Flight Question How to reenter to KSC?

startrekmaniac

Reaction score
I'm still learning orbiter, I can get into orbit no problem its just getting back to the cape that's hard. Are there any tutorials and mfds that can help me get back to the runway?

Tommy

Reaction score
BaseSyncMFD and AerobrakeMFD will enable very accurate re-entries. There are a few threads around the forum about using these tools.

I've started on a series of annotated flight recording / tutorials I will be calling "The Basics". Number 4 will be re-entering the stock DG (I may use the Delta Tweak mod since the stock DG's lift profile is not conducive to a realistic re-entry) to Cape Canaveral using BaseSyncMFD and AerobrakeMFD. Keep an eye out in the OrbitHanger New Releases thread.

It may be a couple weeks before the re-entry tutorial is completed.

Tommy

Reaction score
At this time the only one done is "Home Direct". It shows you how to use IMFD to plan a trip from Brighton Beach on the Moon to Cape Canaveral, using a direct return (without establishing LEO, then de-orbiting). It does cover using AerobrakeMFD for the second part of the re-entry (the first part, the aerocapture, is flown inverted).

That tutorial requires the XR-2 Ravenstar, IMFD, and AerobrakeMFD. The "Basics" series will use as few add-ons as possible. I just did some flight tests, and found that it's almost impossible to maintain the correct AOA in the stock DG, so the Delta Tweak mod will be required.

[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=2648"]DeltaTweak 0.2[/ame]

Winzip complains about an invalid archive, WinRaR works fine.

V8Li

Reaction score
Reentry MFD @ http://www.orbitermars.co.uk/ could help too. What's the most important at it is that it gives you the deceleration required to reach the base at a safe speed. Match it with your actual deceleration and you should be OK. Anyway, practice is important too (as you'll find out).

HiPotOk1978

ReFuel L.L.C CEO
Addon Developer
Reaction score