Question Ranger (and other ships) from Interstellar?

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
Confusing, isn't it.

As I see it and I might be wrong.

The desk rotates along the x axis to follow the rotation of the ship.

So if if the ship is level the desk is upright , the ship upside down the desk is upside down.

BUT shouldn't the camera view follow the orientation of the desk.

So right now even though the desk is upside down the camera view is right side up.
 

grid4dante

New member
Joined
Mar 22, 2011
Messages
34
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Midwest City
I don't claim to know much about this, but would it possible to reverse the whole system, make the rotating seat the vessel and rotate the hull around the vessel, as opposed to having the hull as the vessel and the seat be the rotating element? if it doesn't interfere with the operational areas of the hull, like landing gear, engine location, and / or docking points?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
On the lander and pods.


the main landing pod holds 2 smaller pods.




Those pods are large and the 2 smaller pods are large also. Not sure how they carried the cargo, though
 
Last edited:

demi

New member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
beautifull !!! can't wait really ! are each of the landers and rangers undockable ?
 

Lisias

Space Traveller Wanna-be
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
343
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.youtube.com
A candy for who is able to detect what image is from the movie, and what image is from Orbiter!! =P
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
beautifull !!! can't wait really ! are each of the landers and rangers undockable ?

Thanks.

Yes. Each ranger and lander will be undockable. The cargo pods are separate vessels so they can be unloaded from the Endurance and carried down to the surface.

And ummu capable
 

demi

New member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
magic ! and is it heavy to play ? got the ship from stargate universe and it is a bit too much from my computer, i wonder if the endurance will be running well
 

demi

New member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
yes

---------- Post added at 10:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:27 PM ----------

the rest of the simulator is running well, but for that particular ship the fps is pretty low. And as the endurance seems pretty complex and highly detailed i wonder if its gonna be the same.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
Well on my laptop I get 22 FPS. But of course different machines get different FPS
 

Lisias

Space Traveller Wanna-be
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
343
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.youtube.com
About performance, this is what I get:

A Full (Over) Loaded Endurance: 7 Rangers and 3 Landers orbiting Earth:
* Machine A: 12 fps
* Machine B: 21 to 22 fps


The same overloaded Endurance, 16 Cargo Pods floating around and the kitchen's sink:
* Machine A: 11 fps
* Machine B: 20 to 21 fps


The machine specs are:

Machine A: Mac Mini Mid 2011, i5 mobile processor at 2.3GHz and Intel HD 3000 using shared memory. 16Gb RAM. Orbiter is running using WINE.

Machine B: Old crap using AMD AthlonXP 3200+, AGP 8X ATI HD 3850 with 512MB VRAM. 3GB RAM.

In both machines, was used a windowed Orbiter with 1200x750x32 resolution.

This is a full screen screenshot from the Scenario:


The old crap is... old. :) If I can run on this, I don't think we will have a performance issue on modern hardware.

The new crap =P is slower than the old due mainly the shared memory setup (that steals processor cycles from CPU and GPU) and also because WINE does a D3D to OpenGL translation in runtime, with negative impact on performance.
 
Last edited:

Lisias

Space Traveller Wanna-be
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
343
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.youtube.com
Just to mention that, on my Old Crap, I doubled up the FPS in all Scenarios by fixing a (dumb) mistake I made while drawing custom textures. :)
 
Last edited:

demi

New member
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Guys when do you expect to release it online ? the endurance looks really great, just can't wait !
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
demi, check your message. We could use extra eyes and another tester
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
Ok. This might be an issue?

FPS. Here is the Endurance with 3 interiors (command, cryo, habitat). 16 pods attached. But with a 2 rangers and 2 landers. We are getting low fps.

The endurance right now has 179 groups, 63371 vertices, 56285 triangles
I haven't combined all interiors yet so that drop the group #.

the 16 cargo pods are 1 group 262 vertices, 124 triangles.
 

Lisias

Space Traveller Wanna-be
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
343
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Website
www.youtube.com
Ok. This might be an issue?

But with a 2 rangers and 2 landers. We are getting low fps.

The endurance right now has 179 groups, 63371 vertices, 56285 triangles
I haven't combined all interiors yet so that drop the group #.

the 16 cargo pods are 1 group 262 vertices, 124 triangles.
i'm doing some homework on meshing, and got to this: it's better for D3D that you define your groups "ordered" by texture, and then by material.

This would minimize the texture and rendering context changes while drawing the world.

Reducing redundant vertices and surfaces will help also.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
5,689
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Location
Dallas, TX
Well I have encountered an interesting issue.

Working on a VC for the endurance. Lisias came some code to rotate the camera.

So here in the Command Module the view is correct to a seated person. But they would be upside down looking from outside.



But even though the view looks correct for the person seated. The controls are backwards.

So when you click on the button of the left bottom you get the function on the right top.



On the VC I took the deltaglider mfd screen and mfd buttons mesh. I angled it to fit the dash and made it slightly higher. So it it is an overlay. But it looks different depending on the view. I can click the mfd ok from the center but if I get right on top I can click.
 
Top