Project Space Shuttle Vessel

Snax

Space Cowboy
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
184
Reaction score
59
Points
43
Location
Brussels
Indeed, for now I take notes ofthe joints angles to do that.

Also, I did a quick reentry just a few moments ago, I noticed an issue that was also happening with this version of SSU.
When we're on final after the HAC, the Shuttle lose all its speed, even with the spoiler retracted, it barely maintains 230kts at pitch -20°.
unknown.png


And when I flare for the landing, there's no lift, like I'm ballistic, I just lose all speed and hit the ground at 180kts
unknown.png

unknown.png


I also have a strong crosswind but I guess it's just the default wind settings by orbiter (15kts of wind, but other than that, I didn't notice anything else that is compromising a flight.
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,204
Reaction score
2,004
Points
188
Website
github.com
When we're on final after the HAC, the Shuttle lose all its speed, even with the spoiler retracted, it barely maintains 230kts at pitch -20°.
Yeah, I know... :(
Basically the Orbiter had an aerodynamic characteristic called "aileron-rudder force fight", in which the elevons (working as ailerons) generate a roll, but also a yaw which gets countered by the rudder, which also generates a roll in the opposite direction, which then requires more aileron -> more yaw -> more rudder -> more roll (....) and eventually the FCS integrators (shown in the VERT SIT displays) for the rudder and ailerons reach their maximum values, and you end up with the vehicle flying sideways... which generates lots of drag, thus the low energy situation.
Apparently this condition was highly unlikely to happen on the real vehicle... yet here it happens many times in the HAC.🤦‍♂️ I don't know why this happens... maybe I messed up the roll rate being feed to the FCS, maybe I have a wrong signal, maybe the aero is wrong, maybe I'm not asking correctly to Orbiter the aero I want... maybe some or all of the above. It's something I have to look into.
For now, my solution when the rudder integrator starts going bananas is to "kick" the rudder to null the sideslip (if AUTO go to CSS), and the rudder integrator should start moving from the maximum back to low numbers. Also, disable the wind, as I seems to make things worse (plus it could be too much wind for the vehicle).
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,749
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Looks good. Almost makes me stop on the STS 2016. But do you plans to redo the cockpit for 3 mfd earlier version?
 

Snax

Space Cowboy
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
184
Reaction score
59
Points
43
Location
Brussels
Alright I gave it a try with the AtmosphericWind set to FALSE and this time all went well when I leave the TAEM on AUTO.
And I do appreciate the autoland too haha
1660691112257.png
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
598
Points
203
Looks good. Almost makes me stop on the STS 2016. But do you plans to redo the cockpit for 3 mfd earlier version?
Not MFDs, as they're entirely computer driven and electronic. Just standard run of the mill Cathode Ray Tube (CRT) green phosphor computer monitors, very similar to what you would use with a IBM 5150 PC in 1981.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
598
Points
203
Is the naming convention of the latches in the Mission Editor mirrored? When I edit the starboard side latches, the ones on the port side change and vice versa. No problems with the keel latches though.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
598
Points
203
Alright I gave it a try with the AtmosphericWind set to FALSE and this time all went well when I leave the TAEM on AUTO.
Yes, Dr Schweiger has in the past said that the atmospheric wind implementation is flawed and should have been removed prior to the 2016 release. So I personally don't use it at all.
 

Snax

Space Cowboy
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
184
Reaction score
59
Points
43
Location
Brussels
Yes, Dr Schweiger has in the past said that the atmospheric wind implementation is flawed and should have been removed prior to the 2016 release. So I personally don't use it at all.
Ah gotcha, good to know then !
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,749
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Not MFDs, as they're entirely computer driven and electronic. Just standard run of the mill Cathode Ray Tube (CRT) green phosphor computer monitors, very similar to what you would use with a IBM 5150 PC in 1981.
So will there a 3CRT version
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,204
Reaction score
2,004
Points
188
Website
github.com
But do you plans to redo the cockpit for 3 mfd earlier version?
First I need to improve the basic shape of the flight deck (in the MEDS configuration), and before that I'll probably finish the middeck. Plus, getting all the mechanical instruments moving needs further work in the GPCs so the correct signals come out... that can't be "cheated" as the current MDU implementation.
So... it's not going to happen in the near future... but I hope to get there.

Alright I gave it a try with the AtmosphericWind set to FALSE and this time all went well when I leave the TAEM on AUTO.
Even like that it will happen...


Is the naming convention of the latches in the Mission Editor mirrored? When I edit the starboard side latches, the ones on the port side change and vice versa. No problems with the keel latches though.
I'll have to check tomorrow.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,749
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I might play around with adding payloads. But not sure really how to add them. I saw the mission editor and really liked it.
I suspect you pick the active or passive latch and location, right. But would you load cargo pallet like for STS 2.
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,204
Reaction score
2,004
Points
188
Website
github.com
I might play around with adding payloads. But not sure really how to add them. I saw the mission editor and really liked it.
I suspect you pick the active or passive latch and location, right. But would you load cargo pallet like for STS 2.
Please read the manual. The Mission Editor section is a bit thin, but there is an entire chapter on Payloads.
The Spacelab pallet should be easy to add, as long as the trunnions are in the right place and an attachment exists on one of them.
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,204
Reaction score
2,004
Points
188
Website
github.com
Is the naming convention of the latches in the Mission Editor mirrored? When I edit the starboard side latches, the ones on the port side change and vice versa. No problems with the keel latches though.
Indeed the latches are swapped port-starboard. 🤦‍♂️ Not a big problem for most situations except for the latch system connections. A big problem for asymmetrical configurations, especially with guides installed.
I've fixed it and so the next version should have all things in the right place.
 

Snax

Space Cowboy
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
184
Reaction score
59
Points
43
Location
Brussels
I noticed there's no texture for the heat tiles during reentry, is it missing or not yet remade for SSV ? I guess if I copy RETAtlantis.dds from SSU won't work right ?
1660819950406.png
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,204
Reaction score
2,004
Points
188
Website
github.com
I noticed there's no texture for the heat tiles during reentry, is it missing or not yet remade for SSV ? I guess if I copy RETAtlantis.dds from SSU won't work right ?
View attachment 30002
That would require an "entry texture" for each existing texture, and the result would be "show one or the other"... not good. The mesh solution allows to control the visibility, but isn't good as it becomes complicated to animate the elevons in there, and there is also z-fighting.
There was some talk about heatmaps for D3D9, and AFAIK that is a good solution to the reentry heatshield glow (and engine nozzle glow as well)... not sure where that stands ATM, and I've also been busy with the basics, so for now there is only the entry particle stream.
 

Marg

Active member
Joined
Mar 20, 2008
Messages
466
Reaction score
66
Points
28
I am quite impressed with mission editor, some features may be not there yet, but looks great! The only thing - I open mission file, it says "mission files must be located in Missions\SSV folder". But they are there already. Maybe it does not like path (D: disc?)
!!! Nevermind !!! I hade "missions" folder not "Missions", mission editor is case sensitive.
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,204
Reaction score
2,004
Points
188
Website
github.com
I am quite impressed with mission editor, some features may be not there yet, but looks great! The only thing - I open mission file, it says "mission files must be located in Missions\SSV folder". But they are there already. Maybe it does not like path (D: disc?)
!!! Nevermind !!! I hade "missions" folder not "Missions", mission editor is case sensitive.
If you want, you can put your missions in a folder inside that, like "Missions\SSV\my_missions".
 
Top