Problem Solaris Module Renaming

Tycho

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
261
Reaction score
11
Points
18
Location
Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy
I've got an unusual but persistent problem with Mustard's Solaris Module. It will load under normal circumstances, when the module is named "solaris" in the .scn file:

Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Solar module "Solaris" in orbit.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 51986.6816777801
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship solaris
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET solaris
  MODE Extern
  POS 1.47 -152.56 -2.68
  TRACKMODE TargetRelative
  FOV 40.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE User
  MODE EMap MFD
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE Orbit
  PROJ Ship
  FRAME Ecliptic
  ALT
  REF Earth
END_MFD


BEGIN_SHIPS
solaris:Solaris
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 2706432.86 5495255.89 -2346285.09
  RVEL 7043.694 -3323.841 334.861
  AROT 20.66 -9.37 -9.84
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 8
  CONFIGURATION 1
  CURRENT_PAYLOAD 0
  SEQ 0 2 0.999244
  SEQ 1 2 0.532702
  SEQ 2 2 0.532809
END
END_SHIPS

But if I attempt to rename the module to "solaris3" (such that I can have multiple of them in a scenario), Orbiter will crash (and it doesn't seem to matter what I rename it to):

Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Solar module "Solaris" in orbit.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 51986.6816777801
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship solaris3
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET solaris3
  MODE Extern
  POS 1.47 -152.56 -2.68
  TRACKMODE TargetRelative
  FOV 40.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE User
  MODE EMap MFD
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE Orbit
  PROJ Ship
  FRAME Ecliptic
  ALT
  REF Earth
END_MFD


BEGIN_SHIPS
solaris3:Solaris
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 2706432.86 5495255.89 -2346285.09
  RVEL 7043.694 -3323.841 334.861
  AROT 20.66 -9.37 -9.84
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 8
  CONFIGURATION 1
  CURRENT_PAYLOAD 0
  SEQ 0 2 0.999244
  SEQ 1 2 0.532702
  SEQ 2 2 0.532809
END
END_SHIPS

The scenario file is identical, except for the name of the spacecraft (it's still calling up the same .cfg file). For the record, I've not duplicated this with any other spacecraft, only the Solaris module. Here's the log after CTD upon loading the "solaris3" scenario:

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Aug 30 2010 [v.100830]
Timer precision: 3.20802e-007 sec
Found 0 joystick(s)
Devices enumerated: 6
Devices accepted: 5
==> RGB Emulation
==> Direct3D HAL
==> Direct3D T&L HAL
==> Direct3D HAL (NVIDIA GeForce 310)
==> Direct3D T&L HAL (NVIDIA GeForce 310)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module ProjectApolloConfigurator.dll  [Build 120715, API 100830]
Module ProjectOutpostsConfig.dll  [Build 120604, API 100830]
Module LunarTransferMFD.dll .. [Build 100621, API 100603]
Module OrbiterSound.dll ...... [Build 121120, API 100830]
Module ExtMFD.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: oapiRegisterMFDMode
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Module uap.dll ............... [Build 110613, API 100830]
Module LuaMFD.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module GPCMFD.dll ............ [Build 110114, API 100830]

**** Creating simulation session
DirectDraw interface OK
Direct3D interface OK
Graphics: Viewport: Fullscreen 1280 x 1024 x 16
Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 16 bit
Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
Loading 15382 records from star database
Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: AST_TEXT.dds
>>> [TextureManager::AcquireTexture | .\Texture.cpp | 750]
---------------------------------------------------------------
Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll ................ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
Finished initialising world
Module Spacecraft2.dll ....... [Build ******, API 050206]
**** WARNING: Mesh file name not provided
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: VESSEL::SetBankMomentScale
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
Finished initialising panels
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: asphalt.dds
>>> [TextureManager::AcquireTexture | .\Texture.cpp | 750]
---------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: asphalt.dds
>>> [TextureManager::AcquireTexture | .\Texture.cpp | 750]
---------------------------------------------------------------
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\.msh
Finished setting up render state

Any ideas? Am I doing something wrong or missing something obvious? Thanks.
 
Last edited:

orb

New member
News Reporter
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,020
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Just by looking at the content of the add-on, it's using Spacecraft2 and not a dedicated module.

You need to make a hard/symbolic link to Solaris.ini file or copy it to solaris3.ini in the Config/Spacecraft subdirectory of Orbiter for it to make it work correctly with "solaris3" name.
 

Tycho

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
261
Reaction score
11
Points
18
Location
Orion Arm, Milky Way Galaxy
Hmm, figures it was a fairly obvious fix. I'm just not used to hard-coding scenarios w/ spacecraft2. I copied solaris.ini over into another one named solaris3.ini and everything is back to normal.

Thanks, orb. :thumbup:
 
Top