Vessel Mars 2020 Rover and Mars Helicopter Scout

Joseph Borg

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
B'Kara
I can’t seem to get the rover moving - Idk why .
Was there another release of the rover ? I recall there was another one ?
Maybe I need some add ons / modules that I don’t have ��
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So in the rover and press F1 you should see this view.

See on the left when you press up arrow on the keypad it should change to forward gear.
Then +/- increase speed

So got a new mesh of it but meshwizard doesn't load. So I may need to rebuilt it from scratch
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
Yes Unless someone else does.

I need to get the shuttle released first
 

Joseph Borg

Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
B'Kara
So in the rover and press F1 you should see this view.

See on the left when you press up arrow on the keypad it should change to forward gear.
Then +/- increase speed

So got a new mesh of it but meshwizard doesn't load. So I may need to rebuilt it from scratch

hmmm I see I see.. how very strange, when I PRESS the up button (up arrow).. no matter how long, and how much I cannot shift the gear to Fwd thrust. Its as if, the command is not obeyed. Did anyone experience this before me ? Or do I have a corrupted system ? thanks for ur patience.

I am using a windows on crossover on a Mac. But I haven't encountered any problem what so ever in any scenarios so far ,except this one.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So does it show Neutral gear? 8 on keypad should be forward and 2 reverse
 

CTarana45

Active member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
172
Reaction score
32
Points
28
I can confirm that even when pressing 8 or 2. It doesn't shift or change the gear

:(

Maybe I redownload. I don't think that is the issue.

I used Ctrl. + for the throttle and that worked! :thumbup:


Thanks, John!

Christopher Tarana


I'm driving it fine! I have a picture on my desktop! I'm using Windows 7.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So I have a new mesh and cut the parts.

now when I try it I get a runtime error?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So I was able to get the new mesh working.

but some issues: Stuck in the surface:(







So for touchdown point code I have this:
Code:
TOUCHDOWNVTX td[4];

	double x_target = -0.5;
	double stiffness = (-1)*(MASS*9.80655) / (3 * x_target);
	double damping = 0.9*(2 * sqrt(MASS*stiffness));
	for (int i = 0; i<4; i++)
	{

		td[i].damping = damping;
		td[i].mu = 3;
		td[i].mu_lng = 3;
		td[i].stiffness = stiffness;
	}
	td[0].pos.x = cos(30 * RAD)*ro;
	td[0].pos.y = -Height_From_Ground;
	td[0].pos.z = -sin(30 * RAD)*ro;
	td[1].pos.x = 0;
	td[1].pos.y = -Height_From_Ground;
	td[1].pos.z = 1 * ro;
	td[2].pos.x = -cos(30 * RAD)*ro;
	td[2].pos.y = -Height_From_Ground;
	td[2].pos.z = -sin(30 * RAD)*ro;
	td[3].pos.x = 0;
	td[3].pos.y = 15 * ro;
	td[3].pos.z = 0;


	SetTouchdownPoints(td, 4);

Code:
Height_From_Ground = 0;
 

Jeremyxxx

Active member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
237
Reaction score
39
Points
28
Location
Dawson Springs
The Emirates Mars Mission had just recently launched and it's on it's way to the Martian System, while Tianwen-1 is launching on Thursday and Perseverance is going to launch on July 30th.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
1,574
Reaction score
95
Points
48
Yes, launch opportunities / windows are still a thing :thumbup:
Nice to have several different missions to try mars (which is hard).
 

MaxBuzz

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
309
Reaction score
417
Points
78
Location
Kursk
unfortunately there will be no Mars rover ExoMars. where you can watch the launch of the Mars 2020 live (Live Stream)?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So I think MS2015 maybe the way to go. Not sure the guidance will work for 2nds rockets? Working on meshes,...

So first stage would then have a centaur with all the rover, cruise,...
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,098
Reaction score
304
Points
108
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Ms2015 guidance can control all MS stages, including the Centaur. It's all down to the guidance file.
You can also have the cruise stage as part of the MS2015 vessel if that helps.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
6,135
Reaction score
539
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
So with Brian's help we have launch:



The trick is going to be getting the skycrane/rover to the surface
 
Top