Idea Shuttle Fleet recompile for Orbiter 2016

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So noticed an issue.

With the OBSS it hits the KU antenna

KtwFqB9.jpg

AJpusdE.jpg


The OBSS is positioned just like the rms except on the other side.

Could it be the KU Antenna was present when the OBSS was used?
sts125 payload no KU Antenna.
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f2/STS-125_payload-bay_2009-3013.jpg
https://editorial01.shutterstock.co...-telescope-shutterstock-editorial-929887b.jpg

So here is a a better view.
mXTOs0G.jpg

Not if Just by moving the KU antenna forward will give enough clearance. might need to shorten that box on the KU antenna?
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So I have run into an issue. On EVA the guy is attached. He moves the shuttle (parent) attachment. All good. But when he get attach to something else. to move he needs to be attached. The problem is when I re attach to the shuttle the movement is not saved.
So he goes back to the airlock.

In game it works. But not sure how to tell the shuttle to save the new attachment values?
 

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,603
Reaction score
167
Points
153
Location
Cleveland
John, I'd like to thank you for all the work you've been putting in to the Shuttle project.

I'm really happy and thankful that I got to beta test some of the really early work. It was a lot of fun.

This thread alone shows how "good enough", isn't good enough.
Given that you're doing all this work for free, on your own time, and putting so much detail into the project, speaks volumes to your dedication to the simulator, and the community.

Again, thanks dude! and :hailprobe:
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Well i can an orange MFR.
But looking at the 2 images. I need to redo the eva guys. One guy is striped red. Stripes are long.
And the other guy has no stripes or markings.
Right now I have 4 eva guys. red strip and red solid, blue stripe and blue solid. Do I need a 5th one no colors?
 

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
398
Reaction score
36
Points
43
I have no memory, but blue stripes are very rare;
It seems to me that three EVA together (STS49) is the maximum achieved with the shuttles; I don't know about ISS but I don't believe more than two EVAs together.


STS49 = EVA1: Red, EVA2: None, EVA3: Stripes with red stripes.
The stripes are velcros they are put and removed at will, on the backpack too.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
K. So I may make a no stripe guy. So also look at sts 49 they have a tether or something on the doors. I saw that for sts 6. So I can add that. I am not sure if it rotated with the doors or was a solid part?

So I guess there might be changes from mission to mission. Like there is NO NASA logo on the back pack?
 
Last edited:

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
398
Reaction score
36
Points
43
These are the lifelines for astronauts.
I think they are installed according to the needs of the mission.
For STS49 they are on each side, but sometimes only one.
I am not sure that they are mobile with the opening of the doors because often the simplest is the least heavy.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
0CQnGwB.jpg
So sure that can be made but it might be another vessel and press a key to swing out. So that new code doesn't have to written? Or I can make it like the ods,... add a line for the scn.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So on the slidewires. A rigid one can just added to scn like a payload.

82Z3I4J.jpg


But the moveable one can be done 2 ways. added the animation to the shuttle code and add a line to show the mesh. But I thought someone said that depending on the mission the left one might be there or both or none at all.

The other way to do it is as a vessel and then attach BUT the animation would have to be started by key so it wouldn't follow the doors automatically.

0g1rwb7.jpg

lNHVrQA.jpg
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,906
Reaction score
201
Points
138
Location
Cape
I think you should have two wires. No one is going to notice (or care) if they are mission specific. JMHO
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
You say that but wait:)

So then you I hard code it and just have the mesh seen/ unseen?
like add a line SLIDEWIRE to the scn and it will be seen. the moveable one

---------- Post added 03-26-20 at 12:12 PM ---------- Previous post was 03-25-20 at 12:31 PM ----------

So I am being asked this about the cargo bay lights,....


https://www.zupimages.net/up/20/13/29ez.jpg


29ez.jpg

I know there are 2 parts to the lights
1 a beacon to show the light source and then the light itself.


Code:
static VECTOR3 beacon_pos[8] = { { 1.6380, -1.3773, 7.2568 }, { -1.6380, -1.3773, 7.2568 }, { 1.6380, -1.3773, 2.5713 }, { -1.5549, -1.3773, 2.5713 }, { 1.6380, -1.3773, -2.0453 }, { -1.6380, -1.3773, -2.0453 }, { 0, 2.5, 11.9 }, { 0, 2.5, 11.9 } };


    for (int i = 0; i < 8; i++) {
        spot_beacon[i].shape = BEACONSHAPE_DIFFUSE;
        spot_beacon[i].pos = &beacon_pos[i];
        spot_beacon[i].col = &beacon_col;
        spot_beacon[i].size = 0.25;
        spot_beacon[i].falloff = 0.4;
        spot_beacon[i].period = 0;
        spot_beacon[i].duration = 0;
        spot_beacon[i].tofs = 0;
        spot_beacon[i].active = false;
        AddBeacon(spot_beacon + i);
    }
Code:
COLOUR4 col_d = { 1, 1, 0.9, 0 };
    COLOUR4 col_s = { 1, 1, 0.9, 0 };
    COLOUR4 col_a = { 0, 0, 0, 0 };

    static VECTOR3 color = _V(1.0, 0.839, 0.666);
    const COLOUR4 diff = { 1.0f, 0.839f, 0.666f, 0.0f };
    const COLOUR4 amb = { 0.0, 0.0, 0 };
    const COLOUR4 spec = { 0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 0 };


    spotlight1 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(1.6380, -1.3773, 7.2568), _V(0.5, 0.7071, -0.5), 3, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (120 * RAD), (10 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);
    spotlight2 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(-1.6380, -1.3773, 7.2568), _V(-0.5, 0.7071, -0.5), 3, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (120 * RAD), (10 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);
    spotlight3 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(1.6380, -1.3773, 2.5713), _V(0.7071, 0.7071, 0), 3, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (120 * RAD), (10 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);
    spotlight4 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(-1.6380, -1.3773, 2.5713), _V(0.7071, 0.7071, 0), 3, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (120 * RAD), (10 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);
    spotlight5 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(1.6380, -1.3773, -2.0453), _V(0.5, 0.7071, 0.5), 3, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (120 * RAD), (10 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);
    spotlight6 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(-1.6380, -1.3773, -2.0453), _V(-0.5, 0.7071, 0.5), 3, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (120 * RAD), (10 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);
    spotlightDOCK = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(0, 2, 11.9), _V(0, 1, 0), 5, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (90 * RAD), (180 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);//dock
    spotlight7 = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight(_V(0, 2, 11.9), _V(0, 0, -1), 5, 0.5, 0.0, 0.05, (90 * RAD), (180 * RAD), col_d, col_s, col_a);//bulkhead
    spotlightRMS = (SpotLight*)AddSpotLight((arm_tip[4]), _V(0, 0, -1), 20, 0.25, 0.8, 0.001, 80.0*RAD, 80.0*1.1*RAD,
        diff, spec, amb);
 
Last edited:

Jeremyxxx

Active member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
296
Reaction score
88
Points
43
Location
Dawson Springs
Okay, It has been almost two years since I have been suggesting the textures of fictional space shuttles, and the one shuttle texture that's forgotten is the Space Shuttle Venture from the DC Vertigo comic "ORBITER" by Warren Ellis.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So I will add the Venture. I might make 1 or 2 blank mesh slots for extra vessels. So all one have to do re repaint an existing shuttle.

Working on the eva and MMU. I know there will be more addons to adapt. Hope to spark a renewal.
 

Jeremyxxx

Active member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
296
Reaction score
88
Points
43
Location
Dawson Springs
I have thought of the craziest ideas for the next three Space Shuttles in this addon, having them named after The Founding Fathers, The shuttles will be named "Franklin, Jefferson and Washington".
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So Pappy2 and I have been working on MMU.
PW8t0kY.jpg

We have FSS also.

A code issue though.
so the RCS thrusters are created.

Code:
th_rcs[0] = CreateThruster(_V(6, 0, 10), _V(0, -1, 0), JET_THRUST, main_tank, JET_ISP);
So I want the thrust amount to be 1/2 when in rotation mode. So in the poststep.
Code:
if (GetAttitudeMode() == RCS_ROT) JET_THRUST = .4;
	if (GetAttitudeMode() == RCS_LIN) JET_THRUST = .8;

But it remains the same. Not sure if I need to clear the values and reload?
 
Top