Project Space Transportation System 2016

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
7,640
Reaction score
800
Points
188
Location
Toulouse
In theory you should be able to animate it with rotation and scaling animations... In theory... ;)
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks. The dish is 4.9 meters and 18 sided. I can make them more curved.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
New dish and tdrs Not sure on how pointy the center end piece is. The drawing it is pointy but some images it is wider?
puFQIfB.jpg

cTmbA17.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
rEDID THE FRONT ANENNA PART
Cmzr4NP.jpg


trying to gert the dish animation. I think the default IUS has the USA only one one side. when it should be on both sides
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Having parent/animatoion issues:
dVfJ6PG.jpg

[ICODE
//DISH
//elbow bends 90
static UINT EGrp14[5] = { GRP_DISH1ARM2,GRP_DISH1BASE4,GRP_DISH1BASE1,GRP_DISH1BASE2,GRP_DISH1BASE };//elbow
static MGROUP_ROTATE DISH1ARM2B(0, EGrp14, 5, _V(0, 1.461, -.007), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD));

static UINT EGrp15dish[2] = { 0,2 };//folded dish
static MGROUP_ROTATE DISH1ARM2C(2, EGrp15dish, 2, _V(0, 1.461, -.007), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD));

//rotates 180
static UINT EGrp12[1] = { GRP_DISH1ARM };//parent rotate 180
static MGROUP_ROTATE DISH1ARM2(0, EGrp12, 1, _V(0, 1.442391, -1.113871), _V(0, 0, 1), (float)(180 * RAD));

//static UINT EGrp13[2] = { 0,2 };//foldeddish
static MGROUP_ROTATE DISH1ARM2A(2, EGrp15dish, 2, _V(0, 1.442391, -1.113871), _V(0, 0, 1), (float)(180 * RAD));

//rotate 90
static UINT EGrp11[1] = { GRP_DISH1ARM1 };//
static MGROUP_ROTATE DISH1ARM1(0, EGrp11, 1, _V(0, 1.442391, - 1.045219), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD));





PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .5, .6, &DISH1ARM2, PARENTDISH1A);//rotate 180
//PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .9, 1, &DISH1ARM1);
PARENTDISH1A = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .375, .5, &DISH1ARM2B, PARENTDISH1);// rotate elbow 90
//PARENTDISH1A = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .375, .5, &DISH1ARM2C, PARENTDISH1);

//PARENTDISH1B = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .5, .6, &DISH1ARM2,PARENTDISH1A);//rotate 180
//PARENTDISH1B = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .5, .6, &DISH1ARM2A, PARENTDISH1A);

PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_PANEL, .6, 1, &DISH1ARM1, PARENTDISH1);

}
][/ICODE]
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Redid the code but still having issues.
with this code
static UINT DISH1BASESHOLUDER[1] = { GRP_DISH1ARM };//parent rotate 180 static UINT DISH1BASEELBOW[5] = { GRP_DISH1ARM2,GRP_DISH1BASE4,GRP_DISH1BASE1,GRP_DISH1BASE2,GRP_DISH1BASE };//elbow static UINT DISH1BASEFOREARM[1] = { GRP_DISH1ARM1 };// dish1_anim[0] = new MGROUP_ROTATE (0, DISH1BASESHOLUDER, 1, _V(0, 1.442391, -1.113871), _V(0, 0, 1), (float)(180 * RAD));//parent ROTATE WHOLE ASSEBLY 180 dish1_anim[1] = new MGROUP_ROTATE(0, DISH1BASEFOREARM, 1, _V(0, 1.442391, -1.064), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD)); dish1_anim[2] = new MGROUP_ROTATE(0, DISH1BASEELBOW, 5, _V(0, 1.442391, .16), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD)); PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, 0, .375, dish1_anim[0]);//rotate 180 PARENTDISH1A=AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, .375, .6, dish1_anim[2], PARENTDISH1);// rotate elbow 90
I get this. which is correct. but I need to to rotate the whole assembly 90
TkS3Y9X.jpg


But the last part needs to rotate the forearm up 90 degrees with the elbow and cone

so if I add this line
PARENTDISH1B = AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, .6, 1, dish1_anim[1], PARENTDISH1A);// rotate forearm and assembly 90
I get this:
Q6SXsBu.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Also The "V" part that attached the solar panels seems to be black?
E3qnr4r.jpg


I can make them rotate towards the sun. Not sure if we want this. I think most will just launch the IUS and then release the sat,....
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Still can not figure out the arm.

This is the original sc3 code
[ANIM_COMP_12] SEQ=0 GROUPS=37,51,88,91,92,102,123,125,126 RANGE=(0.375,0.500) ROT_PNT=(0.00,1.44,-1.14) ROT_AXIS=(0,0,1) ANGLE=180 [ANIM_COMP_13] SEQ=0 GROUPS=37,51,88,91,92,102,123,125,126 RANGE=(0.500,0.625) ROT_PNT=(0.03,1.44,-1.14) ROT_AXIS=(1,0,0) ANGLE=-90 [ANIM_COMP_14] SEQ=0 GROUPS=37,51,88,92,102,123,125,126 RANGE=(0.625,0.750) ROT_PNT=(0.03,2.46,-1.14) ROT_AXIS=(1,0,0) ANGLE=90

step 1 and 2 reuse the same mesh groups. and the last one reuses all but one. no parents.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I got the arm to work.
tatic UINT DISH1BASESHOLUDER[1] = { GRP_DISH1ARM };//parent rotate 180 dish1_anim[0] = new MGROUP_ROTATE(0, DISH1BASESHOLUDER, 1, _V(0.0, 1.443, -1.117), _V(0, 0, 1), (float)(180 * RAD));//parent ROTATE WHOLE ASSEBLY 180 PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, 0, .5, dish1_anim[0]); static UINT DISH1FOREARM[1] = { GRP_DISH1ARM1 };//parent rotate 180 dish1_anim[1] = new MGROUP_ROTATE(0, DISH1FOREARM, 1, _V(0 , 1.454331, - 1.069098), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(90 * RAD));// PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, .6, 1, dish1_anim[1], PARENTDISH1); static UINT DISH1BASEELBOW[5] = { GRP_DISH1ARM2,GRP_DISH1BASE4,GRP_DISH1BASE1,GRP_DISH1BASE2,GRP_DISH1BASE };// dish1_anim[2] = new MGROUP_ROTATE(0, DISH1BASEELBOW, 5, _V(0 , 1.454331, .1725942), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD)); PARENTDISH1 = AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, .5, .6, dish1_anim[2], PARENTDISH1);
But now the cone parts which are a different mesh do not follow the animation

static UINT EGrp15dish[2] = { 0,2 };//folded dish dish1_anim[3] = new MGROUP_ROTATE(2, EGrp15dish, 2, _V(0, 1.454331, .1725942), _V(1, 0, 0), (float)(-90 * RAD)); AddAnimationComponent(anim_DISH, .5, .6, dish1_anim[3], PARENTDISH1);
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Here the dish mesh follows the animation. this is rotate 180 timing 0 to .5
EjshptN.jpg

but then when the 90 degrees start it is bad
lGyqmer.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I finally got the TDRS new to work. But have run into an issue on the IUS. The TDRS is not showing on it. The 2nd stage is. When I switch to the 2nd stage the TDRS shows up?

This is the payload for 1st stage ius:
[PAYLOAD_0]
MESHNAME=STS_PAYLOADS\IUS_2NDSTAGE_TDRS;STS_PAYLOADS\TDRS
OFF=(0.00,0.00,2.32);(0.00,0.00,6.31)
MODULE=Spacecraft\Spacecraft3
NAME=IUS_2ND_TDRS
MASS=6187
SPEED=(0,0,0.12)
ROT_SPEED=(0,0,0)
and payload for 2nd stage:
[PAYLOAD_0]
MESHNAME="STS_PAYLOADSNEW\TDRSNEW"
OFF=(-0.00,0.00,4.02)
MODULE=TDRSNEW
MASS=2268
SPEED=(0,0,0.1213)
ROT_SPEED=(0,0,0)
 

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
412
Reaction score
37
Points
28
STS_PAYLOADS\IUS_2NDSTAGE_TDRS
I finally got the TDRS new to work. But have run into an issue on the IUS. The TDRS is not showing on it. The 2nd stage is. When I switch to the 2nd stage the TDRS shows up?

This is the payload for 1st stage ius:
[PAYLOAD_0]
MESHNAME=STS_PAYLOADS\IUS_2NDSTAGE_TDRS;STS_PAYLOADS\TDRS
OFF=(0.00,0.00,2.32);(0.00,0.00,6.31)
MODULE=Spacecraft\Spacecraft3
NAME=IUS_2ND_TDRS
MASS=6187
SPEED=(0,0,0.12)
ROT_SPEED=(0,0,0)
and payload for 2nd stage:
[PAYLOAD_0]
MESHNAME="STS_PAYLOADSNEW\TDRSNEW"
OFF=(-0.00,0.00,4.02)
MODULE=TDRSNEW
MASS=2268
SPEED=(0,0,0.1213)
ROT_SPEED=(0,0,0)
TDRS should be STS_PAYLOADSNEW\TDRSNEW for 1st stage...
P.S. How did you switch to second stage? Jetisson key still makes CTD for me.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I emailed you what I have. Thanks to Gargantua2024 the IUS is fixed. I used the modified IUS mesh. the only issue might be the scaling animation on reverse. But that is ify.
So now we get this:
pkRMGIu.jpg

ZbI70vE.jpg

2nd stage:
4v78LBG.jpg

ribs on the dish mesh
ul4gGUt.jpg

zr2Ysp0.jpg

1mREPsa.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
What is the best way to make orbit scenarios? The launch is easy as the time and date are given. For orbit though sometimes not so much. It might said day 1 or orbit. And shuttle orientation and location in orbit.

I guess one could launch the shuttle and save the scenario at the given time. Hope the shuttle is in the correct place.

I know the sts_sunneyvale has been updated for 2016. With recompiled dll,.....
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
516
Reaction score
486
Points
78
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
What is the best way to make orbit scenarios?
Not sure if there's a right answer to this, but I think personally the most preferred way in making orbit scenarios is that letting the shuttles launch first from the pad, and once it reaches/circularized its orbit, open up the payload bay and simply save the scenario

In theory, the resulting orbit of the shuttle would be close to historical parameters (provided that the MS2015 guidance file per individual mission has the correct inclination coded into it)


Alternatively, the TLE orbit data from every shuttle mission has been provided by Celestrak here
 
Last edited:

Star Voyager

Space Shuttle Refugee
Joined
Oct 25, 2008
Messages
1,965
Reaction score
24
Points
38
My methods might be archaic but I type the spacecraft name into Wolfram Alpha with the date and time specified and plug in that data in the orbital perimeters while running the scenario paused.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
755
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So I downloaded the scn editor and activated it. But not sure how to use it. I download sts 6 into a txt file also

so this is sts 6 tdrs timeline.
yt609FO.jpg


So i guess launch the shuttle and when 8 hrs and 25 minutes into flight is when the scn should start?

I know that ms2015 has a MET. But the shuttle does not. It might be helpful? not sure how it would be coded though
 
Last edited:
Top