this transparency issue with the windows I would be very interested in your solution.I am modeling the Dropship from the movie "ALIENS" and the APC and my intention is to have a jettisonable canopy and firing ejection seats in the cockpit.
The ejection seats and canopy frame/glass are each done as seperate models and attached as payloads so when the canopy is in place I can't see the seats from the outside.The only solution I was able to come up with was to remove the glass from the canopy frame.Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can give for this problem.

TonyZ
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,147
Reaction score
565
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
I can see in. I am even working on a mesh of crew that matchs the crew number. But I can't see thru the mesh.
 

Hielor

Defender of Truth
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
5,632
Reaction score
0
Points
0
The problem is if you are looking from the outside of the vessel and looking thru the vessel to the other side you would be looking thru 2 windows.

And when the door is open then the window is flipped
Please read again what I said.

Make the windows 1-sided, so that they are not visible at all from the inside.

In order to make a mesh visible from both sides in Orbiter, you need two polygons:

Code:
inside <-| |->  outside

The arrows are the approximate direction of the normals, the | are the polygons. If you instead do:

Code:
 |-> outside
you'll only ever be looking through one set of transparent objects. It might look a little weird when the door's open, but it might solve the problem you're having with other vessels disappearing.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,147
Reaction score
565
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Ok how do I make the windows 1 sided? Can I do that in the mesh or do I do it from anim8or. I know there is a front and a back to the emsh
 

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Thank you TonyZ2525,

I had done this several times in a distant one passed but this a little had gone out of my memory. I in had the latter days rediscovered the wire (...of my memory) but the problem in which I am embarked is a little more difficult since I stretched to find a solution to apply a transparency to a dds ( mydds.dds...DXT5 ) that I am constrained to declare in bases cfg , coupled to another dds night (mydds_n. dds...DXT5). And in this case, the transparency does not work, at least for the experiences that I did so far.

Under the transparency of the associated dds to the mesh appears ( by day or by night) a white zone (the one of the mesh I suppose).

I must add that I have no knowledge, or almost, in modelling and that I know only little to use anim8or, Blender, etc, for example, to do a mesh or all others forms.

I will continue to look for or i will try to find another solution.

But thank you again.

fort
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,147
Reaction score
565
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
OK I removed the glass from everywhere but the dome. But now the crew is masked. The crew are meshes added depending on the crew number.

this runs fine except for the masking.
iMeshMain = AddMesh ("CHARIOT2C");
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshMain, MESHVIS_ALWAYS);


iMeshEVA1A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA1A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA1A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA2A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA2A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA2A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA3A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA3A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA3A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA4A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA4A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA4A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA5A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA5A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA5A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA6A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA6A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA6A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshROBOT = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTROBOT"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshROBOT, MESHVIS_NEVER);


But if I put the main mesh on the botoom then I get a CTD
//iMeshMain = AddMesh ("CHARIOT2C");
//SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshMain, MESHVIS_ALWAYS);


iMeshEVA1A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA1A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA1A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA2A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA2A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA2A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA3A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA3A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA3A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA4A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA4A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA4A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA5A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA5A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA5A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA6A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA6A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA6A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshROBOT = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTROBOT"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshROBOT, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshMain = AddMesh ("CHARIOT2C");
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshMain, MESHVIS_ALWAYS);

EDITED UPDATE:
This worked, not sure why?
iMeshMain = AddMesh ("CHARIOT2C");
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshMain, MESHVIS_ALWAYS);


iMeshEVA1A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA1A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA1A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA2A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA2A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA2A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA3A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA3A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA3A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA4A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA4A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA4A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA5A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA5A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA5A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshEVA6A = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTEVA6A"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshEVA6A, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshROBOT = AddMesh (oapiLoadMeshGlobal ("CHARIOTROBOT"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshROBOT, MESHVIS_NEVER);

iMeshMain = AddMesh ("CHARIOT2C");
SetMeshVisibilityMode (iMeshMain, MESHVIS_ALWAYS);

It looks like the mesh iMainMesh is added twice
 
Last edited:
Top