OHM Deep Space Communications Satellite (DSCS) v0.3

Scav

Mostly Harmless
Joined
May 8, 2010
Messages
991
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Absolutely! Matter of fact, I can post the code right here when I'm done. :thumbup:

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Here it is! Quick and dirty, but it spawns the mesh in a workable place in the cargo bay. Only, I'm working on debugging some more; it gives a mesh without the functionality I'm looking for. Amongst the complaints at the moment, are that the vessel has no propulsion or animation once released from the bay. My uneducated thought is, this might have to be DLL'ed for it to work splendidly.

Oh well. At least this gives you a placement for the sat, right? :tiphat:

Code:
; DSCS vessel class, configuration file for implementing in XR5's cargo bay.
Meshname = dscs
Mass = 2277
Size = 1.0

;----------------------------------------------------
; XR Payload custom parameters
;----------------------------------------------------

; must be set to 'true' for this vessel to be dockable in an XR-class payload bay.
XRPayloadEnabled = true

; cosmetic description; 127 chars MAX., but 40 chars or less recommended
Description = Deep Space Comms Satellite (2,277kg)

; Dimensions in meters: X (width) Y (height) Z(length).  This also determines how many standard payload slots are occupied.  
Dimensions = 1.02 1.02 2.11	


; (OPTIONAL) Offset in meters from the center of the primary payload slot to the center of this payload's mass (X,Y,Z).
; If this is not set, the default is [0 0 0].  These coordinates are necessary so that the collision detection code can know the
; origin point (the "centerpoint") of the payload mass in order to determine how many slots this payload module will occupy.  
; If you adjust your attachment point coordinates to center this module in its primary payload slot, these coordinates 
; should be [0 0 0] (the default).  If your payload  is attached off-center in the slot along any axis, as will be the case 
; if your payload occupies more than one slot, you will need to adjust these coordinates accordingly.  
; For example, if your payload's center-of-mass is 0.3 meter below the centerpoint of its primary slot, this 
; value should be 0 -0.3 0.  As another example, if your payload is two slots long, one slot wide, and one slot high, 
; this value should  be set to 0 0 -3.048: the reason is that the center-of-mass of a 40-foot-long container is 3.048 meters 
; (1/2 slot) AFT of the ceterpoint of the primary slot (the forward of the two slots it occupies).
PrimarySlotCenterOfMassOffset = 0 0 0

; (OPTIONAL): List of Orbiter vessel classnames for which an 'ExplicitAttachmentSlots' property is defined.
VesselsWithExplicitAttachmentSlotsDefined = XR5Vanguard

; (OPTIONAL): These are optional parameters that only need to be defined for a given ship class if you have a 
; large or specially-shaped payload.  If no explicit attachment slots are defined, the ship will compute 
; which slots are valid for this payload based on its dimensions and the location of its attachment point.  
; If explicit attachment points *are* defined here they will override any calculations made by 
; the ship as to whether this object will fit in the bay when attached to a given slot.  However, 
; they do *not* override checks as to whether this object will fit alongside *other payload* in the 
; cargo bay.  Most payload objects will not need to define this value.
;
; Format is: <parent vessel classname>_ExplicitAttachmentSlots = # # # ...
XR5Vanguard_ExplicitAttachmentSlots = 1 3 5; Floor level only.  This module takes up two slots.
;----------------------------------------------------

; === Attachment specs ===
; NOTE: a payload object's attachment point should be set for the CENTER of the bay slot into which it is 
; attached.  Each standard slot is exactly 2.4384 wide (X), 2.5908 high (Y), 6.096 long (Z).  Some XR-class
; ships, such as the XR5 Vanguard, have some slots that are wider as well.
; WARNING: attachment *direction* must be (0 1 0) and attachment *rotation* must be (0 0 1)!  The bay 
; collision detection code expects this.
; Also note that the XR attachment point *must* be labeled XRCARGO.
BEGIN_ATTACHMENT
P 0 0 .5  0 1 0  0 0 1  XRCARGO
P 0 -0.725 -3.0   0 -1 0  0 0 1  XS
P 0 -0.725 -6.0   0 -1 0  0 0 1  XS
END_ATTACHMENT
 
Last edited:

astrosammy

Dash!
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
2,124
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
ICAO ID: EDFB
Heres my scenario, together with ini and guidance files for Ariane 5.

To get the XR-5 payload posted above to work, you need to add Module=spacecraft/spacecraft3. Meshname, mass and size can be removed. However as an spacecraft3 vessel, it still needs to have to have the correct name, so it can't be created with the build-in payload editor.

EDIT: XR-5? Isn't that a bit to large? I think XR-2 would be better for this.
 

Attachments

  • Ariane_5_G+_DSCS_Mars.zip
    3.2 KB · Views: 27

n122vu

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
46
Points
73
Location
KHNB
Also, how do you add spacecraft3 vessels to a scenario?

1. Put a copy of spacecraft3.dll in your Modules folder.
2. In Scenario Editor, select spacecraft3
3. Name your vessel the exact name of the .ini of the vessel you want to use. Note that as with all spacecraft3 vessels, you can only have one in the scenario, unless you copy the .ini and rename it.
 

Scruce

Ad astra per aspera
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Orbiter is dying, huh?

Nice job on this! :thumbup:
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,885
Reaction score
2,639
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
That kind of multi-purpose satellites are lacking in Orbiter. Nice one. :thumbup:

Though the power of .dll would enable to do things like attitude-keeping autopilot, Sun-facing solar arrays, a simulation of the batteries level, a communication network between similar sats... ;)
 

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,537
Reaction score
95
Points
138
Location
Cleveland
Orbiter is dying, huh?

Nice job on this! :thumbup:

Yup, deader'n a hammer...

fregat_and_DSCS.jpg


Here's the DSCS on a test run to LEO. The fregat is about 400 seconds away from a burn to circularize at an altitude of 300Km (give or take). The Energia-M core stage slowly tumbles to it's doom in the background.

Although the rocket should be able to haul this to the moon, Mars or Venus. I'm not well versed enough with IMFD to do it.

Edit-
Easily reached lunar orbit using LTMFD.
 
Last edited:

n122vu

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
46
Points
73
Location
KHNB
Just thought of a dual use for these. Not only for Deep Space Communications, but could be placed in orbit around planets to serve as surrogate vessels for TransX slings. More feasible/semi-realistic than using a Deltaglider to do the job.

---------- Post added at 09:07 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 PM ----------

1. Put a copy of spacecraft3.dll in your Modules folder.
2. In Scenario Editor, select spacecraft3
3. Name your vessel the exact name of the .ini of the vessel you want to use. Note that as with all spacecraft3 vessels, you can only have one in the scenario, unless you copy the .ini and rename it.

Apologies. Step 1 should read as below:

1. Make a copy of Config/spacecraft/Spacecraft3.cfg and place it in your Config/Vessels folder. This will make Spacecraft3 available as a selection when adding ships via Scenario editor.
 

River Crab

SpaceX Cheer Captain
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
945
Reaction score
3
Points
16
Location
Washington, D.C. area
That kind of multi-purpose satellites are lacking in Orbiter. Nice one. :thumbup:

Though the power of .dll would enable to do things like attitude-keeping autopilot, Sun-facing solar arrays, a simulation of the batteries level, a communication network between similar sats... ;)

You make it sound easy! :lol: I wanted to use Artlav's SC3-DLL converter but it wouldn't preserve the exhaust textures. Maybe some time...

Heres my scenario, together with ini and guidance files for Ariane 5.

To get the XR-5 payload posted above to work, you need to add Module=spacecraft/spacecraft3. Meshname, mass and size can be removed. However as an spacecraft3 vessel, it still needs to have to have the correct name, so it can't be created with the build-in payload editor.

EDIT: XR-5? Isn't that a bit to large? I think XR-2 would be better for this.
THANK YOU :D That scenario works great, I'll include it in the next update if you don't mind.

Also, it's too big for the XR2, the bay is very small.

Here it is! Quick and dirty, but it spawns the mesh in a workable place in the cargo bay. Only, I'm working on debugging some more; it gives a mesh without the functionality I'm looking for. Amongst the complaints at the moment, are that the vessel has no propulsion or animation once released from the bay. My uneducated thought is, this might have to be DLL'ed for it to work splendidly.

Oh well. At least this gives you a placement for the sat, right? :tiphat:

I'll include this when/if it gets a module. :thumbup:

Yup, deader'n a hammer...

fregat_and_DSCS.jpg


Here's the DSCS on a test run to LEO. The fregat is about 400 seconds away from a burn to circularize at an altitude of 300Km (give or take). The Energia-M core stage slowly tumbles to it's doom in the background.

Although the rocket should be able to haul this to the moon, Mars or Venus. I'm not well versed enough with IMFD to do it.

Edit-
Easily reached lunar orbit using LTMFD.

Thanks, I look forward to launching it on your Energia-M! ;)

Just thought of a dual use for these. Not only for Deep Space Communications, but could be placed in orbit around planets to serve as surrogate vessels for TransX slings. More feasible/semi-realistic than using a Deltaglider to do the job.

Sure, you could use it as a probe, too. I actually wanted to make a probe using the same satellite bus, but I fail at modeling instruments...
 

n122vu

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
46
Points
73
Location
KHNB
Would require a proper DLL to use multiple in one scenario though, unless one wanted to create multiple cfg files - DSCS2.cfg, DSCS3.cfg for example. That can get messy though.


Tomorrow I may check out astrosammy's Ariane5 guidance and .ini files to see if they match what I came up with.

This is a great, yet simple addon, the kind of which we need more of. Well done. :cheers:
 

River Crab

SpaceX Cheer Captain
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
945
Reaction score
3
Points
16
Location
Washington, D.C. area
I even made a cute mascot character styled after Michibiki-san:

cute_dscs.png


---------- Post added at 11:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:45 PM ----------



Yeah, but how do you do that if the photos show something like tilted solar panels (or tilted anything)? How do you get it to look straight?
I transform it...in Photoshop, it's called "free transform", I don't know what other software calls it. There's also Liquify, for when you need to do some serious bending. Sometimes the lighting needs to be fixed, too. But it's usually not that hard to do, and really worth it IMO.

Also, that picture is adorable! ♥
 

Izack

Non sequitur
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
6,665
Reaction score
13
Points
113
Location
The Wilderness, N.B.
I transform it...in Photoshop, it's called "free transform", I don't know what other software calls it. There's also Liquify, for when you need to do some serious bending. Sometimes the lighting needs to be fixed, too. But it's usually not that hard to do, and really worth it IMO.
It's called absolutely nothing in Gimp or Paint.NET (vanilla,) they have no such function :lol:
 

orb

O-F Administrator,
News Reporter
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,020
Reaction score
4
Points
0
It's called absolutely nothing in Gimp or Paint.NET (vanilla,) they have no such function :lol:

There is free transform tool in stock GIMP. I don't know what exactly "Liquify" in Photoshop is for, so I don't know what equivalents you can find for it. If there isn't one in stock GIMP, there are external plug-ins you can download from there: http://registry.gimp.org/
 

n122vu

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
46
Points
73
Location
KHNB
Heres my scenario, together with ini and guidance files for Ariane 5.

I just tried your guidance file. Looks good, but the following lines:

Code:
561=engine(0,0,1)
565=aoa(0)
7020=aoa(8)
7195=jettison()

...result in the entire stack (2nd stage/core included) reentering the atmosphere.
 

River Crab

SpaceX Cheer Captain
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
945
Reaction score
3
Points
16
Location
Washington, D.C. area
I just tried your guidance file. Looks good, but the following lines:

Code:
561=engine(0,0,1)
565=aoa(0)
7020=aoa(8)
7195=jettison()
...result in the entire stack (2nd stage/core included) reentering the atmosphere.

It worked fine for me. :shrug: Although when I tried to make a scenario and guidance myself by copying Rosetta's files, it reentered...
 

n122vu

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
3,189
Reaction score
46
Points
73
Location
KHNB
Hmmm... :hmm:

---------- Post added at 12:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:33 PM ----------

I just changed the launch azimuth, nothing else. Works fine for me.

Did you both launch from Kourou?
 
Top