Project Space Transportation System 2016

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
I built her in VB. not sure why the barrell is not being reflective though

I have this in the gc folder.

CONFIG_VERSION 2
MESH sts_payloadsnew\dsp44
; ---------------------------------------------
MATERIAL 5
REFLECT 0.866667 0.866667 0.866667
ROUGHNESS 1.000000


the barrel is material 5
 

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
32
Points
28
actually in some hi-res pics barrell has some "texture" on it (in wikipedia article)... seems that there are horizontal and vertical stripes.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
yes. I wasn't sure if that was reflections?
So it looks like the end of the barrel may be open? And the lower part covered in panels? or reflection?


maybe a black band at the end? here it looks the end is closed?
 

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
32
Points
28
yes, black band and end seems covered.
 

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Wanted to make a notice about Spacelab logos which are on the front of module. They could be mapped with a different textures. Because starting with SpaceLab-D1 (STS-61A) they had the same ESA on starboard side, but another logo - particular mission's spacelab logo on port side.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Yes. I think exterior patches would need to be changed. Ideally the interior also.

Here is the DSP for STS 44. I will need to add attachments, rcs,......
 

Attachments

  • dsp44.zip
    753.5 KB · Views: 7

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
32
Points
28
I have, but I do not know which version. Never tried it actually, just installed.
Tried to load default Vesselbuilder scenario (DG) - it works. And I also deleted all other vessels (there were others - Luna, ISS etc.) in supplied DSP-44 scenario, except for DSP, still CTD.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Weird. if you run in non d3d9 do you get anything in the log.
here is a new cfg and scn. Just shows the mesh.
 

Attachments

  • newdsp1.zip
    934 bytes · Views: 8

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
32
Points
28
Looks good, only barrell could be textured. Somehow textured surfaces look better in Orbiter, even if there is nothing much.
In photos there is some "grid" pattern noticable from close distance on barrell. Texture can also be tweaked later.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Yes there seems to be grid lines. and a hatch on the bottom part.
also the bottom of the barrel is not as round



I wonder why the VB did not work? I will make a dll but the VB version helps figure rcs,.....
 

Star Voyager

Failed Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
1,963
Reaction score
18
Points
38
Just tried the mesh, looks like the solar panels are rotated about 45 degrees relative to the rest of the instruments. The solar panels should form a V shape in the payload bay. Other than that, looks great!
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks.
on interior spacelab
real:


That sad face is the cut outs back side and the tunnel bottom part
But I had run into an issue.

I switched the camera view and now get this. It is the tunnel coming thru? Right now the mesh is set at always. The interior and exterior are one. I wonder if I need to have separate. set exterior or exterior and interior as cockpit, vc,...? I don't think you can see any part of the exterior from interior.

I redid the barrel and solar panels:



Panels are along the x,y axis. along with the rcs.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
On the spacelab. I redid the front added those vents? and black hoses.


But move the camera and we get this:


For some reason the front of the shuttle bay is coming thru the opening.


In this I have the interior mesh as cockpit. and the external as external. If I make the interior mesh as external and cockpit. and go to the cockpit it all goes away.



I guess an easy solution would to just put a plug and texture the cutout and curve of the bottom tunnel?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,153
Reaction score
575
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So on the dsp. I did to redo the solar panels. They cut into the side rails.


Spacelab is basically done.


I can add 2 mfd screen as a VC. I hope to be able to add a crew or 2 and then move them around.

On the exterior for the next ones really just need to change the textures. Trying to find what they look like.
 
Top