Discussion Developing Addons for different Orbiter Versions

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,923
Reaction score
48
Points
73
And I really hope there is going to be a stable Orbiter 2016 patch release (e.g. Orbiter 2016P1) soon
+1
Especially if it has the brakes and animations tickets I posted fixed. That would open some doors...
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,553
Reaction score
68
Points
138
Location
Wolfsburg
Converting bitmaps or creating new meshes etc. If someone wants to spend a year of their time on this project, you are welcome to join the NASSP team, haha.
As far as I can tell, there is no easy answer to this question (Depends on the requirements). But both are worth it. :lol:

But since the panel layout in NASSP constantly makes me go lost - please go VC. :rofl:

SSU was the first time, I had a 3D version of the shuttle cockpit after knowing the old DOS shuttle simulator and the panel drawings. It was enlightening how much sense the panels suddenly make in usability, when you have them grouped together spatially. What was a wild switching between panels before, was suddenly a workflow.
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
2,955
Reaction score
74
Points
48
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
I'd say 3D mesh with animations. Very rough implementation.
Panel background » 3D plane
Sprites » small 3D planes floating over the background plane.
Animate as normal, pushing elements up or down of the background as needed.


And now related to what we were discussing a few posts back:

How about allowing the use of NASSP meshes/textures with let's say Vessel Builder?
Talking about redistribution here (but no overwrites) and perhaps small tweaks or repaint.

I'd love to have a simple Apollo white CMS for Skylab, for example.
What are your thoughts on this ? What steps would prevent confusion between add-ons ?
I'm also asking because NASSP is exactly the opposite of more "arcade" add-ons.

---------- Post added at 15:34 ---------- Previous post was at 15:22 ----------

+1
Especially if it has the brakes and animations tickets I posted fixed. That would open some doors...

I only hope that we can finally define the dampening parameters on the vessel config files.
2016 only accepts 2010 style landing points that don't work very well ;) From the Docs:
Code:
TouchdownPoints V V V 

3 surface contact points in local vessel coordinates.
 
Last edited:

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,758
Reaction score
5
Points
113
Location
Cape
Also, MFD's need to be updated. LOLA comes to mind.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,856
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Toulouse
Still a bit on topic : which version of Visual Studio do you addon devs currently use ?

After a decade of inactivity (say a trip to Pluto :lol:) I'm willing to get back into this. A first step would be to upgrade the DG-launchers to 2016 (along with a "realistic" mod of the stock DG). :cheers:

First step is to manage to recompile the stock DG !
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,553
Reaction score
68
Points
138
Location
Wolfsburg
Still a bit on topic : which version of Visual Studio do you addon devs currently use ?

No problem with Visual Studio 2017 Community. I even manage to compile add-ons using CMake there.



I am sure, Visual Studio Code could also work well, if needed.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,856
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Toulouse
Thanks ! I love Windows, it has to install 4Gb of components :rofl:

No problem, I have optical fiber connection :hailprobe:
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,553
Reaction score
68
Points
138
Location
Wolfsburg
No problem, I have optical fiber connection :hailprobe:

I had to reject the offer... 2 years of contract is too long for me now, I can't take it with me. But minimum 37 MBit/s by copper is also OK.



Yes, Visual Studio is a tiny bit invasive there... like MS Office, BTW.
 
Top